Ramsey Criminal & Traffic Division

The Criminal & Traffic Division is composed of six offices.  See the tabs below for more information.

(651) 266-1999

(For fine payment, call (651) 281-3219. Outside the metro area, call 1-800-657-3611.
NOTE:  If you are calling from a phone number with area codes 612, 651, 763, or 952, the (800) number WILL NOT WORK.  If you are calling from a phone number with an international area code (including Canada), you must use the (651) number.)

Main Office: 15 W Kellogg Blvd, Room 130, St Paul MN 55102
Law Enforcement Center Office: 425 Grove St, St Paul MN 55101
     Note: Hearing Officers are not available at this site
Suburban Office: 2050 White Bear Ave, St Paul MN 55119

Paying Fines


The amount of your fine / How to pay
Use one of the three methods below to find out how much you owe.  Pay your fine using the same methods:
  • Online
  • Call our automated payment line.  Call (651) 281-3219.  If you are calling from outside the metro area, call 1-800-657-3611.
    NOTE: If you are calling from a phone number with area codes 612, 651, 763, or 952, the (800) number WILL NOT WORK. If you are calling from a phone number with an international area code (including Canada), you must use the (651) number listed above.
  • Appear in person at one of the three offices listed at the top of this page.
Additionally, if you know the amount of the fine, you can mail it to: Minnesota Court Payment Center, P.O. Box 898, Willmar MN 56201.  Do not mail cash.
If you don’t pay your fine
If you fail to pay, see a hearing officer, or appear in court on a citation, additional fees will be added and the unpaid citation may result in a suspended driver's license by the MN Driver & Vehicle Services (DVS) or the amount owed being sent to collections. You have 30 days to respond to a citation from the date it was entered into the Minnesota Court Information System (MNCIS). After 30 days, a $5 fee is added. After another 30 days, another fee of $25 is added.  If the citation is for a traffic violation, it may result in a suspended driver's license. Other unpaid citations are sent to collections.
 
If you are unable to pay
If you cannot pay the fine in full by the due date, contact the MN Court Payment Center (CPC) to talk about your options.
Why didn't I receive a notice in the mail?

For moving violations, a notice is mailed to the address on the ticket. For parking tickets, the notice is mailed to the address of the registered owner. If that information is incorrect, you may not have received the notice. The late fee that was imposed, however, is still due and owing.

Convenience Fees
When paying a fine online or with your telephone, your credit status is checked through our banking system and the money is electronically transferred. The bank charges the court a fee for this service and the state legislature has authorized the collection of an additional fee to partially defray the costs of paying fines this way. The money collected is not kept by the court, but is used to pay the bank that provides the service.

Contesting a Ticket


How to contest a ticket issued in Ramsey County
If you would like to talk to someone about your situation before paying your fine or if you want to enter a Not Guilty plea and have a trial, follow these steps:

Schedule an appointment with a Hearing Officer.  Confirm that the ticket has been filed with the Court by calling our automated payment line.  The number is (651) 281-3219.  If you are calling from outside the metro area, call 1-800-657-3611.  If you receive confirmation, press 9 to return to the Main Menu, then press 3 to schedule an appointment.

Appear before the Hearing Officer.  At the agreed-on date, time, and location, tell the court staff at the counter that you have an appointment. Bring photo identification such as a driver’s license, Minnesota ID, or a passport.  (A birth certificate is not an acceptable form of identification.)  When applicable to your case, bring the following:
 
  • Proof of insurance documentation for the vehicle, a letter from the insurance company, or a copy of the insurance policy.
  • The crash or collision report.
  • Color, photographic proof and receipts showing equipment violations have been corrected.
  • Photographic proof of front and back license plate violations have been corrected.
  • The actual disability permit, a photograph is not sufficient.
A juvenile offender (under 18 years at the date and time of the offense) needs to appear with a parent or legal guardian.
Someone other than the owner may meet with the Hearing Officer to address parking violations, if applicable.
Can I contest a ticket through the mail?
No, you must see a Hearing Officer in person.
What is a Hearing Officer?
A Hearing Officer is authorized by the Court to hear payable cases. The Hearing Officer can explain options you may have to settle the ticket other than paying the fine. Depending on the facts of your case and your violation history, some of the options they may be able to offer include:
 
  • a reduced fine amount;
  • a payment plan to pay the citation over time; and
  • a continuance for dismissal with payment of prosecution costs
Snow Emergency Rules

For Saint Paul

The City of Saint Paul follows a night plowing and day plowing format for snow emergencies. Specific information about these rules as well as snow emergency announcements are posted on the Snow Emergency page of the City of St. Paul website. For more information, visit their St. Paul Snow Emergency FAQ's page or call (651) 266-7569.
 

For other cities in Ramsey County

Other cities have different rules regarding snow emergencies. Many cities post their snow emergency rules on their own websites. A list of these sites is available through the City Websites page of Minnesota.gov.

