8th District  

Swift County
In this section:


Judicial Branch Home > Eighth Judicial District Home > Court Administration > Swift County >

Swift County History


Swift County is located in West Central Minnesota, consisting of 757 sq. miles. It was organized on February 18, 1870 and named in honor of Henry Swift, Governor of Minnesota in 1863. The 1996 population was 11,142. The Swift County Courthouse was built in 1897 and was declared a national historic site in 1976. Swift County is primarily an agricultural community and is centrally located within Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District with 1 chambered Judge.

The City of Benson is the County seat of Swift County, Minnesota. State Highways 12, 29 and 9 intersect within the City of Benson. The railroad tracks run through the center of town and divide the downtown business district with parks on each side of the tracks.

The City of Appleton is located in the Southwest corner of Swift County. Prairie Correctional Facility in Appleton is a privately owned 1500 bed prison facility.