4th District  

Courthouse Contact Us
4th District Criminal Court
Hennepin County Govt. Ctr.
300 South 6th Street, C-11
Minneapolis, MN 55487
Phone: (612)348-2040
Email: Email the Criminal Division
Email Request for a Continuance
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday
Closed holidays
right arrow

Going to Court
parking, maps, transit, more...

ADA Accommodation & Accessibility ADA Accommodation
& Accessibility



Meet the
Criminal Court




Judicial Branch Home > 4th District Home > Court Administration > Criminal & Traffic Court >

About Criminal Court

The 4th District Criminal Division handles cases in two locations in downtown Minneapolis, and three in the suburbs  (Brooklyn Center, Edina, and Minnetonka). The Criminal Division includes problem-solving and specialty courts focused on one case type such as DWI, drug offenses, domestic violence, and community-related offenses, as well as a court focused on military veterans.

PUBLIC NOTICE: Effective July 1, 2015, eFiling and eService will be mandatory for all case types for attorneys, government agencies, and guardians ad litem in Hennepin County and the other 10 eCourtMN pilot counties (Cass, Clay, Cook, Dakota, Faribault, Kandiyohi, Lake, Morrison, Ramsey, and Washington). This requirement is part of recent amendments to the Minnesota Rules of Court, enacted by a Minnesota Supreme Court order issued on April 23, 2015. The amendments were adopted after an extensive process to update the Minnesota Rules of Court to accommodate electronic filing and service in the district courts. For more information on eFiling and eService, check out our eFile and eServe website.

Courts in downtown Minneapolis

The two downtown court locations handle all felony charges issued in Hennepin County. They also handle all misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor criminal and traffic charges issued in Minneapolis, St. Anthony (area in Hennepin County), Three Rivers Park District (area in Hennepin County), and Fort Snelling Unorganized Territory.

Hennepin County Govt. Ctr. Hennepin Co. Public Safety Facility
Division 1
Hennepin County Government Center

300 South 6th Street
Skyway Level
Minneapolis, MN 55487 [map]
Division 1
Hennepin County Public Safety Facility

401 4th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55415 [map]

Suburban courts

The three suburban courts are responsible for processing all non-felony traffic and criminal cases for the cities in their jurisdictions. They also process all traffic violation tickets, respond to public questions on criminal matters, and provide a hearing officer who conducts hearings on traffic and petty misdemeanor matters. Other types of cases, such as civil, family law, small claims, etc., are not filed in the suburban courts, but are handled in other Court Divisions.

Criminal justice partners who want to view Suburban Court assignments can refer to the following calendars:



Brookdale Court

Division 2

6125 Shingle Creek Parkway
Brooklyn Center, MN 55430

Serves these municipalities:
Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Champlin, Corcoran, Crystal, Greenfield, New Hope, Osseo, Robbinsdale, Rogers, as well as parts of Dayton, Hanover, and Rockford in Hennepin County.

Ridgedale Courthouse Division 3

12601 Ridgedale Drive
Minnetonka, MN 55305 [map]

Serves these municipalities:
Deephaven, Eden Prairie, Excelsior, Golden Valley, Greenwood, Hopkins, Independence, Lake Minnetonka Conservation District (LMCD), Long Lake, Loretto, Maple Grove, Maple Plain, Medicine Lake, Medina, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, Minnetrista, Mound, Orono, Plymouth, Shorewood, Spring Park, St. Bonifacius, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, and Woodland.

Southdale Courthouse Division 4

7009 York Ave. S.
Edina, MN 55435 [map]

Serves these municipalities:
Bloomington, Edina, Richfield, St. Louis Park, and the Metropolitan Airport Commission (Minneapolis/St.Paul International Airport).


« Back to Criminal Courts Home

« Back to 4th District Court Home