
 
THIS CITATION IS EITHER PAYABLE OR REQUIRES A COURT APPEARANCE (visit 

http://www.mncourts.gov/washingtoncounty  for fine schedule or call 651-430-6279 to determine status).  If it is 
PAYABLE, you need to choose one of the following two options within 60 days of the date of your offense: 

 

PAYABLE OPTION 1:  PAY THE FINE IN FULL. 
 
Payment of a fine is: 
1. A plea of guilty to the offense charged on the citation. 
2. An admission that you understand and voluntarily waive the following rights: 

a. To a trial to the court or jury. 
b. To be represented by counsel. 
c. To be presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. 
d. To confront and cross-examine all witnesses against you. 
e. To either remain silent or to testify on your own behalf. 
 

If you choose to pay your fine: 
1. Mail check or money order payable to COURT ADMINISTRATOR to: 

Violations Bureau, 14949 62
nd

 St. N, PO Box 3802, Stillwater, MN 55082 
2. Pay in person at same address by cash, check, money order, VISA or MasterCard. 

 
PAYABLE OPTION 2:  SEE A HEARING OFFICER AT THE VIOLATIONS BUREAU. 
 
Appear in person, with photo ID and your citation, at the Violations Bureau to attempt a 
settlement on your payable offense.  (Settlement options may include reducing the fine, keeping 
the offense off the driver’s record or, in limited cases, dismissing the charge.)  If an agreement 
cannot be reached a court date will be set.   
 

Walk-in service only – Stillwater: 
Washington County Government Center 
14949 62

nd
 St. N., Stillwater, MN 55082  

 
By appointment only – Cottage Grove: 
Call 651-430-6279 to schedule 
Washington County Service Center – Cottage Grove 
13000 Ravine Parkway S, Cottage Grove, MN 55016 
 

NOTE:  Payable citations must be resolved (either by payment in full or by visiting a hearing 
officer) within 60 DAYS of the date of the offense.  
 
COURT REQUIRED: IF YOUR CITATION REQUIRES A COURT APPEARANCE: 
 
1.  A Notice with your court date will be mailed to you at the address noted on your citation. 
2.  If you have questions regarding your court appearance, call 651-430-6279. 
 
Examples of court-required charges: 
Hit and Run; Underage Drink and Drive; Theft; charges involving an accident or endangering life or 
property (will be indicated on citation).  No proof of insurance charges are mandatory court UNLESS 
proof of insurance covering the date of offense is provided to the Violations Bureau prior to court date. . 
 
FAILURE TO PAY or APPEAR NOTICE: 
Failure to pay the fine, see a hearing officer, or appear in court if required will result in additional 
penalties including:  issuance of a warrant, driver’s license suspension, entry of guilty plea and waiver 
of trial, and/or referral to collections. M.S. §169.99 1(a) and M.S. § 169.92.  
 

A CHARGE OF $30 WILL BE ASSESSED ON ALL RETURNED CHECKS 

 
FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE AT: 
http://www.mncourts.gov/washingtoncounty 
 
If you need reasonable accommodations, an interpreter, or other assistance, call 651-430-4422.  
If you cannot communicate by voice, phone our TTY number at 651-430-6246.                   
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