
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

C9-81-1206 

In re Amendments to the 
Rules of the Supreme Court 
for Registration of Attorneys 

ORDER 

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Client Security Board and the Minnesota State Bar 
Association filed petitions to amend Rule 2, Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration 
of Attorneys, concerning the levying of a fee for the Minnesota Client Security Fund; and 

WHEREAS, on November 9, 1990, a public hearing was held before this Court to 
determine whether the petitions should or should not be granted; and 

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has reviewed the petitions and is fully advised in 
the premises; 

1. 

2. 

3. 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED: 
The attached amendments to Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for 
Registration Attorneys be, and the same hereby are, prescribed and promulgated for 
the regulation of the practice of law in the State of Minnesota. 
These amendments shall become effective with payments due on or after July 1, 

1991 and shall remain in effect until July 1, 1995. 
The Client Security Board and the Minnesota State Bar Association shall continue 
to monitor these rules and amendments and shall explore ways of permanently 
financing the Client Security Fund. 

DATED: November 14, 1990 

BY THE COURT: 

OFFICE OF 
APPELLATE COURTS 

NOV 14 1990 
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RULES RELATING TO REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS 

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE 

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigations for admission to 

the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such 

admission, with exception hereinafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law 

in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to 

practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereafter annually pay to the clerk of the 

appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of One Hundred m 

Twenty-two Dollars ($122.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereafter 

determine. 

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, 

April, July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate courts. 

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows: 

$15.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$ 7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

$80.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board 

$20.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund. 

The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of Thirty- 

nine Dollars ($39.00): 

(4 Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of 

Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state; 

(b) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three 

years; 

(4 Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States. 



The Thirty-nine Dollars ($39.00) so received shall be allocated as follows: 

$15.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$ 7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

$17.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board. 

Any attorney admitted to practice law on or after July 1, 1988, shall pay to the 

Minnesota Client Security Fund $50 in the fiscal year of admission and an additional $50 

in the fiscal year the attorney becomes subject to the first paragraph of this rule. This 

second $50 shall be instead of any annual assessment in favor of the Client Security Fund 

in that year. 

Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, 

or who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that he or she is 

so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee- 

exempt category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney claiming retired or 

permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of law shall promptly 

file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the 

annual registration fee. 

Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, who 

no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files annually with the clerk of 

the appellate courts the he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice 

of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. A judge 

claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes service on the 

bench or the active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with 

the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee. 