Appearing in Court


Notification of your court date
If any of the offenses you are charged with requires a court appearance, the date, time, and location will be mailed to you at the address on the complaint. This is usually the address you've given the law enforcement officer at the time you were detained. It can take some time for the complaint to reach the court offices and be scheduled, especially if you were released pending further investigation. If, after two weeks, you don't receive notification of your court date, call (651) 266-1999 to inquire about the status of your charge and about the court date.
Rescheduling a court appearance
If there is a reason you can't appear at your scheduled court hearing you must either:
  • Contact your attorney if you have one and ask him or her to help you.
  • Contact the court at (651) 266-1999 if you don't have an attorney. You must contact the court as soon as you know you can't appear. Depending on the circumstances, a continuance may or may not be granted. There are specific policies about how far in advance you make the request and/or providing proof that you can't appear. The decision may be referred to the prosecutor or to the presiding judge.
What happens if I miss my court appearance?

There are several things that may happen.

  • An arrest warrant can be ordered
  • You may lose any bail or bond that you posted
  • The charge may be certified to your driving record
  • Your License to drive a motor vehicle may be suspended.
Applying for a Public Defender
If you are charged with an offense that may result in jail time, you can apply for a public defender.  Apply when you make your first appearance in court. You will need to fill out an application form to determine if you are eligible. Be sure to be on time for your court appearance—public defender applications forms are provided at the beginning of the court session.

Your Driving Record and Your License to Drive


Will this offense show up on my driving record?

If you plead guilty to an offense that is considered certifiable under MN Statute, the Court will notify Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services of the offense.  Payment in any amount is considered a plea of Guilty.

Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, and Cancellation

There are many reasons that a Driver's License may be suspended, revoked or cancelled. Control over your driving privileges rests with the Department of Public Safety. If you have questions about your license or about a suspension, call the Driver and Vehicle Services office: (651) 297-3298

Driver's License Reinstatement

If reinstatement depends on payment of a fine, do not assume that reinstatement is automatic.   You aren't reinstated until Driver and Vehicle Services tells you that you are.


Towing


If you think your vehicle was towed

If your vehicle was towed, it would be taken to an impound lot. Call the impound lot to verify that your vehicle is there and for information on how to retrieve it.
If your vehicle was towed as a result of a City of St. Paul snow emergency, check the Ticket, Towing, and Storage Fees page on the City of St. Paul web site for information on where it was towed and what to do.

  • If your vehicle was towed from any location in St. Paul for any situation other than a Snow Emergency, call (651) 266-5642.
  • If you were towed in any other city in Ramsey County for any reason, you must contact the law enforcement agency for that city to find out where the car was taken.
  • If you were towed by the Minnesota State Patrol, contact them directly.

Be prepared to tell them your vehicle license plate number.


Administrative Procedures for Unusual Situations


If you have a receipt for parking at a metered parking space

If you received a citation for expired meter and you have a receipt showing that the meter space* (space-marker number) was paid for at the time of the citation, provide your meter receipt and citation (or photocopies of each) to the Court for review. Contact the Court Payment Center at (651) 281-3219 five business days after providing the documentation to check on the status of your citation.  Outside the metro area, call 1-800-657-3611. To provide proof:

  • Mail it to: Ramsey District Court, Violations Bureau Room 130, 15 West Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102
  • Appear in person at one of the Court locations at the top of this page.

*Note: If you paid for the wrong meter space (space-marker number), you will need to schedule a Hearing Officer appointment to contest the citation

No Insurance or No Proof of Insurance

If your vehicle was insured at the time of the stop, provide proof of insurance before you pay the fine**.  Proof of insurance must cover the date of offense and the vehicle you were driving.  A bill or statement are not valid proof of insurance. If you were charged with anything else at the same time, you must also respond to those charges.  Submit your proof, along with a copy of the citation in one of the following ways:
 

  • Fax it to the Court Payment Center: (320) 231-6507.
  • Mail it to: Court Payment Center, P.O. Box 898, Willmar, MN 56201.
  • Appear in person at one of the Ramsey District Court Locations at the top of this page.

If you have any questions, call the Court Payment Center at (651) 281-3219.  Outside the metro area, call 1-800-657-3611.  If you're unable to show proof that your vehicle was insured, you must either pay the fine or make arrangements to speak with a Hearing Officer.
 

Late Notice on a car you do not own

If you sold the vehicle in question before the date of offense, contact the Minnesota Department of Vehicle Services (DVS) and supply what is known as a Report of Sale. Once you have taken this step, provide the court with documentation displaying the sale information.
Step One: Notify Driver and Vehicle Services.
DVS offers 2 ways of submitting the buyer information:
 

  • Online: Follow the instructions for submitting a Report of Sale. You'll find the instructions in the left-side navigation: under Online Services, click "more...”
  • Over the phone: (651) 297-2126. You may either supply the information to an automated attendant any time day or night, or, if you call between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, you may speak with a live agent.
Have all of the following information ready before you call or go online:
 
  • Your driver’s license number
  • The date of sale
  • The driver’s license number, name and address of the new owner
  • The license plate number of the vehicle
  • The last four numbers of the VIN, or Vehicle Identification Number

Step Two: Notify the Court
Provide the court with documentation showing the vehicle sale information. At minimum, this documentation needs to include your name, date of sale, vehicle information including plate number, make, model, and VIN.
Step Three: Confirm
Contact our office at (651) 266-1999 five business days after providing the documentation to check on the status of your citation(s).
Note:  Keep in mind that this process only covers tickets issued in Ramsey County.

