Pay Fines



PLEASE NOTE: System maintenance occurs every Sunday between 10:00am-4:00pm. You may be unable to make a payment transaction during this time.


Pay by PhonePayment by phone is available 24 hours a day.
If calling from area codes 612, 651, 763, or 952: (651) 281-3219
All others: 1-800-657-3611

Please allow up to ten (10) business days from the date you received your citation for processing before calling.
Pay by MailDO NOT MAIL CASH. Make check or money order payable to "District Court Administration" and mail your payment to:

Minnesota Court Payment Center
P.O. Box 898
Willmar, MN 56201

Include the ticket or the ticket number with your payment.
Use the drop down menu below to find information about contesting a ticket in Hennepin, Ramsey or Washington counties. If you wish to contest a citation issued in a county other than Hennepin, Ramsey or Washington, please contact the local court for assistance.


All Other Counties

If you wish to contest a citation issued in a county other than Hennepin, Ramsey or Washington, please contact the local court for assistance.

Hennepin (Fourth District)

If you wish to contest a citation issued in Hennepin County, staff at the MN Court Payment Center are available to discuss the appointment options for meeting with a Hearing Officer. 

The MN Court Payment Center is available between 8:00 a.m. - 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday.  Press 5 at the prompt for a Call Center Representative.

Twin Cities Metro Area: (651) 281-3219
Outstate Area: (800) 657-3611
 
You may talk with a Hearing Officer about your "payable" citation if you would like to plead not guilty, plead guilty with an explanation, or you cannot afford to pay the fine. A Hearing Officer is authorized by the Court to hear payable cases and make a decision. Depending on the facts of your case and your violation history, some of the options they may be able to offer include:

  • a reduced fine amount,
  • a payment plan to pay the citation over time,
  • a continuance for dismissal with payment of prosecution costs,
  • accept a plea of 'not guilty' and set your case for court.
If a case does not settle with a Hearing Officer, a person has the right to ask for a court hearing. A person always has this right with misdemeanor offenses, however, if the offense is a petty misdemeanor, this right to a court hearing is waived if the defendant does not appear within 30 days as provided in MN Statutes § 169.91.


How to Meet with a Hearing Officer

Walk-in
On a first come first served basis, you may meet with a Hearing Officer at the Hearings & Fines Management office located on the street level of the Hennepin Co. Government Center in downtown Minneapolis. NOTE: Wait times can be an hour or longer, so please plan for this before you arrive.

By Appointment
Call the Minnesota Court Payment Center to schedule an appointment to meet with a Hearing Officer. Appointments are available at several District Court locations.

*NOTE:  Free parking is available at the suburban court locations.


Hennepin Court Hearing Officer Locations

Division 1
Hennepin County Government Center
300 South 6th Street- Street Level
Hearings & Fines Management Office
Minneapolis, MN 55487
map

Division 2
Brookdale Regional Service Center
6125 Shingle Creek Parkway
Brooklyn Center, MN 55430
map

Division 3
Ridgedale Regional Service Center
12601 Ridgedale Drive
Minnetonka, MN 55305
map

Division 4
Southdale Regional Service Center
7009 York Ave. S.
Edina, MN 55435
map
 
I have an appointment to meet with a Hearing Officer but now I cannot make it. What can I do?
If you call MN Court Payment Center before the appointment, you may request a "continuance" (reschedule) to reschedule the appointment.  If you cannot appear for your scheduled appointment, you must go to the Hennepin Co. Govt. Center location in downtown Minneapolis for a "walk-in" appearance.
 
What should I bring with me to the appointment with the Hearing Officer?
• Photo identification.  A birth certificate is NOT an acceptable from of identification.
• Proof of insurance documentation for the vehicle, letter from the insurance company, or copy of the insurance policy, if applicable
•The crash or collision report, if applicable
• Color, photographic proof and receipts showing equipment violations have been corrected, if applicable
• Photographic proof of front and back license plate violations have been corrected, if applicable
• The actual disability permit, a photograph is not sufficient, if applicable
• A juvenile offender (under 18 years at the date and time of the offense) needs to appear with a parent or legal guardian, if applicable
 
What happens in the appointment with the Hearing Officer?
Check in at the front counter upon arrival at the hearing office at the Hearings & Fines Management Office.  Check-in is not required at the suburban hearing officer locations. 
 
