Mn Judicial Branch Logo
Find Court
    
   

Home > Court Administration > Lawyer Registration >

Paying Lawyer Registration Fees and Late Penalties

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering continuing legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund legal services programs, and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer and each judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an annual registration fee.

 

LAWYER REGISTRATION STATEMENTS

Lawyer registration statements are generated quarterly, and the due date of each Lawyer’s registration fee is based alphabetically on the lawyer’s last name.

Approximately six weeks prior to the due date, registration statements are mailed or an email notification is sent to attorneys who have elected to pay online.

Note: Even if a lawyer has changed their last name, the renewal period remains unchanged.


Alphabetical Group


Fee Due Date

A thru E

January 1st

F thru K

April 1st

L thru P

July 1st

Q thru Z

October 1st

If you have any questions on when your fee is due or if you have any past due fees, please contact our office at the contact information.

REGISTRATION STATUSES AND FEES

 

 ACTIVE STATUSES Effective
10/1/09
Effective
10/1/10
Effective
7/1/13
       
Practicing $317 $329 $254
   With Yearly Gross Income Less Than $25,000 $280.50 $292.50 $226
       
Admitted to Practice Less than 3 Years $140 $152 $120
   With Yearly Gross Income Less Than $25,000 $122 $134 $106
       
Full-time Military Duty in U.S. Armed Forces $0 $0 $0
    With Yearly Gross Income Less Than $25,000  $0 $0 $0

 

 INACTIVE STATUSES

 

Effective
10/1/09

 

Effective
10/1/10

 

Effective
7/1/13

       
Resident not Practicing in Minnesota $260 $272 $211
   With Yearly Gross Income Less Than $25,000 $223.50 $235.50 $183
       
Out-of-State – not Practicing in Minnesota $260 $272 $211
   With Yearly Gross Income Less Than $25,000 $223.50 $235.50 $183
       
 Retired Status – Fee Exempt  $0  $0 $0
 Disabled Status – Fee Exempt $0  $0 $0
       
Late Penalty for failure to pay the
required registration fee by the due date
$75  $75 $75

View Supreme Court order dated March 2, 2011, amending registration fees

View Supreme Court order dated November 4, 2009, amending registration fees.

View Supreme Court order dated July 15, 2009, extending $12 fee reduction.

View Supreme Court order dated July 28, 2008, amending registration fees.

PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO SUBMIT REGISTRATON FEE - NON-PAYMENT SUSPENSION STATUS

A lawyer or judge who fails to submit the requred registration fee by the due date is placed on a non-payment suspension status, and the right to practice law in this state is automatically suspended. 


REINSTATEMENT FROM NON-PAYMENT SUSPENSION STATUS

A lawyer or judge who is on a non-payment suspension status, who seeks to be reinstated, must pay all delinquent registration fees plus a late penalty of $75.00.

BLANK LAWYER REGISTRATION STATEMENT

If you have not received a registration statement AND your fee is due within the next six weeks, the blank registration statement below can be printed, filled out appropriately and mailed with your payment.  Do not use this blank registration statement if you have past due fees.  If you have any questions on when your fee is due or if you have any past due fees, please contact our office at 651/296-2254.


PLEASE REMEMBER TO INCLUDE YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, AND LAWYER ID NUMBER ON THE FRONT PAGE OF THE STATEMENT.  IF THIS INFORMATION IS NOT FILLED IN ON THE STATEMENT, THE STATEMENT AND CHECK WILL BE RETURNED TO THE ADDRESS ON THE CHECK.

Click here to print a blank registration statement in pdf   


Payment of Fees

The Lawyer Registration office offers two methods to pay lawyer registration fees:

ONLINE

Effective with the October 1, 2010, registration deadline, lawyers and judges now have the option of registering and paying their registration fees online.  

To access the payment system, click the Online Lawyer Registration button on the menu located on the left side of the screen.   

BY MAIL

Registration fees paid by mail must be submitted to our office with a completed, signed registration statement. Any registration statement not fully completed and signed will be sent back to the lawyer for completion.

Registration fees paid by mail must be received by the Due Date to be considered timely. Any statements received after the Due Date will not be processed resulting in automatic suspension of the license, and the registration statement and payment will be returned to the lawyer for the additional $75 late penalty.

Fees may be paid by check, money order or the exact amount of cash.

Please make checks payable to the Minnesota Supreme Court.

Please note our office does not offer payments by phone or a bank's bill pay service.  We also do not accept foreign money orders.


To confirm that a payment has been processed, please use our Search Lawyer Registration Database to search for lawyer's record and look for the Last Payment field.


Past-Due / Non-Payment Suspension Statements

Past-due statements are generated and mailed to lawyers who have not paid the license fee by the due date.  A late penalty of $75 will be assessed and must be paid in order to remove the non-payment suspension. 

The non-payment suspension will be removed from a license once the fee has been paid online or a completed, signed statement and payment including the late penalty are received in our office. 

If a lawyer receives a past-due statement and believes the registration fee has already been paid, the online Lawyer Registration Database records include a “Last Payment” field that indicates when a lawyer’s last payment was received and processed.  It is advised to look at this record for confirmation of a payment before calling the Lawyer Registration Office