STATE OF MINNESOTAPRIVATE 

IN SUPREME COURT

C1-81-1206
ORDER ESTABLISHING DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING COMMENTS ON PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER REGISTRATION

The Minnesota Stat Board of Law Examiners filed a petition on June 29, 2007 recommending amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration. This court will consider the proposed amendments without a hearing after soliciting and reviewing comments on the petition. A copy of the petition is annexed to this order.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that any individual wishing to provide statements in support or opposition to the proposed amendment shall submit twelve copies in writing addressed to Frederick K. Grittner, Clerk of Appellate Courts, 25 Dr. Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, no later than August 31, 2007.

Dated:  July ___, 2007







BY THE COURT:







___________________________








Russell A. Anderson








Chief Justice
STATE OF MINNESOTA

In Supreme Court

FILE NO.

__________________________________________

Petition of the Minnesota State Board of 

Continuing Legal Education
For Amendment of the 

Rules of the Supreme Court 

on Lawyer Registration





PETITION
__________________________________________

TO:  THE HONORABLE JUSTICES OF THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT:


Petitioner, the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education (“Board”), respectfully petitions the Court to amend Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration in order to decrease the allocation to the Board.  In support of this Petition, the Board asserts the following:

1. The Supreme Court has the exclusive and inherent power to regulate the practice of law.

2. Since 2001, the Board has collected a $35 course approval fee for each course
 submitted for CLE approval.  

3. Revenue generated from the course approval fee has averaged just over       $200,000 per year during the past 4 years, thereby reducing the Board’s need for the full amount of revenue it receives currently from the Lawyer Registration Fee.  The Board proposes to reduce its Lawyer Registration fee allocation by $2, from $8 to $6 per lawyer2, effective January 1, 2008.  

4. The proposed amendments to Lawyer Registration Rule 2 incorporating both this Petition’s request for a reduction in allocation as well as the Board of Law Examiners’ Petition for an increase in the allocation, are set forth in an attachment marked Exhibit A. 

CONCLUSION

By these proposed amendments, the Board seeks to amend the Lawyer Registration Rules to decrease the Board’s allocation from the Lawyer Registration Fee.  

Based upon the foregoing, the Board respectfully requests that the Court adopt the proposed amended Rules set forth in Exhibit A.

Dated:






________________________________






Thomas J. Radio, Chair

Minnesota State Board of 

Continuing Legal Education

Galtier Plaza, Suite 201

380 Jackson Street

St. Paul, MN 55101

(651) 297-1857

Attorney No. 137029






_________________________________






Margaret Fuller Corneille, Director

Minnesota State Board of 

Continuing Legal Education

Galtier Plaza, Suite 201

380 Jackson Street






St. Paul, MN 55101






(651) 297-1857






Attorney No. 179334

RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER REGISTRATION

***

RULE 2.  REGISTRATION FEE


A.
Required Fee.


In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering continuing legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund legal services programs, and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer and each judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an annual registration fee.  


B.
Active Statuses.


Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of $218$221 or such lesser sum as is set forth in the following sections.  


1.
Active Status - Income Less Than $25,000.


A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $193$196.  


2.
Active Status - Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty.


A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States must pay an annual registration fee of $107$110.  


3.
Active Status - Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty - Income Less Than $25,000.


A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $82$85.  


4.
Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years.


A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of $97$100.


5.
Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years - Income Less Than $25,000.


A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, and certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $84.50$87.50.  


C.
Inactive Statuses.


1.
Inactive Status - Out-of-State.


A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of $179$182.  


2.
Inactive Status - Out-of-State - Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $154$157.  


3.
Inactive Status - Minnesota.


A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in this state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state must pay an annual registration fee of $179$182.  


4.
Inactive Status - Minnesota - Income Less Than $25,000.


A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, and (v)  certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $154$157.  
***

D.
Allocation of Fees.  


Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule:


(1)
Payments of $218$221 are allocated as follows:

· $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

· $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

· $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

· $12 to the Client Security Fund;

· $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

· $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.  


(2)
Payments of $193$196 are allocated as follows:

· $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

· $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

· $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

· $12 to the Client Security Fund;

· $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

· $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.  


(3)
Payments of $179$182 are allocated as follows: 

· $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

· $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

· $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

· $12 to the Client Security Fund;

· $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

· $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.  


(4)
Payments of $154$157 are allocated as follows: 

· $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

· $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

· $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

· $12 to the Client Security Fund;

· $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

· $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.


(5)
Payments of $107$110 are allocated as follows:  

· $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

· $7$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

· $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

· $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

· $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.  


(6)
Payments of $82$85 are allocated as follows:

· $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

· $7$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

· $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

· $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

· $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.  


(7)
Payments of $97$100 are allocated as follows:
· $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

· $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

· $26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

· $12 to the Client Security Fund;

· $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

· $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.  


(8)
Payments of $84.50$87.50 are allocated as follows:

· $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

· $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

· $26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

· $12 to the Client Security Fund;

· $12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

· $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.  

*** 
� A fee is not required for video replays of previously approved courses and for courses of 60 minutes or less in duration.  Rule 4A(7). 


2 For lawyers on Active Status-Full-time Military Duty, the proposed reduction is from $7 to $5.









