8th District  

Traverse County
In this section:


Judicial Branch Home > Eighth Judicial District Home > Court Administration > Traverse County >

Traverse County History

Traverse County

702 2nd Avenue North
PO Box 867
Wheaton, MN  56296
(320) 422-7760

Traverse County, with an area of 568 square miles, is located in the west central part of Minnesota, sharing a common border with both North Dakota and South Dakota. Formal organization of the county government took place in 1881 with the county seat being in Browns Valley. In the following several years, 15 townships were established. Wheaton became the county seat in 1886. Agriculture is the economic base of the county, with agriculture service and small manufacturing also being important aspects of the economic life of the county. Presently, Traverse County is estimated to have a population of 4,300, with over half of the people living in Wheaton or Browns Valley.