Underage (Juvenile) Defendants

Under certain conditions, fines issued to underage defendants can be paid at the Violations Bureau or through the Court Payment Center.  State statutes and Minnesota Rules of Court determine juvenile charges and penalties. Contact the Court to determine what steps must be taken to address the violation.  Court staff will advise you if the case has been referred to Juvenile Court. Call (651) 281-3219.  Outside the metro area, call 1-800-657-3611
 

(651) 266-1999

Main Office:  15 W. Kellogg Blvd Room 130, St Paul, MN 55102
Law Enforcement Center:  425 Grove St, St Paul MN 55101

Suburban Court2050 White Bear Ave, Maplewood MN 55109


Overview of Criminal Traffic Court


Getting Information About a Case

For information about a case, call the Criminal and Traffic Court at (651) 266-1999.  If you would like to view or obtain a copy of a court document, call the Records Office at (651) 266-8237.  Be prepared to provide the case number or the defendant's name and the date of birth.
If you are calling about several different cases or if you want a complete record of offenses for an individual, you must come to the Law Enforcement Center or Suburban Court Office listed above or to  the Records Office in Room 72 of the Main Courthouse.   You will need to query the computer records on your own. Computers are set up with access to this information and instructions on how to use the computers are available.

Citations
If you received a citation (a ticket), you may be able to pay a fine without going to court.  If court is not required, you may still contest your citation.  If the any offense on the citation requires court, you must appear on the time, date, and location of your Summons.
Regarding Domestic Violence Cases
The Court has established a committee to establish guidelines for the prosecution of such cases. If you would like more information about their conclusions, consult the Guidelines and Procedures for Domestic Abuse-Related Criminal Cases.
The Department of Public Safety offers support and resources for victims of crime on their Crime Victim Support page.

Scheduling


When is my court date?
If your hearing is within the next 7 days, consult the Alpha Roster on our Calendar page to see when and where your court appearence is scheduled.  Use your browser's text search to quickly find your name.  If you are unable to find the case or if it is more than 7 days away, call our office at (651) 266-1999 for the information.
How the Court notifies you of your court date

If it's necessary to notify you of a first appearance or a change in a court date from a previously scheduled time, you will receive a notice in the mail. To avoid missing an appearance, keep the court informed of your correct mailing address.
Note: in certain circumstances, a complaint will be filed as an arrest warrant and no court date will be mailed. In such a case, you will need to turn yourself in. See the Warrants and Bail section on this page for more information.

Changing a scheduled court date

If you have an attorney, ask them to make the request. If you don’t have an attorney, contact the court at (651) 266-1999 for instructions.

What happens if you miss a court date

If you miss a court appearance, a warrant for your arrest may be ordered. For traffic offenses, the judge may order a warrant, suspension of your driver's license, and/or certification of the offense to your record. You may also lose any bail or bond you have posted. If you have already failed to appear, call the court at (651) 266-1999 to find out what happened.


Legal Representation


Applying for a public defender
If you are charged with an offense that may result in jail time, you can apply for a public defender.  Apply when you make your first appearance in court. You will need to fill out an application form to determine if you are eligible.  Be sure to be on time for your court appearance—public defender applications forms are provided at the beginning of the court session.
How do I contact my public defender?

If a public defender has already been appointed to represent you, visit the Public Defender website for contact information.  You will need to provide the name of the person you wish to contact.

Hiring an attorney

You may choose to hire an attorney.  For attorney referral, visit the Find a Lawyer help topic on this Judicial Branch web site.  There are also low-cost attorney services such as Criminal Defense Services, Inc. and the Neighborhood Justice Center.

Am I allowed to represent myself?

Yes, but keep in mind that you are required to know and follow all the rules of law and court procedure that an attorney would follow.
For more information, visit the Representing Yourself in Court help topic.


Appearing in Court


What to expect when you go to court

Court appearances are arranged in Sessions, in which several cases are scheduled at the same time.  A court session typically lasts half a day (morning or afternoon). It's important to be on time. In some court sessions, you or your attorney may have an opportunity to speak with the prosecutor before court begins.
If you plead Guilty, you may be sentenced immediately. In some situations, the judge may order an investigation prior to sentencing you. If this is ordered, you will need to follow the instructions you receive and reappear later for sentencing.

Pleading Not Guilty to a court-required offense

If you plead Not Guilty, your trial will be on another day and a court date will be scheduled. The next appearance is typically a hearing for you, the judge, the prosecutor, and your attorney (if you have one) to meet to discuss legal issues and the merits of the case. If the matter cannot be resolved at that time, a trial will be scheduled.

Why do I have to go to court instead of just paying a fine?
State statutes dictate which violations are payable and which ones require a court appearance.

Witnesses and Subpoenas


Obtaining a subpoena
If you have an attorney, have your attorney obtain and arrange for service of the subpoena. If you are representing yourself, contact the court at 651-266-1999 for assistance.
Do not use online subpoena forms without first getting instructions from the Court
If you have been served with a subpoena

Follow the instructions on the subpoena. You must appear on the date, time, and location specified, bring any documents named in the subpoena, and be prepared to testify under oath.

Attending court without a subpoena

If you are an interested party who hasn't been subpoenaed, and if the trial/hearing is not closed to the public, you may attend. If you have been subpoenaed to testify, there may be restrictions. You should contact the party who issued the subpoena. If there is a No Contact Order in effect, all of the terms of the Order still apply.


