PRO SE UNEMPLOYMENT APPEAL PACKET

The purpose of this packet is to help unemployment-benefits applicants file an appeal without an attorney. Staff from the clerk of the appellate courts office can answer basic questions, but they cannot fill out the forms or give legal advice.

There are three parts to this packet: (1) an explanation of the appeal process; (2) a checklist; and (3) forms you need for the appeal.

PRO SE UNEMPLOYMENT APPEAL PACKET EXPLANATION

We have received your communication telling us that you wish to appeal a final decision of the unemployment law judge (ULJ) regarding your claim for unemployment benefits. The ULJ's order ruling on a request for reconsideration is the final decision. You cannot appeal the ULJ's initial decision unless a timely request for reconsideration was made.

If you are or will be represented by an attorney, please give him or her this material.

If you will be handling the appeal yourself, please read this material carefully. It includes copies of the forms you need.

THE PARTIES

You, as the appealing party, are called the "relator." The other parties are called the "respondents." The respondents are:

(1) The employer (if any), and

(2) The Department of Employment and Economic Development (the department).

MINNESOTA RULES OF CIVIL APPELLATE PROCEDURE

These rules apply to all appeals. While we have given you a simplified version of what you need to do, you can read the rules yourself for more information. You can find these rules at the Minnesota State Law Library, Room G25, Minnesota Judicial Center, 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 (651-296-2775), at public libraries, or at the state court web site at <u>www.courts.state.mn.us</u>

Here is more information about some of the terms we use.

FILING

"Filing" means giving documents to this office (the clerk of appellate courts). You may file documents by hand-delivering them to this office or by placing the documents in the United States mail, first-class postage prepaid, within the time required to file the document. If you do not file the petition for the writ of certiorari within 33 days after the ULJ's decision on reconsideration was mailed, or within 30 days after the decision was sent to you by electronic transmission, your appeal will be dismissed.

SERVICE

You must give a copy of all appeal papers to all respondents either personally or by mail. This is called "service." Service by mail is made by depositing the papers in the United States mail, first-class postage prepaid, within the appeal period. If you decide to have the papers served personally, this may be done by the sheriff or another person 18 years or older who is not a party to the appeal. Because you are a party to the appeal, **you may not personally serve the papers yourself on a respondent who does not have an attorney. If a respondent has an attorney, you may personally serve the attorney. The petition for the writ of certiorari must be served on either the ULJ or the Commissioner of Employment and Economic Development, as well as on the employer.**

If you do not serve the petition for the writ of certiorari on all of the respondents within 33 days after the ULJ's decision was mailed, or within 30 days after the decision was sent to you by electronic transmission, your appeal will be dismissed.

TIME PERIODS

You have 30 days to appeal from the time the review judge's decision on reconsideration was sent to you. If the ULJ's decision was mailed to you, you have an extra three days to appeal. If the ULJ's decision was sent to you by electronic transmission, then you do not get the extra three days for mailing.

To figure out when the period of time to file and serve a document ends, apply the following rules. When you start counting the days, do not count the day that the event occurred that started the time period, but start counting the next day. For example, if the decision was mailed to you, the day after the ULJ's decision was mailed to you is the first day of your 33-day appeal period. If the decision was sent by electronic transmission, the day after the decision was transmitted is the first day of the 30-day appeal period. Continue counting calendar days. Do not skip weekends or legal holidays, UNLESS the last day of the period falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. Then the deadline is the next business day.

Legal holidays for the appellate courts are New Year's Day (January 1); Martin Luther King, Jr.'s birthday (the third Monday in January); President's Day (the third Monday in February); Memorial Day (the last Monday in May); Independence Day (July 4); Labor Day (the first Monday in September); Veteran's Day (November 11); Thanksgiving Day (the fourth Thursday in November); the Friday after Thanksgiving; and Christmas Day (December 25).

Christopher Columbus Day, which falls on the second Monday in October, is NOT a legal holiday for the Minnesota appellate courts. If the last day of the period falls on Christopher Columbus Day, the period is NOT extended until the next day.

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE

You must file proof with this office that you have served the appeal papers and briefs on respondents. This can be done by filing a completed affidavit of service. (See the attached form.) You must complete this form and have it notarized. This office can notarize the affidavit at no charge. Most banks also have a notary who can do this for a small fee. An affidavit is required for *every* document you file with the court, to prove that you have given copies to all the other respondents. You may file one affidavit listing multiple documents if you serve those documents on the same date and on the same parties. We have given you only one copy of this form, so you may need to make extra copies.

