
INSTRUCTIONS FOR REQUESTING  
LAW STUDENT PRACTICE CERTIFICATION 

 
 

The Minnesota Board of Law Examiners administers the Student Practice Rules that permit law students 
to practice law on a limited basis.  To request certification under the Student Practice Rules, law schools 
should submit the following: 
   

A letter, on law school letterhead (or containing the school seal), stating: 
1) the law student’s full name including first, middle and last name;  
2) the anticipated month and year of graduation; 
3) that the student is duly enrolled at the time of certification;  
4) that the student has completed legal studies equivalent to at least two semesters of full-

time study;  
 (requests made prior to completion of 2 semesters will be returned) 
5) that the student has been certified by the dean or designee of the law school as being of 

good academic standing; 
6) the Student Practice Rule under which certification is sought:   

Rule 1 -- Externship programs -submit on letterhead documentation from the office 
of the supervisory attorney(s) affirming compliance with Rule 1.04 (Supervisory 
Attorney).   
Rule 2 -- Law school clinical programs.  
Rule 3 -- Observation  

7) that the law school has reviewed the rules including supervisory attorney 
responsibilities/requirements. 

 
The request should be sent to: 

 
  Terri Guertin 
  Board of Law Examiners 
  180 East 5th Street, Suite 950 
  St. Paul, MN  55101 
 
The Board of Law Examiners will verify that the student meets the requirements and will publish the 
name on the Minnesota Supreme Court website at www.mncourts.gov/?page=3122.  The Board will 
confirm the student’s name and date of certification by letter to the law school. 
 
Certification is valid for 12 months unless one of the following occurs: 
 

(1) Certification is withdrawn by the dean, unit, agency, organization, or supervising lawyer; 
(2) Certification is terminated by the Board of Law Examiners;  
(3) The student is placed on academic probation; 
(4) The student does not take the first bar examination following his or her graduation 

(certification terminates on the first day of the exam);  
(5) The student takes but fails the bar examination (certification terminates upon notice to the 

dean and the law student of such failure); or 
(6) The student takes and passes the bar examination and is admitted to the bar. 

 
Law students may be recertified for additional 12-month periods.  See Rules for Student Practice for 
details.  If recertification is not requested, student names will be removed from the list after 12 months.   
 
If you have questions, contact Terri Guertin at the Board of Law Examiners at 
tguertin@mbcle.state.mn.us. 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/court_rules/rule.php?name=prstud-toh
http://www.mncourts.gov/?page=3122

