
STATE OF NIIINNESOTA
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OFFICE OF
APPELLATE COUH15
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FILED

ORDER ESTABLISHING DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING COMMENTS ON
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF JUVENILE DELINQUENCY
PROCEDURE

The Supreme Court Advisory Committee on the Rules of Juvenile Delinquency

Procedure has proposed amendments to the Rules of Juvenile Delinquency Procedure.

This Court will consider the proposed amendments without a hearing after soliciting and

reviewing comments on the proposed amendments. A copy of the committee's report

and the proposed amendments are attached to this order.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that any individual wishing to provide comments in

support of or opposition to any of the proposed amendments shall submit five copies in

writing addressed to AnnMarie O'Neill, Clerk of Appellate Courts, 305 Judicial Center,

25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155. Comments shall

be received no later than December 23,2013.
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I. INTRODUCTION

As directed by the Supreme Court, the Committee met to discuss two issues: l) a
recently enacted statute relating to juvenile delinquency case records. Minn. Stat.

$ 2608.171, subd.9; and 2) the need to update the juvenile Statement of fughts forms in
the Appendix to the Rules of Juvenile Delinquency Procedure. As a result of the
discussion, the Committee recommends amendments to the rules and to two forms.

II. PROPOSED AMBNDMENTS

A. Minn. Stat. $ 260B..171, subd.9:

The Committee discussed the recently enacted statute, which prohibits electronic
access to certain public juvenile delinquency court records. The members reviewed the
creation and evolution of the Minnesota Judicial Branch's statewide case management
system, and discussed the existing limitations on what court records are and are not
electronically available. Currently, pursuant to the Rules of Public Access to Records of
the Judicial Branch, public court records are accessible electronically over the internet.
Records are also available at courthouse electronic records terminals in all 87 counties.
Pursuant to the Rules of Public Access, there is a search limitation on remote access that
prevents access to pre-adjudication records based on a name search. Additionally.
technology is in place on the Judicial Branch court records website, a distorted word
known as a o'Turing test," which prevents automated data harvesting of court records.

The Committee discussed the practical impact of implementing Minn. Stat.

$2608.171, subd.9. The statute as written would require court staff to classifii public
cases as confidential in order to prevent electronic access, because the case management
system has no ability to distinguish public accessibility from electronic accessibility on a
case-by-case basis. Basically, a case is either public or it is nonpublic; there is no
separate status of public but not electronically available. Additionally, the statute as
written could result in court staff classifying and re-classiffing a case at different points
throughout the life of the case. For example, a public juvenile delinquency case would be
opened as nonpublic to prevent electronic access, then later court staff would be required
to make the case public upon receipt of an EJJ motion, and may later be required to make
the case nonpublic again if the judge denies the EJJ motion and/or the parties agree the
case should be inaccessible. The statute's presumption that cases can move fluidly from
accessible to inaccessible is not reflective of the system's capabilities, creates extra work
for court staff" and results in a high potential for error in case classification. Additionally,
preventing electronic access to public records requires court staffto personally respond to
all requests for access and to produce paper on demand, rather than relying on the
technology in which the court has invested.
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The Committee recognized that requiring court staff to produce paper records for
the public is both inefficient and contrary to the court's efforts to go paperless, a
transition which has already occurred in many court locations. While some members
expressed support for limiting access to juvenile court records, all members recognized
that requiring the courts to mask public records in this way serves only to place exka
burdens on the courts while not addressing the issues that juveniles with a record face
because the records are otherwise available at the courthouse, as well as through Bureau
of Criminal Apprehension background checks required by statute. The Committee
agreed that expansion of the expungement remedy or changes to Department of Human
Services (DHS) licensure rules would be required before juveniles who have ditficulty
obtaining employment and/or DHS licensure would truly be able to move beyond the
limitations imposed by their juvenile records. Finally, as control of and access to court
records is a core function of the Judicial Branch governed by Supreme Court rules (as
recognized in the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act), the statute raises
significant separation of powers issues. Particularly problematic is the statute's
unprecedented delegation of power to the parties to restrict access to the Judicial
Branch's records without requirement of a court order.

For all of these reasons, the Committee agreed that the statute as written should
not be implemented by the Judicial Branch and that decisions regarding access to court
records should remain the province of the courts. Thus the Committee respectfully
recommends that the Supreme Court adopt a rule that clearly states that access to
electronic court records remains governed by court rule, and not by this or any other
statute. A proposed change to Rule 30 is attached for the Supreme Court's consideration.

