
SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

FINANCIAL EARLY NEUTRAL EVALUATION PROGRAM 

ANNOUNCEMENT 

 

The Second Judicial District Financial Early Neutral Evaluation (“FENE”) Program seeks 

applications to expand the list of qualified FENE providers.  FENE is a voluntary, 

confidential and evaluative process designed to facilitate prompt dispute resolution of 

financial issues in dissolution proceedings. 

As set forth in Rule 114.13(e) of the Minnesota General Rules of Practice, all candidates 

must meet the following criteria: 

1. Be a qualified evaluative neutral pursuant to Rule 114.13(e) of the Minnesota 

General Rules of Practice; 

 

2. At least 5 years of experience as a family law attorney or as an accountant in marital 

dissolution related matters; 

 

3. Have completed or taught the financial early neutral evaluation FENE specialized 

training; 

 

4. Have completed two approved FENE ride-a-longs and submit who these were 

conducted with; or submit in writing an explanation of why this requirement should 

be waived. 

 

5. Be able to structure your practice to accommodate expedient scheduling 

requirements; 

 

6. Accept and abide by the Second Judicial District Family Court Division FENE sliding 

fee scale; 

 

7. Have an attorney or other applicable professional license in good standing with the 

State of Minnesota, either in active or retired status. 

 

Interested applicants should send a cover letter addressing the above mentioned criteria 

and including a copy of their resume by June 4, 2015 to: 

Second Judicial District Family Court Division 

ATTN: Terri Barett 

15 West Kellogg Boulevard, room 160 

Saint Paul, Minnesota 55102 

 



RAMSEY COUNTY FEE SCHEDULE 
FINANCIAL EARLY NEUTRAL EVALUATION 

Effective June 1, 2011 
 

NOTE: Each party’s FENE hourly rate is to be determined individually. 
 
For Parties Who Are Represented By Counsel: 

The FENE fee for a party represented by counsel is one-half the hourly rate charged 
by that party's counsel. Counsel shall provide Court and the FENE evaluator with his 
or her hourly rate. In the event that more than one attorney at a firm represents the 
party, the highest hourly rate charged to the party shall be used to determine that 
party's FENE hourly rate. 
 

For Parties Not Represented By Counsel: 
The FENE fee for a party who is not represented by counsel is to be determined 
based upon their gross annual income using the following sliding fee scale: 
 

0-$25,000 gross per year: $25 per hour 
 
$25,000 - $50,000 gross per year: $50 per hour 
 
$50,000 - $75,000 gross per year: $75 per hour 
 
$75,000 - $100,000 gross per year: $100 per hour 
 
$100,000 - $125,000 gross per year: $125 per hour 
 
$125,000 - $150,000 gross per year: $150 per hour 
 
Over $150,000 gross per year: $175 per hour 
 

For Parties With A Current IFP: 
1. The FENE fee for a party who has a current IFP and who is not represented by 
counsel, or has a pro bono attorney, shall be a one-time flat fee of $50. 
 
2. The FENE fee for a party who has a current IFP and who is represented by 
counsel, shall be one-half the hourly rate charged by that party's counsel. Counsel 
shall provide Court and the FENE evaluator with his or her hourly rate. In the event 
that more than one attorney at a firm represents the party, the highest hourly rate 
charged to the party shall be used to determine that party's FENE hourly rate. 

 