Paying Court-imposed Fines


How to pay a court-imposed fine
At this time, fines imposed by the Court in Ramsey County cannot be paid online or through our phone payment system.
  • Pay in person at one of the three locations listed above or
  • Mail your payment to the Minnesota Court Payment Center, P.O. Box 898, Wilmar, MN  56201.  Include your case number.  Do not mail cash.

If none of the offenses you are charged with requires a court appearance, you may go directly to Online Fine Payment.  For more information about your options, visit the Violation Bureau tab on this page.
If you are unable to pay
If you need more than 30 days to pay a Court-imposed fine, you may request an extension or make arrangements to pay on a schedule.  Call (651) 266-1999 to see what can be done.
What will happen if I don't pay the fine?
The debt may be referred to a collection agency, your driver's licence may be suspended, and/or you may be summoned back to court. If you have failed to pay a fine, call (651) 281-3219 or (800) 657-3611 (if you are outside the metro area) to find out what happened and what you need to do.

Warrants and Bail


Why do I have a warrant for my arrest?
The most common reasons for arrest warrants are failure to appear at a court hearing and violation of the terms of a sentence you received.  Call our office at (651) 266-1999 for specific information.
Getting more information about a warrant

Every warrant comes with terms on which you may be released. A bail amount may be specified, supervision may be ordered or the warrant may require that you remain in custody until your trial or until the terms of your release are reviewed at a hearing.
For information on the amount of bail and conditions of release, visit the Ramsey County Arrest Warrant Search or call the Warrant Office at (651) 266-9320.

How to handle an arrest warrant

For Ramsey County warrants, turn yourself in at the Law Enforcement Center, 425 Grove Street, St. Paul, MN  55101. Go to the Jail Entrance (open 24 hours) before 4:00 a.m. if you wish to be heard on the next available court calendar. You will be taken into custody, booked, and fingerprinted.  For more information, visit the Turning Yourself In page of the Ramsey County Sheriff's website.
If you are interested in contacting an inmate, picking them up upon their release, or posting their bail or bond, contact the Ramsey County Adult Detention Services Unit at (651) 266-9350.

Getting information about someone in custody in Ramsey County

If you are interested in contacting an inmate, picking them up upon their release, or posting their bail or bond, contact the Ramsey County Adult Detentions Services Unit at (651) 266-9350.

The difference between bail and bond
Bail is cash you post as a guarantee of your future appearances. Once the case is closed, your bail is either refunded to you or applied to any money owed.

Bond is a guarantee of your appearance offered by a bonding company. The bond is purchased by you or on your behalf from a bonding company and is not refunded or applied to any money owed.

Important: If you fail to appear for any scheduled hearing, you risk losing the entire bail or bond. The court may order that it be forfeited. If your bond is forfeited, the bondsman might keep any cash or property that you put up as a guarantee of your appearance.
Where can I get a bond?
The court isn't allowed to recommend any particular bonding company, but there is a Statewide List of Approved Bail Bond Agents.
How and when bail is returned
Once the case is resolved, bail is either refunded to the defendant or applied to any money owed.

Other Questions


How do I contact my Probation Officer?
Call the Ramsey County Probation Office at (651) 266-2300.
Where do I turn myself in to serve my sentence?
How do I get a No Contact Order dropped?
A Judge must sign a Cancellation of No Contact Order. Call the main office at the number above for instructions.

(651) 266-1999

Main Office:  15 W. Kellogg Blvd Room 130, St Paul, MN 55102

Expungement is the process of going to court to ask a judge to seal a court record.

MN Judicial Branch Help Topic: Criminal Expungement
   How do I expunge my criminal record?
   How do I get my criminal history?


​How/where do I file (petition) for expungement in Ramsey County?
Either bring the following documents to:
Room 130 of the City Hall/Courthouse
15 West Kellogg Blvd
Saint Paul, MN 55102

or mail them along with the appropriate fees.  Blank forms are available at this location or you can download them: More forms relating to Expungement are available, including the Agency Addresses for Proof of Service in Ramsey County, which contains information needed to complete your Proof of Service document.

Documents may be eFiled if you sign up for eFiling and the case meets certain requirements.  If you would like to eFile, call our office at the number above to see if your case qualifies.  As of July 1, 2016, the use of eFS is mandatory for attorneys, government agencies, and guardians ad litem, in all court cases filed in all 87 Minnesota counties.

Ramsey Court Criminal Expungement ClinicWhen:  2nd and 4th Thursday of the month (excluding holidays) at 1:00 p.m.

Where: Ramsey County Law Library. 18th Floor, Ramsey County Courthouse, 15 W Kellogg Blvd. Space is limited and on a first-come, first-served basis. Adults only.
Treatment CourtsThe specialty courts often known as Treatment Courts or Drug Courts have evolved into a complex of several different types of court-monitored programs focused on serving certain sectors of the population who may have specific issues navigating the Criminal Justice system.  The goal of these courts is alleviate the stresses on law enforcement, social services, and government by helping these individuals to break a cycle of arrest, conviction, release, and re-arrest.
The treatment courts offered in Ramsey County are part of a statewide network.  For more information about these courts statewide, visit the Treatment Courts page.
For a national perspective, visit the Drug Courts page of the National Institute of Justice.
 