The Hearing Officer (not a judge) will review the citation(s), defendant’s violation history, court history, driving record and other information relevant to the citation(s) being contested, and will listen to the defendant's explanation of the circumstances. The Hearing Officer will explain the consequences of the violation(s), including fines. NOTE: It is not possible to have a trial with evidence at this meeting because a trial can only take place in court with a judge.

The Hearing Officer will explain the guidelines for settling the citation(s) and will determine what options the defendant may have in his or her case. The defendant may ask questions about the options, but the Hearing Officer cannot give opinions or advice about the defendant’s decision. A plan is then made for the defendant to meet the terms of the settlement, and when all of the requirements are completed, the citation matter is settled.


Can I appeal a decision made by a Hearing Officer? The decision of a Hearing Officer is usually the result of the discussion with the defendant about the citation and the possible options to settle it. If you do not like the decision, you may ask that the citation be set for court, unless you waived your right to a court hearing under MN Statutes § 169.91. That statute says that if you fail to appear for a petty misdemeanor within 30 days, you have waived your right to court and plead guilty to the charge. 
 

Ramsey (Second District)

If you wish to contest a citation issued in Ramsey County, staff at the MN Court Payment Center are available to discuss the appointment options for meeting with a Hearing Officer. 
 
The MN Court Payment Center is available between 8:00 a.m. - 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday.  Press 5 at the prompt for a Call Center Representative.

Twin Cities Metro Area: (651) 281-3219
Outstate Area: (800) 657-3611
 
You may talk with a Hearing Officer about your "payable" citation if you would like to plead not guilty, plead guilty with an explanation, or you cannot afford to pay the fine.   A Hearing Officer is authorized by the Court to hear payable cases and make a decision. Depending on the facts of your case and your violation history, some of the options they may be able to offer include:

  • a reduced fine amount,
  • a payment plan to pay the citation over time,
  • a continuance for dismissal with payment of prosecution costs,
  • accept a plea of ‘not guilty’ and set your case for court.
If a case does not settle with a Hearing Officer, a person has the right to ask for a court hearing. A person always has this right with misdemeanor offenses, however, if the offense is a petty misdemeanor, this right to a court hearing is waived if the defendant does not appear within 30 days as provided in MN Statutes § 169.91.
 
How to Meet with a Hearing Officer
By Appointment
Call the Minnesota Court Payment Center to schedule an appointment to meet with a Hearing Officer. Appointments are available at two District Court locations.
*NOTE:  Free parking is available at the suburban court location. 

Ramsey Court Hearing Officer Locations
Downtown Courthouse
15 West Kellogg Boulevard
Room 130
St. Paul, MN 55102
map


Suburban Court
2050 White Bear Avenue
Maplewood, MN  55109
map 
 
I have an appointment to meet with a Hearing Officer but now I cannot make it. What can I do?
One hearing officer appointment continuance will be granted as long as you contact the MN Court Payment Center to reschedule your hearing officer appointment prior to your scheduled appointment.
 
What should I bring with me to the appointment with the Hearing Officer?
  • Photo identification.  A birth certificate is NOT an acceptable form of identification.
  • Proof of insurance documentation for the vehicle, letter from the insurance company, or copy of the insurance policy, if applicable
  • The crash or collision report, if applicable
  • Color, photographic proof and receipts showing equipment violations have been corrected, if applicable
  • Photographic proof of front and back license plate violations have been corrected, if applicable
  • The actual disability permit, a photograph is not sufficient, if applicable
  • A juvenile offender (under 18 years at the date and time of the offense) needs to appear with a parent or legal guardian, if applicable
  • Someone other than the owner may meet with the hearing officer to address parking violations, if applicable
What happens in the appointment with the Hearing Officer?
Check in at the front counter upon arrival at the hearing office.

