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Special Rules of Procedure Governing Proceedings 

Under the Minnesota Commitment and Treatment Acts  
With amendments effective September 18, 2013 

 
 

Rule 1. General 
 

(a) Scope.  The Special Rules shall apply in proceedings under the 1997 
Minnesota Commitment and Treatment Act, Minn. Stat. ch. 253B, including its 
amendments, and Minn. Stat. ch. 253D, the Minnesota Commitment and Treatment Act: 
Sexually Dangerous Persons and Sexual Psychopathic Personalities.  

 
(b) Rules Superseded.  The Special Rules shall supersede any other body of 

rules otherwise applicable (e.g., the Rules of Civil Procedure for the District Courts, 
Probate Court Rules, etc.) in conflict with these Special Rules.  

 
(c) Citation.  These Special Rules may be cited as Commitment and Treatment 

Act Rules.  
 
(Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 

 
Advisory Committee Comment—1999 

The Act, as codified under Minn. Stat. ch. 253B, is detailed and the 
practitioner must be familiar with both the Act and these rules.  
 

 
Rule 2. Computation of Time 
 
 Except as provided by these Special Rules, the Minnesota Rules of Civil 
Procedure govern the computation of any time periods prescribed by Minn. Stat. ch. 
253B or Minn. Stat. ch. 253D.  If a respondent is represented by an attorney, whenever an 
act is required within a certain time after a written demand or service of a document upon 
a party or entity other than the court, time shall begin to run once both the party and the 
parties’ attorneys have received notice of the document, regardless of the method of 
service, and shall not include weekends and holidays.  The 72-hour absence that triggers 
the missing respondent procedures under Minn. Stat. § 253B.141, subd. 1, commences 
when the respondent was due to return to the facility and includes weekends and 
holidays.   
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
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Advisory Committee Comment—1999 
These rules contemplate that service may be effected personally, by 

mail, or by fax.  There are instances in the statute when a notice or a report 
does not need to be “given” to an attorney.  The rule ensures that the 
attorneys know the basis of any hearing scheduled by the court upon 
receipt of a filed document.  When a party requests a hearing after notice 
that the treatment center or designated agency intends to take some action 
(as in the case of revocation of provisional discharge), this rule expands 
the period of time if the notice was mailed to the attorneys.  If the notice 
was faxed, the time to request the hearing is not expanded.  
 

 
Rule 3. Service 
 
 Whenever a person is required to give or serve any document under this chapter to 
any party, attorney, or entity other than the court, service may be made in any manner 
allowed under the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure.  Attorneys for both parties must 
also be served whether or not service upon counsel is specifically required by statute.  
 

Advisory Committee Comment—1999 
  See comment to Rule 2. 
 
 
Rule 4. Consecutive Hold Orders Prohibited 
 
 A person held under a 72-hour emergency hold must be released by the facility 
within 72 hours unless a court order to hold the person is obtained.  A consecutive hold 
order not issued by the district court is expressly prohibited, whether or not issued by the 
same physician or other authority.   
 

Advisory Committee Comment—1999 
  See comment to Rule 2. 
 
 
Rule 5. Case Captions 
 
 Civil commitment proceedings shall be captioned in the name of the person 
subject to the petition as follows:  In the Matter of the Civil Commitment of: (Full Name 
of Respondent), Respondent.    
 

Advisory Committee Comment—1999 
A person subject to commitment proceedings is referred to as the 

respondent throughout these rules.  The court and counsel shall be sensitive 
to the correct pronunciation of a respondent’s name. 
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Rule 6. Commencement 
 