Contact

Allison Holbrook, Treatment Courts Supervisor
(651) 266-8168
 
DWI Court

(651) 266-9277

The Ramsey County DWI Court is for persons charged with their third or more gross misdemeanor DWI offense or 1st degree felony DWI, non-presumptive commit to prison.  The court provides intensive supervision for persons who are interested in changing their drinking and driving behavior and ending their cycle in the criminal justice system. (For general information and for those not charged with a third or subsequent DWI, refer to the Criminal Court page)
 

Eligibility

  • 3 or more DWI's in a lifetime
  • Ramsey County resident
  • Gross Misdemeanor level charge or 1st Degree Felony – non presumptive commit to prison
  • Ramsey County arrest and charged
  • Diagnosis of substance dependence (substance or alcohol disorder moderate or higher)
  • No violent criminal history
  • Approval by the DWI Court team
  • Voluntary participation in the DWI Court Program

Goals

  • Increase the number of DWI offenders who become and remain alcohol and other drug free.
  • Reduce recidivism among DWI offenders thereby enhancing public safety.
  • Restore participants as law-abiding citizens.
Judge Mark Ireland and Judge Judith Tilsen preside over the DWI Court.  If you are interested in observing the court, hearings take place every Tuesday at 1:30 p.m. in courtroom 131B of the Ramsey County Courthouse.

For more information, contact:
Tanya Jones, Program Coordinator
(651) 266-9277
tanya.jones@courts.state.mn.us
or
Allison Holbrook, Treatment Courts Coordinators Supervisor
(651) 266-8168
Allison.Holbrook@courts.state.mn.us
 

Informational Matierials:

DWI Program Brochure
Participant Handbook (non-Felony)
Participant Handbook (Felony)
Minnesota DWI Courts: A Summary of Evaluation Findings in Nine DWI Court Programs
Mental Health Court

(651) 266-9256, fax: (651) 767-8940


Mission
The mission of the Ramsey County Mental Health Court (RCMHC) is to increase public safety by reducing recidivism among those whose criminal behaviors are attributable to mental illness.  Through court supervision and the coordination of mental health and other social services, the Court supports a psychiatrically stable and crime-free lifestyle among its participants.


Goals

The goals of RCMHC are to:
  • Reduce recidivism.
  • Improve public safety.
  • Reduce the costs of prosecution, incarceration, and hospitalization to taxpayers.
  • Improve defendants' access to public mental health and substance abuse treatment services and other community resources.
  • Enhance collaboration between criminal justice agencies and the mental health system to better serve those with mental illness.
  • Improve the quality of life of mentally ill defendants.
RCMHC meets its goals by directing eligible defendants with mental health disorders from the criminal justice system to community-based mental health, substance abuse and support services. Rather than the traditional pattern of focusing on the criminal activity of the defendant, the RCMHC focuses on addressing and treating the defendant’s mental health and chemical health needs.


Target Population

The target population of the RCMHC is adult Ramsey County residents who have been charged with a crime that is related to a serious mental illness.

Referral into the Mental Health Court Program

If you think your case is eligible for diversion into Mental Health Court or into one of the other problem-solving courts, contact the Problem Solving Courts Supervisor.
Allison Holbrook
(651) 266-8168

Eligibility

To be eligible for the Mental Health Court program an individual must be:
  • 18 years of age or older
  • Ramsey County resident (out-of-county considered on a case by case basis)
  • Charged with a Crime
  • Diagnosed with a significant mental illness
  • Legally competent
  • A person with no history of violent offenses
  • Willing to voluntarily participate and commit to the rigors of the court conditions and treatment plan

Program Requirements

The RCMHC program is a four-phase treatment process, lasting a minimum of one year and a maximum of three years. Each phase consists of specific requirements for advancement into the next phase and outlines the recovery support services delivery plan. Phase movement results upon accomplishing treatment goals as agreed in the treatment plan; court conditions as agreed at acceptance into the RCMHC program and specific phase requirements.
Participants who agree to be accepted into the RCMHC program are required to:
  • remain law abiding;
  • abstain from illegal or non-prescribed drugs;
  • submit to random drug and alcohol testing;
  • complete community service hours;
  • identify and maintain appropriate housing;
  • remain compliant with all medication and psychiatric appointments;
  • fully comply with mental health and chemical health treatment recommendations;
  • develop and sustain a long-term treatment plan;
  • participate in pro-social activities;
  • become involved with mental health and community support groups.
 

Current Operation

The Second Judicial District's Mental Health Court has been operational since May 2005 and developed based on the national problem-solving court model.  The Ramsey County Mental Health Court (RCMHC) was created when it became increasingly clear that persons with mental illness and co-occurring mental illness and substance abuse disorders were in need of more specialized and individualized jurisprudential approaches. 
The RCMHC directs eligible defendants with mental health disorders from the criminal justice system to community-based mental health, substance abuse and support services.  Between its inception in May of 2005 and December of 2014, the RCMHC has provided services to 472 individuals with serious mental illness who have been charged with criminal offenses in Ramsey County.
RCMHC is currently funded by the Minnesota Department of Human Services, Adult Mental Health, and two federal Bureau of Justice and Mental Health Expansion grants.  By partnering with Human Services, the RCMHC team includes two community human services case managers who link participants to available community mental and chemical health services. This approach has demonstrated results by changing lives, lowering incarceration rates and reducing recidivism.  To maintain adequate resources, the Court relies heavily on pro bono services.
At present, the state of Minnesota has three operational mental health courts and 39 operational drug courts.  There are more than 400 mental health courts across the country with many additional courts in the planning phase.
 

