
Minnesota eFile & eServe Changes Effective July 1, 2013 
 

The purpose of this communication is to notify those that file cases with the MN Judicial 
Branch of two changes both effective July 1, 2013. 

1.  The first item relates to changes to the  Minnesota Rules of Civil Proceedings and Rules of 
General Practice and specifically how these changes affect submitting an electronically filing 
using the MN eFile and eServe Program 

• Pursuant to changes to Minnesota General Rules of Practice 104, the ‘Civil Cover Sheet’ 
filing code is to be used when the required cover sheet is filed by the parties. 

• Pursuant to the new rule Minnesota General Rules of Practice 146.02 (d), the ‘Complex 
Case Program Election Form’ filing code is to be used when the parties file the new 
election form. 

• Pursuant to Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure 26.06 (b), the ‘Discovery Plan’ filing code 
is to be used when the Discovery Plan is filed by the parties.   

• The ‘Informational Statement’ filing code will be removed from the Civil case category 
on June 30, 2013.  

 

2. The second item relates to the application of a $2 Technology Fee, enacted by the 2013 
Legislature.   

The 2013 Legislature has established a new $2 Technology Fee to be applied to all fees 
collected under Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 2, clauses (1) to (13), effective July 1, 2013.  2013 
Minn. Laws, Chap. 86, Article 3, section 6.  Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 2b. 

The $2.00 Technology Fee will be added for each of the following fees assessed in the case:   

(1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case arising under the tax laws of 
the state that could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the plaintiff, petitioner, or other 
moving party shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $310, except in 
marriage dissolution actions the fee is $340. 

The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of several defendants or 
other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately from the others, shall pay, when the first 
paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $310, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is 
$340. 

The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay $100…. 

 (2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding, $14, and $8 for an 
uncertified copy. 

(3) Issuing a subpoena, $16 for each name. 

(4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family, excluding child support, and 
guardianship cases, $100. 

http://www.mncourts.gov/Documents/0/Public/News/Public_Notices/Administrative_-_Order_-_Rules.pdf
http://www.mncourts.gov/Documents/0/Public/News/Public_Notices/Administrative_-_Order_-_Rules.pdf
http://www.mncourts.gov/Documents/0/Public/News/Public_Notices/Administrative_-_Order_-_Rules.pdf
http://www.mncourts.gov/default.aspx?page=513&item=1093&itemType=formDetails
http://www.mncourts.gov/Documents/0/Public/News/Public_Notices/Administrative_-_Order_-_Rules.pdf
http://www.mncourts.gov/default.aspx?page=513&item=1094&itemType=formDetails
http://www.mncourts.gov/default.aspx?page=513&item=1094&itemType=formDetails
http://www.mncourts.gov/Documents/0/Public/News/Public_Notices/Administrative_-_Order_-_Rules.pdf
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=357.021
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=SF671&session_year=2013&session_number=0&version=latest
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=SF671&session_year=2013&session_number=0&version=latest
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(5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of attachment, injunction, 
habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not specifically mentioned, $55. 

(6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript of judgment from 
another court, $40. 

(7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or assignment of judgment, 
$5. 

(8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, $5 for each name certified 
to. 

(9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate; or recording certificate of 
physicians, osteopaths, chiropractors, veterinarians, or optometrists, $5. 

(10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships, $55. 

(11) For the deposit of a will, $27. 

(12) For recording notary commission, $20. 

(13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support, a fee of $100. 

 

The technology fee will be placed in a special revenue account, to be administered by the 
Minnesota Judicial Council, and will be used to fund justice system technology projects.  See 
2013 Minn. Laws, Chap. 86, Article 3, section 6.  

If you have any questions about this information, please contact the Minnesota eFile Support 
Center. 

The Minnesota eFile and eServe Support Team 
Minnesota Judicial Branch 
State Court Administration 
25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. 
Saint Paul, MN  55155 

 
● Business Hours:  Monday – Friday from 8:30 am – 4:30 pm (CST).  Closed state government holidays except Columbus Day. 
● Email via mncourts.gov website: http://www.mncourts.gov/?page=4696 
● Phone:  651-227-2002 (if calling from 612, 651, 763, or 952) or 855-291-8246 (if calling from all other area codes) 
 

“Minnesota eFile Support Center Disclaimer: This is an official government communication. As the recipient, you are responsible for the lawful 
use of this information. This e-mail and any attachments may be confidential and are intended solely for the individual or organization to which 
they are addressed.  They may contain privileged or confidential information and should not be disseminated.  If you are not the intended 
recipient of this e-mail, you should not copy, distribute or take any action in reliance upon this e-mail or the attachments.  If you received this e-
mail in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete this message.  Thank you.  Please consider the environment before printing this 
email.” 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=86&doctype=Chapter&year=2013&type=0
http://www.mncourts.gov/?page=4696