FILING FEES AND COST BONDS

As an applicant appealing the denial of unemployment benefits, you do not have to pay a filing fee or provide a cost bond. (An employer who appeals must pay a \$550 fee to this office and furnish a cost bond in the amount of \$550 (*see* Rules 103.01, subd. 1, and 107 of the Minnesota Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure), to be filed with the Department of Employment and Economic Development.)

THE RECORD

The record that the court of appeals will look at includes the evidence submitted at the evidentiary hearing before the ULJ, and the new evidence, if any, submitted to the ULJ on reconsideration if a new evidentiary hearing was requested. The department will send the record to the court of appeals. You may not give new evidence on appeal without first getting permission from the court of appeals. The court of appeals generally does not accept new evidence.

If testimony was given at the evidentiary hearing, the department will prepare a transcript of the audiotape of the hearing free of charge. A transcript is a typed copy of what all of the parties and the ULJ said at your hearing. If you request it, the department will also send you a copy of all exhibits introduced into evidence.

BRIEFS

The brief is your written argument on appeal. You must file seven copies of the brief with this office, and serve two copies on each of the respondents. *See* rule 131.03. You must also file proof of service for the brief. (See above.) If the department prepared a transcript, you must serve and file your brief within 33 days after the date the transcript was mailed to you. If there is no transcript, you must serve and file your brief within 30 days after the appeal was filed. *See* rule 131.01, subd. 1.

As the relator, you must file a brief, or your appeal will be dismissed. *See* rule 142.02. You may file either a formal or an informal brief, or you may use a memorandum of law that you gave to the ULJ with a short letter argument. Most relators file informal briefs.

A formal brief includes a table of contents, a statement of the legal issues, a statement of the case and the facts, an argument, a conclusion, and an appendix. *See* rule 128.02. A formal brief must be bound. *See* rule 132.01 (includes the supreme court's order regarding acceptable types of binding).

An informal brief may be stapled, and must include a written argument and appendix. *See* rule 128.01, subd. 1.

A memorandum and short letter argument may also be stapled and must include an appendix. *See* rule 128.01, subd. 2. (This may only be filed if you submitted a written memorandum of law to the ULJ. You may then submit as your brief your memorandum to the ULJ along with a short letter argument that addresses the ULJ's decision.)

Regardless of the type of brief you file, you must include an appendix to your brief that contains, at a minimum, a copy of the petition and writ of certiorari and a copy of the ULJ's decision that you are appealing. *See* rule 130.01.

TIME EXTENSIONS OR OTHER REQUESTS

If you cannot serve and file your brief within 30 days and you need more time, or if you want any other relief from the court, you must serve and file a written motion asking the court for the relief you need. Your motion should be made before the deadline you wish to extend. The requirements for a motion are found in rule 127. The motion must state the relief requested and your reasons for the request. You must serve the written motion on the department and the employer and file an affidavit of service for the motion together with four copies of the motion. **Caution: As previously stated, the court of appeals cannot extend the time to serve and file the petition for writ of certiorari.**

HOW YOUR CASE WILL BE DECIDED

After the parties have filed their briefs, your appeal will be submitted to a panel of the Court of Appeals consisting of three judges. If you are not represented by an attorney, the Court of Appeals will not allow oral argument by any party. *See* Minn. App. Spec. R. Prac. 2. You will receive notice of the date of oral argument or nonoral consideration by the panel, and the names of the judges assigned to decide your case.

After the appeal has been submitted to the panel, the court of appeals will issue a written decision within 90 days. If you are dissatisfied with the result, you have 30 days after the filing of the court of appeals decision to file a petition requesting review by the Minnesota Supreme Court. *See* rule 117.

The mailing address, phone number, and work hours of this office are:

Clerk of the Appellate Courts 305 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55155

(651) 296-2581

8:00-4:30 Monday - Friday

Web address: www.mncourts.gov

CHECKLIST

These are the steps that you must follow to begin your appeal. Please follow the directions exactly. If you do not do so, you may miss an important step and you could lose your opportunity to appeal.

1. **First,** *fill out* the following forms, filling in all the blanks. We have given you a copy of each of these forms. If you do not fill out all the blanks, we may have to send the forms back to you and it might then be too late for you to appeal.

_____ Petition for writ of certiorari (This is the form that tells us that you want to appeal)

_____ Writ of certiorari (This is the form that we will sign and give back to you)

_____ Statement of the case

(This is just an outline of your case that **summarizes** the reasons why you think the decision by the ULJ was wrong. You can make detailed arguments in the brief that you will file with this court later. It is not necessary to attach any other documents to this form. If you want, you can attach documents that are already part of the record to your brief.)