National Learning Site

The U.S. Department of Justice’s Bureau of Justice Assistance and the Council of State Governments Justice Center selected Ramsey County Mental Health Court (RCMHC) as a National Learning Site (more commonly known as “mentor courts”). According to the national reviewing team, RCMHC was chosen not just for programmatic successes, but also for the ability to provide insight and guidance to other jurisdictions interested in starting or expanding a mental health court.

Accomplishments and Impact

The accomplishments of the RCMHC include connecting defendants to mental and chemical health services; reducing the incidences of criminal behavior; reducing the costs to the criminal justice system, corrections, public safety, and hospitals; enhancing the collaboration between the courts and the mental health community; improving the quality of life of defendants upon discharge (i.e., housing and treatment services in place); and assisting defendants with establishing more productive lives including self-sufficiency and self-confidence. Through the coercive authority and monitoring of the RCMHC as well as collaboration with the community, defendant’s mental illness and environmental factors drastically improve. The proven outcome is that people learn to engage in services, and when they have their next mental health crisis, instead of defaulting to the police on the street they default to the treatment system. 
The impact of RCMHC has been significant. RCMHC has a proven record of success in changing lives, lowering incarceration rates, reducing recidivism, and improving medication compliance thereby increasing public safety and decreasing criminal justice and court expenses across the board. Evaluation and outcome data reveals that RCMHC graduates are less likely to be charged with a new offense, less likely to be convicted of a new offense, and less likely to spend time in jail than those in a comparison group of similarly situated offenders who did not participate in RCMHC.  

 

Team

The Honorable Mark R. Ireland and Judith M. Tilsen lead RCMHC.  The judges supervise participant progress through the RCMHC continuum based on regular hearings, team input, and participant behavior.  They also lead the RCMHC team in decision-making and hold participants accountable for their progress by use of sanctions and incentives.  Marc Hedman is the Program Coordinator for the Ramsey County Mental Health Court.


Volunteer and Internship Opportunities

The Court would like to thank everyone who is interested in volunteering or interning with RCMHC.

Graduate Clinical Placements:

In addition to the information in our graduate school posting, all students need to apply and be screened by Volunteer Services before RCMHC can move forward with interviews.  Students who are interested in the RCMHC internship need to complete an online application for the internship, found on the Ramsey County Home Page. 
Please note:
  • Academic year placement (September - May).  Minimum of 400 hours.
  • Summer block placement (June - August).  Minimum of 400 hours.

Program Interns and Project Volunteers:

All non-clinical applicants should complete the Application For Internship and return it with a current resume to marc.hedman@courts.state.mn.us.
  • Program Interns:  There is a minimum of 150 hours required for Program Interns.
  • Project Volunteers: Should also submit hours required with the application.
If selected for an interview, be prepared with the following information:
  • Skills, training or experience that you bring to RCMHC
  • What interests or goals you hope to pursue through an internship
  • Program requirements (i.e. required hours if seeking educational credits)
  • Type of supervision needed
  • A proposed final project (i.e., publishing an editorial article, organizing mental health education at your school, speaking for a community organization, etc.)
  • A brief description of how you think your work would fit into our program in the areas of education, individual advocacy, and mental health advocacy.

Program Materials

RCMHC Program Brochure (2016)
RCMHC Participant Handbook (2016)
RCMHC One Page Fact Sheet (2016)
Volunteer Opportunities (2015)
Program Information (2015)


Video

2014 Minnesota CLE Criminal Law Webcast Ramsey County Mental Health Court: Working with the Mentally Ill Defendant.
2010 Ramsey County Mental Health Court on the public access television show One and the Same on the Suburban Community Channels SCC.
 

Trainings with Links

Minnesota CLE - May 27, 2014: Criminal Law Series Live Webcast 
CLE - MAY 23, 2012: Working with the Mentally Ill Defendant
Back to top

Press and Publications

MN Judicial Branch: Ramsey County Mental Health Court Named a 2015-2016 National Criminal Justice/Mental Health Collaboration Learning Site (August 19, 2015)
William Mitchell Law Review:  Ramsey County Mental Health Court:  Working with Community Partners to Improve the Lives of Mentally Ill Defendants, Reduce Recidivism, and Enhance Public Safety (May 2015) 
Minnesota Lawyer: Judge: Mental health court needs new money (March 16, 2015)
Minnesota Lawyer: Briggs attorneys receive MJF recognition (October 28, 2013)
Minnesota Lawyer: Mental Health Court decreases recidivism (August 19, 2013)
News Release:  RCMHC Reduces Recidivism (July 2013)
2010-2012 RCMHC Report
Ramsey County Bar Association:  Barrister Article (April 2011)  
2009 RCMHC Report


Awards

2014 Minnesota Lawyer Unsung Legal Hero Award: Brandi Stavlo
2013 Minnesota Justice Foundation Private Practice Award: Alan Maclin, W. Knapp Fitzsimmons, Michael Wilhelm, and Ankoor Bagchi, Briggs and Morgan, PA 
2013 Minnesota Justice Foundation Law Student Award: Suzula Bidon, RCMHC Student Certified Attorney
2009 Ramsey County Bar Association Outstanding Pro Bono Attorney: Warren Maas, RCMHC Pro Bono Attorney

Contact

Please contact the Treatment Courts Supervisor for additional information:
Allison Holbrook
(651) 266-8168
Allison.Holbrook@courts.state.mn.us

Substance Abuse Court

(651) 266-9256, fax: (651) 767-8940

Ramsey County Substance Abuse Court (ASAC) started in October 2002. ASAC is designed to provide individuals the opportunity to improve their lives and break the cycle of substance abuse. The court uses assessment, treatment (chemical and mental health), strict supervision, random drug and breath testing, regular court hearings and immediate sanctions and incentives to help participants maintain a drug free lifestyle. The program represents a closer working relationship between criminal justice partners (judge, prosecutor, defense attorneys, case managers, and treatment providers) than is traditionally seen in criminal courts. ASAC serves approximately 55 participants in any given day.
 