The Hearing Officer (not a judge) will review the citation(s), the defendant’s violation  history, court history, driving record and other information relevant to the citation(s) being contested, and will listen to the defendant’s explanation of the circumstances. The Hearing Officer will explain the consequences of the violation(s), including fines. NOTE: It is not possible to have a trial with evidence at this meeting because a trial can only take place in court with a judge.

The Hearing Officer will explain the guidelines for settling the citation(s) and will determine what options the defendant may have in his or her case. The defendant may ask questions about the options, but the Hearing Officer cannot give opinions or advice about the defendant’s decision. A plan is then made for the defendant to meet the terms of the settlement, and when all of the requirements are completed, the citation matter is settled.
 
Can I appeal a decision made by a Hearing Officer?
The decision of a Hearing Officer is usually the result of the discussion with the defendant about the citation and the possible options to settle it. If you do not like the decision, you may ask that the citation be set for court, unless you waived your right to a court hearing under MN Statutes § 169.91. That statute says that if you fail to appear for a petty misdemeanor within 30 days, you have waived your right to court and plead guilty to the charge.

Washington (Tenth District)

The Washington County Violations Bureau is responsible for processing cases that are payable and/or do not require a court appearance.  (Offenses that require a court appearance are handled by the Criminal Division.)  Defendants who receive payable citations can either pay the ticket using the "Submit Payment" tab on this page (which constitutes a plea of guilty to all offenses) or see a hearing officer to negotiate a settlement of the case.

Convenient Traffic Ticket Resolution Service

The following is a description of the Hearing Officer Program. The Washington County Violations Bureau provides the opportunity to meet with a hearing officer at either the Stillwater Courthouse or the Washington County Service Center - Cottage Grove to attempt resolution of petty misdemeanor and payable misdemeanor cases.

Hearing officers are available to review payable ticket offenses including parking, traffic, and some misdemeanors.  Moving violations, driver's license suspensions, vehicle registration, and insurance violations are a few examples of cases which may be conveniently resolved with a hearing officer in lieu of a court appearance. Settlement options can include reducing the fine, keeping the offense off of the driver's record or, in some cases, dismissing the citation.

The Violations Bureau will not handle matters requiring a court appearance, such as hit and run, underage drink and drive, driving while impaired (DWI) and theft charges.

Defendants have the right to a court hearing with a judge if a settlement cannot be reached with a hearing officer.  The service is offered at two locations:
 

Hearings by Mail

Defendants living 70+ miles from the Washington County Government Center are allowed "hearings by mail" to resolve payable citations.  The defendant should mail or fax a letter to the hearing officer containing the following information:
  • Addressed to:  "Hearing Officer Mail" at: 14949 62nd St. N., P.O. Box 3802, Stillwater, MN 55082;
  • Include a copy of the citation;
  • Include a legible copy of the driver's license;
  • Include a copy of an internet mapping documentation (e.g. Mapquest) confirming defendant's residence is 70+ miles from the Washington County Government Center;
  • An explanation of the circumstances surrounding the offense(s);
  • Mail to the address noted above, or fax to (651) 430-6300.
The hearing officer will review the above and, if approved, a return letter outlining options and appropriate court document(s) will be sent to the defendant for signature.  The defendant will then sign, have his/her signature notarized, and mail the completed document(s) to the hearing officer with a check/money order, if required. 

For questions regarding this procedure, call (651) 430-6279.


Traffic Ticket Options in Washington County

Payable Offences

Every citation is either payable or requires a court appearance (call (651) 430-6279 to determine status).  If it is payable, you need to choose one of the following two options within 30 days of the date of your offense:
 

Payable Option 1: Pay the fine in full.

