[image: image1.png]


JEFF SHORBA

STATE COURT ADMINISTRATOR


25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.


Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Data Elements for Adult and Juvenile Citations
June  2013
The State of Minnesota has  approved minor changes to the Standard Citation and the changes have now been incorporated into the Standard Citation.  
Minn. R. Crim. P. 6.01, subd. 4  indicates that “any citation, including electronic citations, filed or efiled with the courts must be in a form prescribed by this rule and approved by the State Court Administrator and the Commissioner of Public Safety . . . .”  As authorized by Rule 6.01, below is the updated prescribed and approved citation form for paper and electronically submitted adult and juvenile citations.

Form of Paper Citation:
The State Court Administrator and Commissioner of Public Safety are mandating the use of one of the following two forms for paper citations:


Example of State Standard Citation - Court Date Option 2013.1  

Example of State Standard Citation - Respond by Option 2013.1 

That paper citation must include the information required by Minn. R. Crim. P. 6.01, subd. 4.
Form of Electronic Citation:
The State Court Administrator and Commissioner of Public Safety are mandating the following with respect to electronic citations:

Electronic Citations Submitted to MNCIS must take the form prescribed by the court’s schema for adult citations.
Minimum Notice Requirements:   The language that appears on the back of the Paper Citation Form is now required for electronic citations; all of the following information must be included on the citation issued to the defendant:   

Note:    All citations created on Mobile Devices (e.g., laptop or handheld) that are either electronically submitted to MNCIS or manually filed  must conform to the Paper Citation Form (see above) by July 1, 2014.  
Additional questions can be directed to: state.standard.citation@courts.state.mn.us.

�





Payable Citation/Method of Payment


To find out if your citation is payable without a court appearance, how much to pay, or to pay�your fine, choose one of the following methods:


Online: Using MasterCard or Visa, access � HYPERLINK "http://www.mncourts.gov/fines" �www.mncourts.gov/fines�. Have your citation �number available.


By Phone: Using MasterCard or Visa, call 651-281-3219 in the metro or 1-800-657-3611 outside of the metro area. Have your citation number available. Disponible por teléfono en Español.


By Mail: Check or Money Order payable to Court Administration. Send to: �Minnesota Court Payment Center, PO Box 898, Willmar, MN 56201. Include a copy �of your citation or indicate the citation number on the check or money order.


You have the right to appear in court.  Please refer to the front of this citation. If a court date is noted, you must either pay your fine by this date or you may choose to appear in court on the date, time and at the location indicated. If no court date is noted, you must pay the amount owed or you may schedule an appearance within 30 days from the date this citation was issued. To make a payment or schedule an appearance call: 651-281-3219 in the metro area or 1-800-657-3611 outside of the metro area. Please allow 10 business days (from the date you receive your citation) for processing before calling.


BY PAYING THIS FINE(S), YOU ARE ENTERING A PLEA OF GUILTY to this offense(s) and voluntarily waive your rights to the following: (Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.03)


To a court trial, if the offense is a petty misdemeanor, or a court or jury trial for all other offenses;


To be represented by counsel;


To be presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt;


To confront and cross examine all witnesses; and


To either remain silent or to testify on your own behalf. 


A plea of guilty will result in a conviction. If convicted, you must pay a state imposed surcharge under Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 6. The current amount of the required state surcharge is $12 for parking-related offenses and $75 for all other offenses (Minn. Stat. § 169.99). Additionally, a law library fee will be owed. These surcharges and fees are included in the total payable amount provided to you by phone or web.


Under Minn. Stat. § 480.15, subd. 10c, unpaid fines may be referred for collections. You have the right to contest the referral.


Issuance of a worthless check to the court is a crime, and you will be subject to civil and criminal penalties. In addition, a charge of up to $30 will be assessed on all returned checks (Minn. Stat. § 604.113, subd. 2).


Other important notices regarding your rights can be found on the Minnesota Judicial Branch website at: � HYPERLINK "http://www.mncourts.gov/fines" �www.mncourts.gov/fines�





If a Court Appearance is Required


Certain charge(s) require you to appear in court. To verify if the charge(s) you have received require a court appearance, please call 651-281-3219 in the metro or 1-800-657-3611 outside of the metro area and refer to the front of this citation. If you must appear in court and a court date is noted on the front of this citation, your appearance is scheduled for the date, time and location indicated. If you must appear in court and no court date is noted on the front of this citation, a Notice to Appear indicating a court date will be mailed to the address on the citation. If this address is not correct, you must immediately notify the court at the number noted above of your current address. If you have questions regarding the charge(s), call the number noted above.





Penalties for Failure to Appear or Respond


Failure to appear or respond as required may result in the following:


The Department of Public Safety and/or the Department of Natural Resources may be notified of your failure to appear and/or conviction, depending on the charge(s). These agencies may suspend your driver’s license or DNR licenses for failing to appear.


A warrant may be issued for your arrest.


Late penalties may be assessed.


For Petty Misdemeanors, and Misdemeanors Certified as Petty Misdemeanors, failure to appear or respond as required is considered a waiver of the right to trial, and a guilty plea and conviction will be entered on the charge(s), unless the failure to appear is due to circumstances beyond your control.  (Minn. Stat. § 169.91; 609.491; Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.04-23.05.)





If this is a Juvenile Court Offense: 


The Court will mail further information and instructions to you.
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