Mission

Ramsey County Substance Abuse Court’s mission is to enhance public safety by reducing criminal activity and assist substance abusers to become drug/alcohol free, productive, and law-abiding citizens.
 

Goals

  • Reduce criminal recidivism among chemically addicted offenders
  • Increase the number of offenders who remain drug and alcohol free
  • Increase the benefit and reduce the cost to the County for providing services to chemically addicted offenders
  • Create a response to substance abuse issues among all agencies in Ramsey County

Referral into the ASAC Program

If you think your case is eligible for diversion into Adult Substance Abuse Court or into one of the other problem-solving courts, contact the Treatment Court Supervisor.
Allison Holbrook
(651) 266-8168

Eligibility

  • Adult Ramsey County resident
  • Charged with a non-violent Felony offense
  • Substance abuse/dependency diagnosis and a need for treatment
  • Willingness to participate

Program Requirements

The program is a minimum of 12 months in length and divided into three phases, each minimally four months in length. Movement through phases is based on accomplishment of general phase requirements as well as specific case plan goals. Program components include (but not limited to) chemical dependency assessment, treatment, and aftercare, assessment for participation in other programming (cognitive learning groups, mental health interventions), random alcohol and drug testing, regular court appearances, case management meetings, attendance of community support groups, obtain employment or pursue education, participate in pro-social activities, pay restitution and program fees. A formal graduation ceremony will be held to celebrate completion of the program.

Psychiatric Court Clinic (PCC)

The Psychiatric Court Clinic was developed for persons who suffer from co-occurring disorders (substance abuse and mental health) to bridge the gap between immediate intervention and community resources. The PCC provides screening and assessment, case planning, medication management and referral to community-based mental health agencies. Participants are eligible to receive services regardless of their insurance status. The PCC is staffed by a psychiatrist and psychiatric nurse on a weekly basis. Participants meet with the doctor and nurse during court sessions for case review and medication checks.

Accomplishments and Impact

Ramsey County Adult Substance Abuse Court has a proven record of success of changing lives, reducing recidivism and lowering incarceration rates. Evaluation and outcome data reveal that ASAC graduates are less likely to commit a new offense, less likely to be convicted of a new offense, and less likely to spend time in jail than those in a comparison group. Mothers have given birth to 28 drug free babies while in the program. Graduates experienced a 44% reduction in their LSI-R scores (Level of Risk and Services) from program entry to exit.

Team

The Honorable Mark R. Ireland and Judith M. Tilsen lead ASAC.  The judges supervise participant progress through the RCMHC continuum based on regular hearings, team input, and participant behavior.  They also lead the ASAC team in decision-making and hold participants accountable for their progress by use of sanctions and incentives.  Marc Hedman is the Program Coordinator for the Adult Substance Abuse Court (ASAC) in St. Paul, Minnesota.
 

Awards

In 2010, the Ramsey County Substance Abuse Court was selected to serve a three-year term by the National Drug Court Institute as one of ten Adult Mentor Courts in the United States. In March 2013, the Ramsey County Substance Abuse Court was again selected for a three-year term by the National Drug Court Institute as one of ten Adult Mentor Courts in the United States.
On June 2, 2012 Judge Joanne Smith was inducted into The Stanley M. Goldstein Drug Court Hall of Fame at the National Association of Drug Court Professionals Conference in Nashville, TN. This is the highest achievement given to drug court professionals with only 22 inductees since 2002.
ASAC Prosecutor, Kim Bingham, won the Metro Area Prosecutor Award at the MADD Statewide Recognition Ceremony in March 2012.

Program Materials

Program Brochure 
Program Overview  
Participant Handbook

Contact

Please contact the Treatment Courts Supervisor for additional information:
Allison Holbrook
(651) 266-8168
Allison.Holbrook@courts.state.mn.us

Veterans Treatment Court

(651) 266-8168

The Ramsey County Veterans Treatment Court is a voluntary court program for eligible veterans who have been charged with a crime in Ramsey County. The mission of the Veterans Treatment Court is to promote public safety through enhanced supervision and individual accountability. The purpose of the program is to assist and support veterans by creating a coordinated response through collaboration with the VA, community-based services, and the criminal justice system.