 A proceeding for commitment or early intervention is commenced upon filing a 
petition with the District Court pursuant to Minn. Stat. ch. 253B or Minn. Stat. ch. 253D. 
 The petition should be filed in the county of financial responsibility as defined in 
Minn. Stat. § 253B.045, subd. 2.  If the county of financial responsibility refuses to file a 
petition, the county where the respondent is present must file the petition if statutory 
conditions for commitment are present.  Financial responsibility for the costs of the 
proceedings and treatment will be resolved by subsequent administrative process.  
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment—1999 
The committee has attempted to address concerns where conflicts 

occur between the county of financial responsibility (respondent’s 
residence) and the county where respondent is present, regarding who shall 
file the petitions, and to provide guidance in light of short statutory time 
constraints.  The committee did not intend to remove discretion from the 
county attorney in the county where the respondent is present.  If statutory 
conditions are present for commitment and the county attorney in the 
county where the respondent is present determines that a commitment is 
necessary and reasonable for the protection of the respondent or others, 
then the petition must be filed.  Ultimate financial responsibility will be 
resolved in accordance with Minn. Stat. §§ 256G.01-.12.   

See also Minn. Stat. § 253B.07, subd. 2a, when dealing with a 
person subject to Minn. R. Crim. P. 20.01 or 20.02.  It is not the intent of 
the committee to affect venue when the person is subject to a proceeding 
governed by Minn. R. Crim. P. 20.01 or 20.02 or Minn. R. Juv. Del. P. 
20.01 or 20.02. 

A petition for commitment as a sexual psychopathic personality or a 
sexually dangerous person may also be filed in a county where a related 
criminal conviction was entered.  See Minn. Stat. § 253B.185, subd. 1. 

 
 
Rule 7. Petitions 
 
 A petition filed pursuant to Minn. R. Crim. P. 20.01 or Minn. R. Juv. Del. P.20.01 
is sufficient if it contains a judicial determination that the defendant is incompetent to 
stand trial or be sentenced for the offense.  A petition filed pursuant to Minn. R. Crim. P. 
20.02 or Minn. R. Juv. Del. P. 20.02 is sufficient if it contains a judicial determination 
that the defendant was found not guilty, by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency, 
of the crime with which the defendant was charged.  
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Advisory Committee Comment—1999 
 This rule clarifies that petitions pursuant to Minn. R. Crim. P. 20 or 
Minn. R. Juv. Del. P. 20 need not include all of the specific requirements of 
the law relating to petitions for judicial commitment, which arise from 
referrals to the pre-petition screening team.  For example, an examiner’s 
statement in support of commitment is not required, since the basis of the 
petition is a judicial determination. 

 
 
Rule 8. Summons 
 
 Once a petition has been filed, the court shall issue a summons to be personally 
served upon the respondent.  The summons shall direct the respondent to appear at the 
times and places stated in the summons for psychiatric, psychological, and medical 
examination and court hearing.  The summons shall state in bold print that an order to 
apprehend and hold the respondent may be issued if the respondent does not appear as 
directed.  The court need not issue a summons if the respondent is already under a 
medical or judicial hold.   
 The court shall direct that a copy of the pre-petition screening report, the petition, 
and the examiner’s supporting statement be personally served upon the respondent with 
the summons if issued, and that a copy be distributed to the petitioner, the proposed 
patient, the patient’s counsel, the county attorney, and any person authorized by the 
patient, and any other person as the court directs.  
 
 
Rule 9. Appointment and Role of Counsel   
 

Immediately upon the filing of a petition for commitment or early intervention the 
court shall appoint a qualified attorney to represent the respondent at public expense at 
any subsequent proceeding under Minn. Stat. ch. 253B or Minn. Stat. ch. 253D.  The 
attorney shall represent the respondent until the court dismisses the petition or the 
commitment and discharges the attorney.  
 The respondent may employ private counsel at the respondent’s expense.  If 
private counsel is employed, the court shall discharge the appointed counsel.   
 In order to withdraw, counsel must file a motion and obtain the court’s approval. 
 Counsel for the respondent is not required to file an appeal or commence any 
proceeding under Minn. Stat. ch. 253B or Minn. Stat. ch. 253D if, in the opinion of 
counsel, there is an insufficient basis for proceeding.   
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
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Rule 10. Attorney-Client Privilege 
 
 The content of attorney-client communications by telephone, mail, or conference 
at the facility, shall not be monitored, censored, or made part of a respondent’s medical 
record.  The facility may open and inspect, but not read, a letter of package, and must do 
so in the respondent’s presence.   
 