B. Statement of Rights Forms:

It was brought to the Committee's attention that the Statement of Rights forms are
out of date and out of compliance with statute. The forms were reviewed and
amendments are recommended to bring the forms up-to-date and into compliance. The
Committee recommends that the Supreme Court amend the forms as proposed.

Respectfuny subrnitted,

JUVENILE DELINQUENCY
RULES COMMITTEE
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PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE
RULES OF JUVENILE DELINQUENCY PROCEDURE

Note: Tlrtoughoul iltese pruposals, deletlons are lndlcaled by a llne drown through the words, snd sddillons are
underlined, A double underline indicates that the proposed texl, d approved by the Courl, should also be
underlined in the Jinol publicotion.

l. Amend Rule 30.02, subdivision I, as follows:

Subdivision 1. By Statute or Rule. Juvenile Coun records shall be

available for inspection, copying and release as required by statute or these rules.
Access to all reporter's tapes and electronic recordings and all other electronic
records shall be governed solely by the Rules of Public Access to Records of the
JudicialBranch.

2.   Aョnend the(ColllEnentS to Rule 30 by adding a new second paragraph to read

as fo1lows:
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Form 8. Statement of Rights: Juvenile Delinquency proceedings

STATEMENT OF RIGHTS
JUVEMLE DELINQUENCY PROCEEDINGS

You have been charged with a delinquent act by a document filed in Juvenile Court. you are
presumed innocent of the charge(s) unless and until the state is able to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.
You have the follorvrng rights:

l. Thc right to understand the charge(s) against you.

2. The right to be represented by an attomey. If you cannot afford an attorney, the judge will
appoint an attomey fbr you at public expense. The judge may order you or your parent(s), legal guardianls),
or legal custodian(s) to pay some or all of the attomey expense depending on the ability to pay. You may not
be represented in courl by anyone who is not an attomey, even if that person is your parent.

3. The right to plead guilty, plead not guilty, or remain silent. If you remain silent, the judge
will enter a not gllilty plea for you and the case will go to trial.

4. If 1,or,r plead not guilty, you have additional rights including:

a. The right to a trial before a judge;
b. The right to require the state to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you committed

the offense(s);
The right to cross-examine witnesses called by the state;
The right to subpoena witnesses and present evidence on your own behalf; and
The right not to testifu or to give an explanation of your actions.

5. If you plead guilty, you give up the rights listed in paragraph 4. 'l'he judge will ask you what
you did. The judge cannot accept your guilty plea unless you admit doing something thar is againsr ihe la*.

6. Your guilty plea must be made freely and voluntarily, without tlueats or promises by anyone,
with the exceptiorr o{'any plea agreement.

7.  Ifyou plead guilty or thejudge inds you ttlilty,thejudge may:

ao  Counsel you and yollr parcnt(s),legal guardian(s)Or legal custodian(s).

b. Place you on prob漬 lon in yollr owll home Or a foster care fadHtv llnder conditions
established by the couご t;

c.     Transfer yollr legal custody under court supervlsion and place you out Ofyollr home;

d.  Transfer yollr legal custody by commiment tO the Conlmissioner OfCOrrections;

e.  Order restitution for any damage done to person(s)and/Or proper";
f  Ordcr commllnitv work scrvた c and/or a pavmcnt ofa anc up tO$1.000
亀. Ordcr special treatment or care for yollr physical or mental heal色 ;

艶 . Rccommcnd lo the Commissioner of Public Safety that yollr dHver's license be
cancelcd;
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00;
i. Require you to attend school until age 18 or completion of graduation requirements;
i. Order the Commissioner of Public Safetv to revoke your driver's license or to delay

the issuance qf reinstatement of vour driver's license if you committed a controlled
substance offense while driving a motor vehicle:

underqo treatment. if you cornmitted an offense involving criminal sexual conduct.
interference with privacy. obscene or harassing telephone calls. or indecent exposure:

L Prohibit you from living near the victim if you committed a criminal sexual conduct
offense:

i*Considerirnpositionofadditionalconsequencesi
vie+enee-aneLb*.if a gun or dangerous weapon was involved;

l<n Require you to submit a DNA sample if you have been charged with a felony: and/or
19. Require you to register as a predatory oftbnderyand

@ifyouhavebeenchargedwithasexualoffenseorpredatory
offense.