 

Contact

Tanya Jones, Veterans Court Coordinator
(651) 266-9277

Ramsey County Veterans Court Program

(651) 266-1999

Main Office:  15 W. Kellogg Blvd Room 72, St Paul, MN 55102
Public Computers and Counter staff are available at these locations:
Law Enforcement Center:  425 Grove St, St Paul MN 55101
Suburban Court:  2050 White Bear Ave, Maplewood MN 55109

For case information, call the Criminal & Traffic Office at (651) 266-1999.
To obtain copies, call the Records Office at (651) 266-8237


Access to Records


Getting Case Information
For records after 1992, you can search online, or you can go to any Minnesota District Court office and use the public computer terminals.  The public terminals contain a more complete record than what is available online.
Viewing documents
Documents are not available online.
To view documents filed after 1997: go to any Minnesota District Court office and use the public computer terminals
To view document filed before 1997: come to our Main Courthouse location at the address above.
Online availability of information

Only public non-confidential records can be viewed online.  For criminal cases, only records that are considered post-disposition are available through a name search.  Document images are not available online.

What is a disposition?
For criminal and traffic cases, dismissal, acquittal, or determination of guilt (by plea, by jury, or by the Court). 
Viewing older records
If you wish to view a record that is very old, we suggest that you call our office at the number above and inquire before coming in.

Printed Copies & Fees


Certified copies, exemplified copies, and plain copies
A certified copy of a court document or record has been signed by a court clerk and embossed with the state seal while a plain copy has not.  Some offices require certification as protection against fraud.  An exemplified copy contains additional signatures by the Court Administrator and a judge.  Courts sometimes require exemplification to admit a copy into evidence.  Check the Fee Schedule for the cost of certified, exemplified and plain (non-certified) copies. 
If a certified or exemplified document is stapled, does removing the staple invalidate it?
Yes. Many agencies and courts may consider it tampering.  If submitted as evidence in a court hearing, it may be challenged.
How copy fees are calculated
There is a single fee per case document, but the fee may be larger for documents of fifty pages or more.  Check the Fee Schedule to confirm the amount.
How do I get a copy of my case for employment/rental purposes?
Come to our office and print out the documents at one of our public computers.  There is a fee.   Most agencies only require a Register of Actions, Sentencing Order, and Plea Petition.
Records required for immigration purposes
If you need records for immigration purposes, come to Room 72 of the City Hall Courthouse and ask for a Criminal History Record Search.   The clerks are familiar with the process and can compile the necessary records. There is no fee, but you will need to show a government-issued photo ID and a written request on the agency letterhead of the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service, formerly known as the INS.

Confidentiality


Why is the case I'm looking for not available online?
It may be sealed, filed in a different court (such as Appellate Court or Federal Court) or it may may not be resolved (disposed).  Cases that have not been resolved will not show up online unless you provide the District Court case number.  If you don't have the case number, you can view the information on the public computers at Minnesota District Court offices.
My case was dismissed. Why does it still show up on my record?
Dismissed cases are still part of the official record.  If you seek to have the record removed (expunged), visit the Expungement tab of this page for more specific information.

Record Retention


How far back do your records go?
As far as 1937 for certain cases, but will vary depending on the date and type of record.  Online access extends to 1991.  If you have a question about whether we have a specific record, call our office at the number above.
Where are the older records?
At the Minnesota State Historical Society.
Specifically, what case information do you keep?
Criminal and traffic cases filed in Ramsey County, parking tickets, traffic violations, petty misdemeanors, misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors and felonies.  We do not keep Juvenile records, Appellate Court records (unless the case started in our court), and we do not keep records of Federal cases.
How long do you keep case information?
It depends on the age of the record and the level of offense.  If you have a question about a specific record, call our office at the number above.

(651) 266-1999

(For fine payment, call (651) 281-3219. Outside the metro area, call 1-800-657-3611.)
Suburban Court:
2050 White Bear Ave
Maplewood, MN 55109

Ramsey County Suburban Court handles criminal and traffic cases charged in the fifteen cities of suburban Ramsey County as well as the State Fair grounds. To do this, the Suburban Court works with nine Suburban law enforcement agencies, the Ramsey County Sheriff, and the Minnesota State Patrol.

The cases heard in the Suburban Court (often referred to as Maplewood Court or Maplewood Branch because of the city of location) include all petty misdemeanor, misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor charges. Court calendars heard in the Suburban Branch include arraignments, pre-trials, court trials and the first day of jury trials.

Fines from any offense filed in the Second District can be paid at the cashier window. Administrative Hearing Officers are available to hear any case filed in the Second District that does not require an appearance in court.

If you need to contact a prosecutor or the the police agency involved in a specific charge, here is a breakdown by city of police agencies and prosecuting attorneys.

CITY, POLICE AGENCY, PROSECUTOR
Arden Hills, Ramsey County SheriffKevin Beck
Falcon Heights, Ramsey County Sheriff, Katrina Joseph
Gem Lake, White Bear Lake PoliceRobb Olson
Lauderdale, St. Anthony PoliceKatrina Joseph
Little Canada, Ramsey County SheriffKevin Beck
Maplewood, Maplewood Police, Kevin Beck
Mounds View, Mounds View Police, Katrina Joseph
New Brighton, New Brighton PoliceRobb Olson
North St. Paul, North St. Paul PoliceCaroline Beckman
North Oaks, Ramsey County SheriffKevin Beck
Roseville, Roseville PoliceCaroline Beckman
State Fair, State Fair Police, Thomas Hughes
Shoreview, Ramsey County SheriffKevin Beck
Vadnais Heights, Ramsey County SheriffCaroline Beckman
White Bear Lake, White Bear Lake PoliceRobb Olson
White Bear Township, Ramsey County SheriffCaroline Beckman