NOTICE: The deadline for submitting Administrative Dissolutions is December 15, 2018 to ensure they are finalized by the end of the calendar year.
Family court handles cases where parties seek court intervention to solve their family issues. Judges hear and decide cases involving adoption, divorce, paternity, domestic abuse, child custody, support, and visitation.
Affidavit of Default of Maintenance Judgment
Amended Judgment and Decree
Child Support Docket Form
Custody Evaluators and Parenting Time Expeditors
Dakota County Early Neutral Evaluation (ENE)
Dakota County Family Court Self Help Center
Dakota County Parent Education Classes
Divorce, Custody, and Family Law Information and Forms
Docketing of Child Support Judgment Instruction Guide
Family Court Forms
Family Court Instructions and Motion
How to Obtain a Copy of a Divorce Decree
Notice of Entry and Docketing of Maintenance Judgment Instruction Guide
Protection from Abuse - Order for Protection
Filing a Motion in District Court
Court personnel cannot provide you with legal advice. The following are general
instructions to follow if you are preparing a motion to be scheduled for a hearing. It should be noted that laws are different for various proceedings.
1. Prior to submitting motion paperwork, a motion date must be obtained from court administration. To obtain a motion date, please contact the court location in which your case was initiated.
Apple Valley - (952) 891-7243
Hastings - (651) 438-8199
West St. Paul - (651) 554-6200 (then press 3)
2. Then you must complete a motion form. You must sign the motion; the Affidavit(s) must be notarized.
Copies of these materials and detailed instructions can be found in law libraries, some public libraries, and on Get Forms
page. On the motion form, print or type the case file number, the case type, the name of the plaintiff(s), and the name of the defendant(s). If you have other legal papers from the same case, you can copy the information from them. It must be copied exactly.
3. After completing the motion and your attachments, you must have a copy of the motion and attachments served on the opposing party(ies). A requirement of having your motion heard by a judge is making sure that the other side has notice of the hearing date, time, and place. Making sure that every party involved has copies of the motion papers with this information and the attachments is called service of process and is governed by Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 4 and 5, the Minnesota General Rules of Practice Rule 115, and Minnesota State Statutes (laws).
4. You must file the original motion and supporting documents (attachments) and affidavit of service at the court location in which your case was initiated. You must pay a motion fee when filing these documents with the court. Please note that you must also pay the filing fee if it has not been previously paid
. Please visit our Filing Fees tab for more information.
5. Come to your scheduled hearing prepared and bring your witnesses and original documents.
How to obtain a copy of a divorce decree
You may obtain a copy of a divorce decree by mailing your request along with the name of the case, the file number, and the fee to the court location and county where the divorce was filed. A certified copy is $14.00. A plain copy is $8.00.
If you do not know the file number or the location where the divorce was filed, you may contact the county the divorce was filed in by phone and obtain this information.
You may also go to the court location where the divorce was filed and obtain a copy of the decree in person.
For filings in Dakota County:
Copies can be obtained from the court location where the divorce was originally filed: Apple Valley, W. St. Paul, or Hastings.