10th District  


Judicial Branch Home > Tenth Judicial District Home > Chisago County >

Jury Information

Court Administration - 651-213-8650


To be qualified to serve as a juror in the State of Minnesota, a prospective juror must be:

1. A citizen of the United States
2. At least 18 years old
3. A resident of the county
4. Able to communicate in the English language
5. Be physically and mentally capable of rendering satisfactory jury service
6. A person who has had their civil rights restored if they have been convicted of a felony
7. A person who has not served as a state of federal grand or petit juror in the past two years within the State of Minnesota

Jurors maybe permanently excused for the following reasons only:

1. A person age 70 or over who requests to be excused
2. A person who medically cannot serve with a doctor's statement verifying a permanent illness

A juror may request a one time postponement for up to one year.  This request must be in writing.

If you fail to report for jury duty under Minnesota Law you may be charged with a misdemeanor offense. A misdemeanor offense is punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and/or 90 days in jail.

Juror Instructions

Even though you are summoned for one month as needed, we set our jury trials for the first two or three weeks of the month.  During that time period you are asked to call in each day after 6 pm to the jury voice mail (the call in number is provided to you on your summons).  The recorded message will either identify jurors that need to report or tell you when to call back.  If something comes up after the two or three week period, Court Administration will contact jurors for availability.

Juror Hours

Normal hours for our trials are 9 am - 4:30 pm.   The first day of service you will normally be brought in between 8-8:30 am to receive the orientation program.  There is usually a one to one and a half hour break for lunch.  There is a small refrigerator in the jury assembly room for your use.  Jurors brought in to begin a trial will be required to stay until the jury panel is selected and the judge releases you. 

Juror Pay and Child Care Reimbursement

Jurors are paid $10 a day plus round trip mileage from their home.  Your employer is not legally obligated to pay your wages when serving on jury duty.  They are legally obligated, however to allow you time off work when you are required to serve.

Jurors not employed outside the home may be reimbursed for child care expenses as a result of jury service.  Jurors who are employed outside the home are not entitled to childcare reimbursement unless the expense, as a result of jury service is greater than normal.  Only the additional cost will be reimbursed.  Reimbursement claim forms can be picked up at Court Administration or will be supplied the first day you come in.

Courtroom Decorum

Casual or comfortable dress is acceptable.  Jurors are not allowed to wear hats, smoke, drink beverages, chew gum or use other tobacco products in the courtroom.  Books, newspapers, etc. may be brought to the court house but must be left in the jury assembly room.  Laptop computers, cell phones and pagers are not allowed in the court rooms.

For additional Jury Information, please click here.