Any payment is:
  1. A plea of guilty to all offenses charged on the citation.
  2. An admission that you understand and voluntarily waive the following rights to:
  • a trial to the court or jury;
  • be represented by counsel;
  • be presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt;
  • confront and cross-examine all witnesses against you;
  • either remain silent or to testify on your own behalf;
  • subpoena witnesses.
Use the "Saubmit a Payment" tab on this page for payment options.

For more infomation on court debts that have gone to collections, visit the Minnesota Department of Revenue website.

Notice of Surcharge: Per Minnesota Statute 357.021 Subd. 6, a state surcharge must be imposed on fines.  Parking offenses $12, all other criminal and traffic $75.
A charge of $30 will be assessed to all returned checks.
Issuance of a worthless check to the court is a crime (MS 609.113 subd 2)

Payable Option 2: See a Hearing Officer at the Violations Bureau
Appear in person, with photo ID and your citation, to attempt a settlement on your payable offense (settlement options may include reducing the fine, keeping the offense off of the driver's record or, in some cases, dismissing the charge).  If an agreement cannot be reached a court date may be scheduled.  Hours/locations are as follows:

Washington County Government Center
14949 62nd Street North
Stillwater, MN 55082
map

Walk-in service (no appointments) Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Tuesdays office opens at 9:00 am
  • May not be available over the lunch hour
Washington County Service Center - Cottage Grove
13000 Ravine Parkway South
Cottage Grove, MN 55016
map

By appointment only: (651) 430-6279
Learn more from the Hearing Officer Program Brochure.  

No Insurance/No Proof of Insurance:  As of July 1, 2009, insurance charges became payable. However, if you provide a copy of your insurance card or policy which indicates that you had insurance for the vehicle you were driving at the time of the offense - and you provide this proof within 30 days of the date of offense - the charge will be administratively dismissed.  The card or policy must show beginning and ending dates of coverage, and cannot be a bill or statement.  It may be mailed, brought in person, or faxed.  If you did not have or are unable to provide proof of insurance, the charge remains payable; however be aware that a conviction on an insurance charge is subject to ramifications from the Department of Public Safety.  Contact the Department of Public Safety at (651) 296-6911 for more information.
 
Failure to Appear Notice:  Failure to pay the fine, see a hearing officer and/or appear in court if required will result in additional penalties including:  issuance of a warrant, driver license suspense, entry of guilty plea and/or referral to collections.  MS 169.92
 

Court-required Offenses

If your citation requires a court appearance:

  1. A Notice with your court date will be mailed to you at the address noted on your citation.
  2. If you have questions regarding your court appearance, call (651) 430-6279.


Examples of court-required charges:
Hit and Run; Underage Drink and Drive; Theft; charges involving an accident or endangering life or property (will be indicated on citation). 

Your first appearance in court:  A first appearance is where you enter a plea of guilty or not guilty.  If you plead not guilty, a pretrial or court trial is scheduled.  If you enter a plea of guilty, you will be sentenced at that time.  The court encourages you to resolve the matter at the first appearance, when the city or county attorney is present to discuss the facts of the case.  There is also a public defender present for consultation on misdemeanor cases if you qualify for the services.  In addition, the Washington County Criminal Defense Panel Program offers representation on cases at misdemeanor level or higher - call (651) 748-9373 for more information.

  • This is a large volume court hearing, and you can expect to be at the court for several hours.
  • If you are assessed a fine, you are expected to pay it before leaving or arrange a payment plan.
  • If the charge is alcohol- or assault-related, you may be required to be assessed by the Corrections Department.


You have a right to an attorney:  If you are not comfortable representing yourself in court, you may want to consider hiring an attorney. An attorney is your representative in court. No one else you will see in the courtroom is rightfully entitled or obligated to protect your rights. If you don't think you can afford an attorney, but feel that you need one, you can ask the Court to appoint an attorney to represent you. This attorney is called a Public Defender. Public defenders are present at the courthouse and will assist you if you apply for and are granted one. You may request the Application Form when you check in for court, complete the form while waiting, and submit it to the Clerk prior to the start of court, or the Judge when your case is called. You will be assessed a co-pay of $75.00 if you qualify for the services.