8. If you plead guilty or the judge finds you guilty of a felony after your 14th birthday, this case
may be used as a basis for additional jail or prison time if you are sentenced for another felony as an adult
before your 25th birthday.

9. If .votr plead guilty or the judge finds you guilty of an offense, this case may be used as a basis
to transfer any future felony-level case to adult court or treat it as an extended jurisdiction juvenile
prosecution.

10. If .vou plead euilty or the judge finds you guilty of an offense and )rou are not a citizen of the
United States. the plea or findinq of guilt may result in deportation. exclusion ftom admission to the United
States. or denial of naturalization as a United States citizen.

+011. Your parent(s), legal guardian(s), or legal custodian(s) may not participate in the hearing until
you either plead guilty or the judge finds you guilty of the offense. At that time your parent(s), Iegal
guardian(s), or legal custodian(s) has the right to present information to the judge and may be represented by
an attomey.

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR RIGHTS, ASK YOUR ATTORNEY BEFORE THE
HEARING OR, ASK THE JUDGE DURING YOUR HEARING.

DATE:
(Signature ol'Child)

(Signature of Parent, Legal Guardian, or Legal Custodian)

DATE:
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Form 10. Statemcnt of Rights: Juvenile Traffic Offender Proceedings

STATEMENT OF RIGHTS
.ruVENILB TRATTIC OFFENDER PROCEEDINGS

You have bcen charged as a juvenile traffic offender by a document filed in Juvenile Court. You are
presumed innocent of the charge(s) unless and until the state is able to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.
You have the follorving rights:

l. The light to undersrand rhe charge(s) against you.

2. The right to be represented by an attorney that you hire. You do not have a right to
appointment of a public defender or other counsel at public expense. If you wish to be represented by an
attomey, you or your parent(s), legal guardian(s), or legal custodian(s) must hire one and pay the cost. Yon
may not be represcnted in court by anyone who is not an attorney, even if that person is your parent.

3. The right to plead guilty, plead not guilty, or remain silent. tf you remain silent. the judge
will enter a not guilt-v plea for you and the case will go to trial.

plead not guilty, you have additional rights including:

The right to a trial before a judge;
The right to require the state to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you committed
the offense(s);

c. The right to cross-examine witnesses called by the state;
d. The right to subpoena witnesses and present evidence on your own behalf; and
e. The right not to testiff or to give an explanation of your actions.

5. If y'oir plead guilty, you give up the rights listed in paragraph 4. The judge will ask you what
you did. The judge cannot accept your plea unless you admit doing something that is an offense.

6. Your guilty plea must be made freely and voluntarily, without threats or promises by anyone,
with the exception oiany plea agreement.

7. If 1'ou plead guilty or the judge finds you guilty of an offense, the judge may:

a. Reprimand you and counsel you and your parent(s), legal guardian(s) or legal
custodian(s);

b. Continue the case for a reasonable period under such conditions goveming your use
and operation of motor vehicles or watercraft as the court may seq

c. Require you to attend a driver improvement course;
d. Recommend that the Commissioner of Public Safety suspend your driver's license;

4.    If、 'otl
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If you are found to have committed two moving highway traffic violations or to have
contributed to a highway accident involving death, injury, or physical damage in
excess of $100, the judge may recommend that the Commissioner of Public Safety
cancel your driver's license until you are I 8;
Place you on probation in your own home under conditions set by the judge including
reasonable rules relating to the operation and use of motor vehicles or watercraft;
Order restitution for any damage to person(s) andlor property;
Order communiq, work service or a fine up to $700!QQQ; andlor
Order a chemical assessment for alcohol-related driving offenses and charge $75.00
for the assessment.

8. Yotrr parent(s), legal guardian(s), or legal custodian(s) may not participate in the hearing until
you have either pled guilty or the judge finds you guilty of the offense. At that time, your parcnt(s), legal
guardian(s), or legal custodian(s) has the right to present information to the judge and may be represented by
an attomey.

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR RIGHTS, ASK YOUR ATTORNEY BEFORE TI{E
HEARING. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE AN ATTORNEY, ASK THE JUDGE DURING YOUR HEARING.

DATE:
(Sig"at"* 

"lCh,td)

DATE:
(Signature of Parent, Legal Guardian, or Legal Custodian)
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