 
Rule 11. Examiner’s List 
 
 The court administrator shall prepare and maintain a list of examiners.  A 
statement of the manner and rate of compensation of examiners shall be attached to the 
list.  Examiners shall be paid at a rate of compensation fixed by the court.  If a party 
seeks appointment of an examiner not on the list, or at a rate of compensation exceeding 
that fixed by the court, the party shall seek approval of the court prior to appointment.   
 
 
Rule 12. Examiner Reports   
 

Each court-appointed examiner shall examine the respondent and prepare a 
separate report stating the examiner’s opinion and the facts upon which the opinion is 
based.  The report shall address: 

 
 (a) Whether the respondent is mentally ill, mentally retarded, chemically 
dependent, mentally ill and dangerous to the public, a sexually dangerous person, or a 
sexual psychopathic personality; 
 
 (b) Whether the examiner recommends commitment; 
 
 (c) The appropriate form, location, and conditions of treatment, including 
likelihood of the need for treatment with neuroleptic medication; 
 
 (d) The respondent’s capacity to make decisions about neuroleptic medication, 
if needed; and 
 
 (e) If the petition alleges that the respondent is mentally ill and dangerous to 
the public, whether there is a substantial likelihood that respondent will engage in acts 
capable of inflicting serious physical harm on another. 
 
 (f) If the petition alleges that the respondent is a sexual psychopathic 
personality and/or a sexually dangerous person, the report shall address each element set 
out in Minn. Stat. § 253D.02, subds. 11 and 12 respectively, including an opinion as to 
the likelihood that the respondent will engage in future dangerous behavior. 
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 The court shall send a copy of the examiner’s report to the petitioner’s attorney, 
the respondent and respondent’s attorney immediately upon receiving the report.  
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
 
 
Rule 13. Medical Records  
  

The county attorney, respondent, respondent’s attorney, court-appointed examiner, 
guardian ad litem, substitute decision-maker, and their agents and experts retained by 
them shall have access to all of the respondent’s medical records and the reports of the 
court-appointed examiners.  The records and reports may not be disclosed to any other 
person without court authorization or the respondent’s signed consent.  Except for a 
preliminary hearing, each party shall disclose to the other party or parties at least 24 
hours in advance of the hearing which of the respondent’s medical records the party 
intends to introduce at the hearing.   
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
 
 
Rule 14. Location of Hearing, Rules of Decorum, Alternative Methods of 
Presenting Evidence 
 
 The judge or judicial officer shall assure the decorum and orderliness of any 
hearing held pursuant to Minn. Stat. ch. 253B or Minn. Stat. ch. 253D.  The judge or 
judicial officer shall afford to respondent an opportunity to be dressed in conformity with 
the dignity of court appearances.  
 
 A hearing may be conducted or an attorney for a party, a party, or a witness may 
appear by telephone, audiovisual, or other electronic means if the party intending to use 
electronic means notifies the other party or parties at least 24 hours in advance of the 
hearing and the court approves.  If a witness will be testifying electronically, the notice 
must include the name, address, and telephone number where the witness may be reached 
in advance of the hearing.  This rule does not supersede Minn. Stat. §§ 595.02-595.08 
(competency and privilege).  Respondent’s counsel will be physically present with the 
patient.  The court shall insure that the respondent has adequate opportunity to speak 
privately with counsel, including, where appropriate, suspension of the audio recording or 
allowing counsel to leave the conference table to communicate with the client in private. 
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
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Rule 15. Evidence 
 
 The court may admit all relevant, reliable evidence, including but not limited to 
the respondent’s medical records, without requiring foundation witnesses.   
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
 
 
Rule 16. Rights of Patients 
 
 In every order for commitment, the committing court shall order that the Rights of 
Patients, provided at Minn. Stat. § 253B.03, Minn. Stat. § 253D.17, and Minn. Stat.  
§ 253D.18, be incorporated in the order by reference.   
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
 
 
Rule 17. Petition to Determine Need for Continued Care 
 
 Upon the filing of a petition to determine the need for continued care pursuant to 
Minn. Stat. § 253B.17, the court shall cause the hearing to be held within 14 days of 
filing.  The hearing may be continued for up to 30 days upon a showing of good cause.  
The court shall give the respondent, respondent’s attorney, county attorney, guardian ad 
litem, and substitute decision maker, as well as such other interested persons as the court 
may direct, at least 10 days’ notice of the date and time of the hearing.  
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
 
Rule 18. Recommitment 
 
 For recommitments pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 253B.13, the court shall append the 
immediately preceding commitment file to the file on the new petition.   
 