2. Next, you must *file* with this office the following completed forms *within 33 days* after the date the ULJ's decision on reconsideration was mailed to you, or within 30 days after the ULJ's decision was sent by electronic transmission. "Filing" means that you must mail or hand-deliver these documents to this office. We are located at Clerk of the Appellate Courts Office, 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Suite 305, St. Paul, MN 55155. If you do not file the petition for writ of certiorari within 33 days after the ULJ's decision on reconsideration was mailed, or within 30 days after the decision was sent by electronic transmission, your appeal will be dismissed.

_____ Petition for writ of certiorari

_____ Writ of certiorari

_____ One original statement of the case and one copy of the statement of the case

- _____ A copy of the ULJ's decision that you are appealing
- 3. In addition, you must *serve* the following respondents *within 33 days* after the ULJ's decision on reconsideration was mailed to you, or within 30 days after the decision was sent to you by electronic transmission. "Serving" means that you must mail these papers or have them given in person to the respondents. If you do not serve the petition for the writ of certiorari within 33 days after the date the ULJ's decision on reconsideration was mailed to you, or within 30 days after the decision was sent to you by electronic transmission, your appeal will be dismissed. The respondents are the Department of Employment and Economic Development and the employer.

The Department of Employment and Economic Development
 E200 First National Bank Bldg
 332 Minnesota Street
 St. Paul MN 55101

_____ The employer

If the employer has an attorney, you must serve the attorney, either by mail or personally. If the employer does not have an attorney, you must serve the employer. You can do so by mail, but you cannot personally hand deliver the documents to the employer. If you decide to have the documents hand-delivered, rather than mailed, you must have the sheriff or a person 18 years or older serve them.

Serve the department (either the ULJ or the commissioner) and the employer with the following completed forms:

- _____ A copy of the petition for writ of certiorari
- _____ A copy of the unsigned writ of certiorari
- _____ A copy of the statement of the case
- _____ A copy of the ULJ's decision that you are appealing
- 4. After serving the documents listed in step 3, you must then promptly file affidavits of service with this office for the documents. An affidavit of service is a sworn, notarized statement saying that you served the documents. We have given you one copy of an affidavit of service, and you must make any more copies that you need. The clerk's office can notarize the affidavit of service at no charge. Most banks also have a notary who can notarize the affidavit of service for you for a small charge.

Affidavits of service to prove that you have served the department and the employer with the petition for the writ, the unsigned writ of certiorari, the statement of the case, and a copy of the ULJ's decision that you are appealing.

- 5. After you file your papers with this office, we will sign the writ of certiorari that you gave us. Once the clerk's office signs the writ, it is considered "issued." We will then give you copies of the issued writ. You must then also serve a copy of the issued writ on the following respondents:
 - _____ The Department of Employment and Economic Development
 - _____ The employer
- You must also serve the following documents on the Minnesota Attorney General at the following address:
 900 NCL Tower

445 Minnesota St. St. Paul, MN 55101 _____ A copy of the completed petition for writ of certiorari

_____ A copy of the signed writ of certiorari.

7. **Your next step is to file a brief with this court.** A brief is a written argument explaining why you believe the decision by the ULJ was wrong.

If testimony was given at the hearing before the ULJ, the department will mail you a copy of the transcript of your hearing. A transcript is a typed copy of what all of the parties and the ULJ said at your hearing. You must then file a brief with this court and serve it on the department and the employer *within 33 days* after the date that the transcript was mailed to you.

If no testimony was given at the hearing before the unemployment law judge, you must file your brief with this court *within 30 days* after you filed your petition with this court.

- _____ File *seven* copies of your brief with the Clerk of the Appellate Courts Office.
- _____ Serve *two* copies of your brief on the Department of Employment and Economic Development.
- _____ Serve *two* copies of your brief on the employer (if it does not have an attorney), or on the employer's attorney.

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN COURT OF APPEALS

CASE TITLE:

Relator (your name)

vs.

1) _____, Respondent (employer's name),

2) Department of Employment & Economic Development, Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF **CERTIORARI**

COURT OF APPEALS #:

DEPARTMENT OF **EMPLOYMENT & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT #:**

DATE OF DECISION:

TO: The Court of Appeals of the State of Minnesota:

_____ (your name) hereby petitions the Court of Appeals for a Writ of Certiorari pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 268.105, subd. 7, to review a decision of the unemployment law judge issued on the date noted above, upon the grounds that _____

(Summarize why you are appealing. You will make a detailed argument in your brief that you will be filing later.)

