Partial Payment Program
Minnesota Statutes 2009

171.29

The Partial Payment program allows eligible participants to pay their $680 reinstatement fee in two installments over a two-year period.  The program does NOT reduce their fee and it is not a “payment plan” in the sense that they can make multiple payments.  Only two installments may be made and the fee must be paid in full within two years of enrollment.  
According to statute, only drivers who the court certifies as being financially eligible for a public defender may participate.  They may choose to pay 50% of the $680 fee, plus an additional $25 which would be $365 for the first payment.  Provided they have met all other reinstatement requirements, their privileges will be fully reinstated.  All other rules and conditions apply relating to issuance of Limited Licenses.  The second payment amount will be $315.  
If a person defaults on the second payment, their driving privileges will be cancelled for non-payment of fees.  Also, if a person enrolled in this program becomes cancelled, revoked or suspended on another charge before the original fee is 100% paid, they must pay the outstanding balance due for the initial reinstatement before their privileges can be subsequently reinstated.  

Drivers who wish to participate must submit documentation indicating they were represented by a public defender.  These documents can vary and may be anything from a Register of Actions to the actual Application for a Public Defender.  As long as the document indicates “granted Public Defender”, we will accept it, regardless of what type of form it is.  Court documents do not need to be certified or notarized. 

The documents may be submitted by mail, fax, email, e-fax, or in person (addresses and phone numbers will appear at the end of this page). Contact information for the individual should be included with documents being mailed or faxed, in case there are questions or problems with the forms they are submitting.   
Mailing Address: Driver and Vehicle Services 

                             Fines and Investigations Unit, Suite 180 

                             445 Minnesota St.

                             Saint Paul,  MN  55101 

FAX number:       651-297-3402 

E-Mail address:     DVS.Partial-Payment@state.mn.us 

E-Fax number:       651-797-1740 

In Person:               At any Exam Station in Minnesota 

                                (DL Agents may NOT accept these documents)