Failure to Appear Notice:  If you fail to pay your fine or appear for the court date, additional penalties may be added.  Extended delays may cause a warrant to be issued for your arrest or suspension of your driver's license.

Petty Misdemeanor Offenders:  Failure to appear in court on a charge that is a petty misdemeanor is considered a plea of guilty and waiver of the right to trial, unless the person appears in court within 10 days and shows that the failure to appear was beyond the person's control. The offender may be subject to a fine up to $300 and have their driver's license suspended (if the offense is a moving violation) until payment of the fine. M.S. § 171.16, subd. 3.

Misdemeanor offenders:  A person charged with a misdemeanor who intentionally fails to appear in court for trial on the charge after having been notified that a failure to appear for court appearance is a criminal offense is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or payment of a fine of not more than $1000, or both. M.S. § 609.49, subdivision 2.

All fines are due on the day they are imposed in court.
If you need reasonable accommodations, an interpreter, or other assistance, call (651) 430-4422.  If you cannot communicate by voice, phone our TTY number at (651) 430-6246.

Related Links
How to Obtain a Valid Driver's License (English)
Como Obtenir una Licencia de Manejo Valida (Spanish)
Driver and Vehicle Services Website
DPS Driver's License Reinstatement Information

What is the MN Court Payment Center (CPC)?

The Minnesota Court Payment Center is a statewide operation in the State Court Administrator’s office in the Minnesota Judicial Branch with responsibility for processing citations and traffic tickets from case initiation through disposal in all of Minnesota’s 87 counties. The Minnesota Court Payment Center (CPC) was established in 2009 as a means to streamline the processing of citations, offer cost-effective, convenient and alternative methods of service , and mobilize technology and automation that delivery speeds up the processing of payable citations and traffic tickets.

What is a payable offense?

A payable offense is one for which the defendant may choose to pay a fine in lieu of appearing in court. An offense is only payable if it has been designated payable by: (1) Judicial Council policy 506.1, Statewide Payable Offense Policy (petty misdemeanor offenses); (2) placement on the Statewide Payables List; or (3) placement on a county payables list.

The following are general guidelines about offenses that may be payable:

  • All petty misdemeanor violations of statute and administrative rule are payable, per the Judicial Council policy. (Petty misdemeanor offenses are payable even if not expressly identified on a Statewide Payables List).
  • Misdemeanor violations of the Minnesota Statutes, the Minnesota Rules (Administrative Code), and the Code of Federal Regulations may be designated on Statewide Payables List as payable.
  • Petty misdemeanor and misdemeanor ordinance violations may be designated as payable within a county by the district court.
  • A citation is only payable if all offenses included on the citation are payable offenses.

What is a Mandatory Court Appearance Required Offense?

A court appearance is mandatory (offense cannot be payable) for:

  • All felony offenses.
  • All gross misdemeanor offenses.
  • All misdemeanor offenses unless designated as payable.
  • All petty misdemeanor and misdemeanor violations of ordinances, unless designated as payable within a county by the district court.
  • Any otherwise payable offense if the "Endangering Life or Property" box is checked on the citation or the case is charged by complaint or petition.

How much is my fine?

Fine amounts are no longer posted on the Judicial Branch Website. Because law library fees are set by each county, the total amount of fines can vary. Staff at the Minnesota Court Payment Center must also confirm that the alleged violation matches the statute written on the citation (ticket) during the case initiation process. Therefore, a total fine amount is not available until after law enforcement delivers the citation to the court and it is entered into the Court’s case information system, a process which could take up to 10 business days.

What are the consequences of paying a citation?

Payment of a fine constitutes a plea of guilty and waiver of rights that will result in the entry of a conviction on all charges in the case. Convictions for certain offenses will be sent to the Department of Public Safety for entry on your driving record, or to the Department of Natural Resources, and may result in the loss of your license by those agencies. Paying the fine for driving after suspension, revocation, cancellation, and disqualification, or for no insurance or no proof of insurance offenses may result in the loss of your driving privileges. Contact the MN Driver & Vehicle Services or call (651) 296-6911 to confirm that your license is valid before you drive.