DATED:

(Signature of you or your attorney)

(Print your name)

(Address)

(Telephone number)

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN COURT OF APPEALS

CASE TITLE:

Relator (your name)

vs.

1) _____, Respondent (employer's name),

2) <u>Department of Employment & Economic</u> <u>Development</u>, Respondent. WRIT OF CERTIORARI

COURT OF APPEALS #:

DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT #:

DATE OF DECISION:

TO: Department of Employment & Economic Development:

You are hereby ordered to return to the Court of Appeals within 10 days after the date relator's brief is due the record, exhibits and proceedings in the above-entitled matter so that this court may review the decision of the unemployment law judge issued on the date noted above.

Copies of this writ and accompanying petition shall be served forthwith either personally or by mail upon the respondent Department of Employment & Economic Development and upon the respondent or its attorney at:

(address of employer or its attorney if it has one)

Proof of service shall be filed with the clerk of the appellate courts.

DATED:

Clerk of the Appellate Courts

By: _____

Assistant Clerk

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN COURT OF APPEALS

CASE TITLE:

Relator (your name)

vs.

STATEMENT OF CASE OF RELATOR

COURT OF APPEALS #:

DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT #:

Respondent (employer's name),

Department of Employment & Economic Development, Respondent.

- 1. Agency of case origination. <u>Department of Employment and Economic Development</u>
- Jurisdictional statement. Certiorari appeal. Statute authority authorizing certiorari appeal and fixing time limit for appeal: <u>Minn. Stat. § 268.105, subd. 7(a)</u>
- 3. State type of litigation and designate any statutes at issue. <u>Unemployment insurance, Minn. Stat. ch. 268</u>
- 4. Short description of issues raised to the unemployment law judge:
- 5. Short description of issues you are raising in this appeal. (This is meant to be a <u>short</u> outline of your argument. You can make a detailed argument in the brief you will file with this court later.)

- 6. List any other related appeals.
- 7. Was testimony given at the hearing conducted by the unemployment law judge? _____Yes _____No

If testimony was given, the Department of Employment and Economic Development will send you a transcript. If no testimony was given, there is no transcript to send.

8. Oral argument.

Only attorneys can make oral arguments. If you do not have an attorney, neither you nor respondents will have oral argument.

If you have an attorney, is oral argument requested? _____ Yes _____ No

If yes, state where oral argument is requested:

- 9. Identify the type of brief to be filed:
 - () Formal brief under rule 128.02

A formal brief includes a table of contents, a statement of legal issues, a statement of the case, facts, an argument, a conclusion, and an appendix (*see* rule 128.02). A formal brief must be bound (*see* rule 132.01).

() Informal brief under rule 128.01, subd. 1

An informal brief contains a concise statement of your argument. It may be stapled.

() Trial memoranda, supplemented by a short letter argument under rule 128.01, subd. 2

All briefs must contain an appendix that includes at least a copy of the petition and writ of certiorari and a copy of the decision that you are appealing.

10. Names, addresses, zip codes and telephone numbers of relator and respondent (or attorneys, if any).

Relator:

Print name: Address:		 	
Telephone:	 	 	
Signature:	 	 	

Employer (or attorney	<i>י</i>):
Name:	
Address:	
Telephone:	
Atty. Reg. #:	

DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT E200 First National Bank Building 332 Minnesota Street St. Paul, MN 55101

MINNESOTA ATTORNEY GENERAL 900 Bremer Tower 445 Minnesota Street St. Paul, MN 55101-2127

You must make as many copies of this form as you need.

STATE OF MINNESOTA IN COURT OF APPEALS

CASE TITLE:

Relator (your name)

vs.

COURT OF APPEALS #

RELATOR'S AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE BY MAIL

1) _____, Respondent (employer's name),

2) Department of Employment & Economic Development, Respondent

STATE OF MINNESOTA COUNTY OF _____

I, _____(Your name), being first duly sworn, depose and say that on _____(**Date**), I served the attached petition and writ of certiorari and the statement of the case, on the following parties by mailing to each of them a copy thereof, enclosed in an envelope, postage pre-paid, and by depositing the same in the United States Mail, directed to said party as follows:

- 1. _____ (Name & address of employer OR employer's attorney.)
- 2. Department of Employment & Economic Development E200 First National Bank Building **332 Minnesota Street** St. Paul, MN 55101

I have also provided a copy of the Petition and Writ to the Minnesota Attornev General 900 Bremer Tower 445 Minnesota Street St. Paul, MN 55101-2127

(Your signature)

Dated: _____ Notary: _____