
 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 

 

IN SUPREME COURT              

 

C9-81-1206 

 

 

ORDER AMENDING THE RULES OF  

THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER 

REGISTRATION 

 

 

The Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education and the Minnesota State 

Board of Law Examiners filed petitions with this Court on June 29, 2007, recommending 

amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration. This Court, in an 

order filed July 23, 2007, invited written comments on the proposed amendments.  The 

comment period has now expired. 

 The court has reviewed the proposals and is advised in the premises. 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached amendments to the Rules of the Supreme 

Court on Lawyer Registration be, and the same are, prescribed and promulgated to be 

effective with the registration cycle deadline of January 1, 2008. 

 

 

Dated:  September 24, 2007   BY THE COURT: 

 

 

 

 

                                                                  

      Russell A. Anderson 

      Chief Justice



RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER REGISTRATION 

 

*** 

RULE 2.  REGISTRATION FEE 

A. Required Fee. 

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission 

to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering 

continuing legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund 

legal services programs, and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer 

and each judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an annual registration fee.   

B. Active Statuses. 

Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of $218$221 or such 

lesser sum as is set forth in the following sections.   

1. Active Status - Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer’s or 

judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less 

than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $193$196.   

2. Active Status - Lawyers on Full-Time Military Duty. 

A lawyer or judge on full-time duty in the armed forces of the United 

States must pay an annual registration fee of $107$110.   

3. Active Status - Lawyers on Full-Time Military Duty - Income Less 

Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge on full-time duty in the armed forces of the United 

States who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, 

excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an 

annual registration fee of $82$85.   
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4. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years. 

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three 

years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, must pay an 

annual registration fee of $97$100. 

5. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years - 

Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three 

years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, and certifies 

that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income 

of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of 

$84.50$87.50.   

C. Inactive Statuses. 

1. Inactive Status - Out-of-State. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or 

before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the 

lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is 

currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota, and 

(iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota must pay an annual 

registration fee of $179$182.   

2. Inactive Status - Out-of-State - Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or 

before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the 

lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is 

currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota, (iv) is 

not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the 

lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a 
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spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of 

$154$157.   

3. Inactive Status - Minnesota. 

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the 

date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a 

resident of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not 

hold judicial office in this state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in 

this state must pay an annual registration fee of $179$182.   

4. Inactive Status - Minnesota - Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the 

date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a 

resident of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not 

hold judicial office in this state, (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this 

state, and (v)  certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, 

excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an 

annual registration fee of $154$157.   

*** 

D. Allocation of Fees.   

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule: 

(1) Payments of $218$221 are allocated as follows: 

 $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

 $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

 $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

 $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

 $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

 $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   
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(2) Payments of $193$196 are allocated as follows: 

 $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

 $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

 $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

 $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

 $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

 $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(3) Payments of $179$182 are allocated as follows:  

 $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

 $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

 $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

 $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

 $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

 $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(4) Payments of $154$157 are allocated as follows:  

 $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

 $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

 $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

 $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

 $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

 $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(5) Payments of $107$110 are allocated as follows:   

 $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

 $7$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
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 $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

 $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

 $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(6) Payments of $82$85 are allocated as follows: 

 $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

 $7$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

 $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

 $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

 $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(7) Payments of $97$100 are allocated as follows: 

 $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

 $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

 $26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

 $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

 $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

 $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(8) Payments of $84.50$87.50 are allocated as follows: 

 $18$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

 $8$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

 $26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

 $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

 $12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

 $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   
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***  