What happens if I fail to respond to a citation?

If you fail to respond to a citation, additional fees will be added and the unpaid citation may result in the suspension of your driver's license by MN Driver & Vehicle Services or the amount owed being sent to collection. You have 30 days to respond to a citation from the date it was entered into court's case management system. After 30 days, a $5 fee is added. After an additional 30 days, a "delinquency fee" of $25 is added. If the citation is for a traffic violation, it may result in suspension of your driver’s license. Other unpaid citations are sent to collection.

NOTE: In Hennepin County, failure to pay five (5) or more traffic or parking citations may result in impoundment of your vehicle until the fines are paid.

What can I do if I cannot pay my fine in full by the due date?

If you cannot pay the fine in full by the due date, contact the MN Court Payment Center to discuss your options. Depending on the circumstances you may be eligible for a one-time 30 day extension or a payment plan which spreads the total amount due into three equal payments over 3 months (if the total amount due is less than $500) or six equal payments over six months (if the total amount due is $500 or more).

How do I resolve a No Proof of Insurance or No Insurance Violation?

If you are charged with No Proof of Insurance or No Insurance and the vehicle you were driving was insured on the date and time of the offense, proof of insurance documentation or the name and address of the owner of the vehicle must be provided to the Minnesota Court Payment Center no later than the date indicated on the citation. Proof must be one of the following:

  • Copy of the insurance coverage card for the vehicle
  • Letter from the insurance agent
  • Copy of the insurance policy

The information received must include the insurance card, the name of the insured, the name of insurance company, the effective and ending dates of coverage, the vehicle type, and the citation number. The insurance must be in effect on the date of the offense noted on the citation. Be sure to include your case or citation number with proof of insurance. Under normal circumstances, after the proof is received it can take up to two business days to process. If the charge of No Proof of Insurance or No Insurance is dismissed, no fine will be due for that charge. If other payable offenses are listed on your citation, do not pay at this time as the total due may be revised once the No Proof of Insurance or No Insurance charge is dismissed. Proof of insurance documentation may be faxed or mailed to the Minnesota Court Payment Center: Fax: (320) 231-6507

Minnesota Court Payment Center P.O. Box 898 Willmar, MN 56201

Include a copy of the citation with the proof of insurance documentation.

To verify proof of insurance documentation has been received, you may call  (651) 281-3219 (metro) or (800) 657-3611, 8:00 a.m. - 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. Press 5 at the prompt for Minnesota Court Payment Center staff.

Why was my driver’s license suspended?

All unpaid fines and late fees for traffic or vehicle equipment related citations are sent to the Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) division of the Department of Public Safety with a recommendation that the defendant’s driver’s license be suspended until the citation has been resolved. DVS is required to grant the suspension recommendation and suspend the drivers' license.

If your license has been suspended, you may be required to pay a reinstatement fee to the Department of Public Safety before your license will be reinstated. This fee is paid directly to the Department of Public Safety, cannot be paid to the MN Court Payment Center, and is in addition to the fines and fees that are owed to the Courts.

What if I find out that I have tickets on a vehicle that I don’t own anymore?

You will need to contact the Department of Public Safety to learn what your options are for transferring title into the buyer's name.

Why was my citation (ticket) referred for collection?

Under Minn. Stat. § 480.15, subd. 10c, any portion of a fine, surcharge, court cost, restitution, or fee that you fail to pay by the due date may be referred for collection, and collection costs may be added to the amount due. You have the right to contest a referral to collections based on inability to pay by requesting a hearing or court date no later than the due date. The due date is the "appearance date" or 30 days from the date of offense on the citation (ticket).

Unpaid court or citation fines that have been referred for collections to the MN Department of Revenue (DOR) must be paid directly to the DOR and cannot be paid to the MN Court Payment Center or the Courthouse.