 
Rule 19. Termination of Early Intervention 
 
 Any petition for involuntary commitment filed at the termination of court-ordered 
early intervention under Minn. Stat. § 253B.065 shall be treated as an initial commitment 
petition and not a recommitment.   
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Rule 20. Termination of Commitment 
 
 The court shall order termination of the commitment when the commitment 
expires, or upon a direct discharge by the treatment facility, or upon a discharge by the 
Commissioner of Human Services.   

The order shall also discharge the court-appointed attorney.   
 

Advisory Committee Comment—1999 
 

 Minn. Stat. § 253B.12, subd. 1(e), provides for an order terminating 
the commitment if a 60-90 day report is not timely filed or if the report 
describes the respondent as not in need of further institutional care and 
treatment.  There is no similar provision for terminating the commitment if 
the report required by Minn. Stat. § 253B.16 is not filed or if there is a final 
discharge under Minn. Stat. § 253B.16 or if a provisional discharge expires 
under Minn. Stat. § 253B.15, subd. 9.  This rule insures a formal 
termination of the proceeding and discharge of the respondent’s court-
appointed attorney.   

 
 
Rule 21. Public Access to Records 
 
 (a) Except as provided in these Special Rules, and as limited by court order, all 
court files relating to civil commitment shall be available to the public for inspection, 
copying, or release.  
 
 (b) The court administrator shall create a separate section or file in which the 
prepetition screening report, court appointed examiner’s report, and all medical records 
shall be filed.  Records in that section or file shall not be disclosed to the public except by 
express order of the district court.  This provision shall not limit the parties’ ability to 
mention the contents of the pre-petition screening report, court appointed examiner’s 
report and medical records in the course of proceedings under Minn. Stat. ch. 253B or 
Minn. Stat. ch. 253D.  
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
 
Rule 22. Stayed Orders (Mentally Ill and Dangerous to the Public, Sexually 
Dangerous Persons, and Sexual Psychopathic Personalities) 
 
 Stayed orders for commitment as mentally ill and dangerous to the public, 
sexually dangerous person, or a sexual psychopathic personality may be issued only by 
agreement of the parties and approval by the court.  
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Rule 23. Evaluation and Final Hearings in Cases Governed by Minn. Stat.  
§§ 253B.18, 253B.185, and Minn. Stat. ch. 253D  
 
 (a) For persons who have been committed as mentally ill and dangerous to the 
public, sexually dangerous persons, or as sexual psychopathic personalities, the head of 
the treatment facility shall file the report required by Minn. Stat. § 253B.18.  The 
evaluation may be conducted at a secure treatment facility or at a correctional facility.  If 
transport is needed, the court shall designate the agency responsible to do it.  
 
 (b) Prior to making the final determination with regard to a person initially 
committed as mentally ill and dangerous to the public, as a sexually dangerous person, or 
as a sexual psychopathic personality, the court shall hold a hearing.  The head of the 
treatment facility shall file the report required by Minn. Stat. § 253B.18, subd. 2.  The 
hearing for final determination shall be held within 14 days of the court’s receipt of the 
report from the head of the treatment facility or within 90 days of the date of initial 
commitment, whichever is earlier, unless continued by agreement of the parties, or by the 
court for good cause shown.  As its final determination, the court may, subject to Minn. 
R. Crim. P. 20.01, subd. 4: 
 
  (1)  Discharge the respondent’s commitment; 
  (2) Commit the respondent as mentally ill only, in which case the 
respondent’s commitment shall be deemed to have commenced upon the date of initial 
commitment, for purposes of determining the maximum length of the determinate 
commitment; or 
  (3)  Commit the respondent for an indeterminate period as mentally ill and 
dangerous to the public, as a sexually dangerous person, or as a sexual psychopathic 
personality.  
 
