8th District  

Chippewa County
In this section:


Judicial Branch Home > Eighth Judicial District Home > Court Administration > Chippewa County >

Chippewa County History

Chippewa County

Chippewa County has a population of approximately 13,000 people. It is located 120miles west of Minneapolis on Highway 7 in west central Minnesota. The Minnesota River is one of its borders.

Montevideo, population of 5500, is the county seat. It is located on the banks of the Minnesota and Chippewa rivers and is surrounded by spectacular bluffs. During the 1700s Europeans established a fur-trading post near the rivers and traded with area Native Americans. After the city was platted, Montevideo became an agricultural center.

Montevideo’s sister city is Montevideo, Uruguay. In 1949 a statue of Jose Artigas, Uruguay’s leader of independence, was given as a gift to the Minnesota community from the Uruguayan citizens and is located in downtown Montevideo. Each year Montevideo celebrates Fiesta Days in honor of its association with its sister city .

Other cities in Chippewa County include Clara City, Maynard, Gluek, Watson, Milan, part of Granite Falls, and Big Bend.