 (c) At the request of the respondent, the court shall appoint an examiner of the 
respondent’s choice for purposes of the hearing required by this rule.   
 
 (d) The written report of the head of the treatment facility pursuant to Minn. 
Stat. § 253B.18, subd. 2, shall address the criteria for commitment and whether there has 
been any change in the respondent’s condition since the commitment hearing.  The report 
shall provide the following information: 
 
  (1) the respondent’s diagnosis; 
  (2) the respondent’s present condition and behavior; 
  (3) the facts, if any, that establish that the respondent continues to satisfy 
the statutory requirements for commitment; 
  (4) a description of treatment efforts and response to treatment by the 
respondent during hospitalization; 
  (5) the respondent’s prognosis; 
  (6) the respondent’s individual treatment plan; 
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  (7) an opinion as to whether the respondent is in need of further care and 
treatment; 
  (8) an opinion as to the program or facility best able to provide further care 
and treatment, if needed; 
  (9) an opinion as to whether respondent is dangerous to the public or 
himself.  All supportive data and documentation shall be attached to the report.  
 
 (e) At the hearing, the court shall consider all competent evidence relevant to 
the respondent’s present need for continued commitment.  The burden of proof at the 
hearing is upon the proponent of indeterminate commitment to establish by clear and 
convincing evidence that the statutory requirements for commitment under Minn. Stat. 
ch. 253B or Minn. Stat. ch. 253D continue to be met. 
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment—1999 
This rule is intended to require final resolution, with due diligence, of the 
commitment process of a respondent who is mentally ill and dangerous to 
the public, a sexually dangerous person, or a sexual psychopathic 
personality.  An initial hearing should not be “reviewed” years later.  The 
rule is not intended to dictate where a committed person should be 
confined.  If a commitment is sustained upon review and the individual is 
still subject to commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections the balance 
of the sentence is to be served in a correctional institution.  

 
 
Rule 24. Expediting Transcripts for Chapter 253B or Chapter 253D Appeals 
 
 In addition to satisfying the requirements of the Rules of Civil Appellate 
Procedure, any party initiating an appeal of an order entered under Minn. Stat. ch. 253B 
or Minn. Stat. ch. 253D shall, at or before the date of filing the notice of appeal, (a) serve 
on each court reporter who recorded the proceedings a copy of the notice of appeal and a 
request for transcripts the appellant deems necessary for the appeal and (b) file with the 
notice of appeal a copy of the request(s) for transcripts, along with an affidavit of service 
of the request(s) on opposing counsel, the court administrator of the court that issued the 
order appealed, and the court reporter or reporters, unless at the time of filing the notice 
of appeal all transcripts necessary for the appeal have already been transcribed.  The 
transcript request(s) shall require completion of the transcripts no more than 25 days after 
the filing of the notice of appeal, unless the 25th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a 
holiday, in which case the transcripts shall be completed on the next business day.  The 
Court of Appeals may modify the deadline for completion of the transcripts if necessary.  
Failure of an appellant who intends to order a transcript to serve on the court reporter(s) a 
request for transcripts the appellant deems necessary for the appeal at the date of filing 
the notice of appeal does not deprive the Court of Appeals of jurisdiction over the appeal, 
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but extends the time for the Court of Appeals to hear the appeal by the period of delay 
between the filing of the appeal and service of the transcript request(s).  
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 
 
 
Rule 25. Subpoena for Production of Records 
 
 Where a party in a proceeding under Minn. Stat. ch. 253B or Minn. Stat. ch. 253D 
uses a subpoena to obtain production of records, the advance-service and advance-notice 
requirements under Minn. R. Civ. P. 45.02(a) and 45.04(a)(5) shall be 24 hours, rather 
than seven days.   
 
 (Amended effective September 18, 2013.) 


