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FILE NO.

STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN SUPREME COURT
PETITION OF THE CLERK
In Re Petition to Amend the Minnesota OF THE APPELLATE COURTS
Rules on Registration of Attorneys. TO AMEND THE MINNESOTA
- RULES ON REGISTRATION
OF ATTORNEYS

TO: THE HONORABLE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Petitioner Clerk of the Appellate Courts (Clerk), joined by the Director
of the Minnesota Board of Law Examiners (BLE) and the Board of Continuing
Legal Education (CLE) and the Acting Director of the Office of Lawyers
Professional Responsibility (OLPR), respectfully petitions this Court to amend
the Rules on Registration of Attorneys as set forth below.

In support of this petition, petitioner would show the following:

1. This Court has the exclusive and inherent power and duty to
administer justice and adopt rules of practice and procedure before the courts
of this state, to establish standards for regulating the legal profession, and to
establish standards for the admittance of lawyers admitted to practice in this
state. This power has been expressly recognized by the Legislature. See Minn,
Stat. § 480.05.

2. This Court adopted the Rules on Registration of Attorneys (the

“Rules”) to establish standards for the annual registration of lawyers licensed



in the State of Minnesota to practice law. The Rules have been amended from
time-to-time.

3. Petitioner 1s responsible for the administration of the annual
registration of lawyers.

4. In the fall of 2002 petitioner and directors of the BLE, CLI and the
OLPR established a committee to study the Rules and recommend appropriate
amendments to the Rules.

5. Petitioner and representatives of the BLE, CLE and OLPR have
reviewed the Rules with the intention of updating terminology, making the
Rules consistent with software upgrades in the Clerk’s database, and allowing
lawyers to remain in good standing while choosing to be on inactive status
and pay a reduced annual registration fee.

6. The proposed Rules contain the principal changes set forth below.

7. A definitions section has been added to identify and clarify
important terminology.

8. Currently, the Rules provide that the processing of annual
registrations is done by the Clerk of the Appellate Courts. The proposed Rules
refer to these functions of the Clerk as functions of a Lawyer Registration
Office. This office will remain located in the Clerk’s office.

9. The proposed Rules expressly define and state the criteria for a
lawyer to be on “active,” “inactive” or “non-compliant” status.

10.  The proposed Rules permit lawyers to elect to be on “inactive”
status and still remain in good standing. Currently, only lawyers who are

disabled or retired may be on inactive status. These lawyers remain in good



standing and do not pay an annual registration fee. However, the proposed
Rules allow all lawyers in good standing to elect to be on inactive status, pay a
reduced fee and remain in good standing.

11, Retired status is amended to include, among other provisions, a
requirement that the lawyer be at least 62 years of age and in good standing,.

12.  Disability status is amended to include, among other provisions, a
requirement that the lawyer be in good standing.

13.  The proposed Rules allow lawyers and judges electing retired
status or disability status to file a one-time affidavit.

14.  The newly created inactive status has a proposed fee of $179,
which is allocated as follows:

. $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

. $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

° $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

e $12 to the Client Security Fund;

° $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
. $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance
program.

15.  Currently, lawyers who neither reside nor practice in Minnesota
may pay a registration fee of $107 and are on inactive status. Under the
proposed Rules, both in-state and out-of-state lawyers who wish to be on
inactive status will pay a registration fee of $179.

16.  The proposed Rules allow the Lawyer Registration Office to

charge $25 to issue a certificate of good standing. This fee is designed to allow



the Lawyer Registration Office to recoup costs of providing this
documentation. The proposed Rules also increase the late penalty from $50 to
$75. The late penalty has not changed since July 1, 1990.

17.  All other current fees, and allocation of fees, remain the same.

18. Currently, out-of-state lawyers can choose non-resident status
and pay less than half the fee of active status lawyers who reside in Minnesota.
The proposed Rules eliminate fee distinctions based on residence.

19.  The proposed Rules clarify that a lawyer shall be automatically
suspended for failing to comply with all registration requirements, including
but not limited to payment of the annual registration fee. This suspension is
automatic and does not require a due process hearing,.

20.  Reinstatement of the suspended lawyer will continue to be
handled administratively, without requiring an order of the Court, upon
payment of the required fee and compliance with all other required
conditions.

21.  The proposed inactive statuses may have an impact on revenue,
but the precise impact is unknown at this time. Therefore, petitioner intends,
together with the directors of the BLE, CLE and OLPR to review the revenue
impact after one year of implementation and determine what, if any,
modifications may be necessary.

22. A proposed effective date for these proposed Rules is October 1,
2006.

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner respectfully requests that the Court

amend the Rules on Registration of Attorneys as set forth in and as attached to



this petition as Appendix A. (Attached as Appendix B is a redlined version of
the proposed Rules.)
Dated: Manch 7 2006,  Respgctfully submitted,
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Attorney No. 37953
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and | /ﬁ// ) 4
( ,f’[f/ ////{// L—""_

MARGARET FULLER CORNEILLE

DIRECTOR

BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS

BOARD OF CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION

Attorney No. 179334

Galtier Plaza, Suite 201

380 Jackson Street

St. Paul, MN 55101

(651) 297-1857

and
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The Minnesota Rules on Lawyer Registration

PREAMBLE
Admission to the bar of the State of Minnesota, disciplinary proceedings, and
continuing legal education for members of the legal profession shall be conducted in

accordance with rules promulgated by this court.

RULE 1. DEFINITIONS

A.  “Active Status” means a lawyer or judge who (i) has paid the applicable
required lawyer registration fee for the current year, (ii) is in compliance with the
requirements of the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education or of
continuing judicial education, (iii) is not disbarred, suspended or on permanent
disability status pursuant to Rule 28 of the Rules on Lawyers Professional
Responsibility, and (iv) is in compliance with Rule 1.15(i), Minnesota Rules of
Professional Conduct (MRPC). A lawyer or judge on active status is in good standing
and is authorized to practice law in this state.

B. “Inactive Status” means a lawyer or judge who has elected to be on
inactive status pursuant to Rule 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 or 2C4 of these Rutles and who meets the
criteria set forth in subparts (ii) through (iv) in the definition of Active Status, above. A
lawyer or judge on inactive status is in good standing but is not authorized to practice
Jaw in this state.

C. “Tudge” means any judicial officer, referee or other hearing officer
employed in the judicial branch of the State of Minnesota.

D.  “Lawyer” means a person admitted to practice law in this state pursuant
to the Rules for Admission to the Bar.

E. “Lawyer Registration Statement” means a document prepared by the

Lawyer Registration Office that informs a lawyer or judge of the lawyer registration fee

Appendix A.



due and on which the lawyer or judge can certify the lawyer or judge’s status and
compliance with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC.

F. “Non-Compliant Status” means a lawyer or judge who has not met all the
criteria to be on Active Status or Inactive Status. A lawyer or judge who is on
non-compliant status is not in good standing and is not authorized to practice law in

this state.

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A. Required Fee.

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission
to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray expenses of administering continuing
legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund legal services
programs and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer admitted to
practice law in this state and each judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an
annual registration fee.

B. Active Status.

Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of $218 or such lesser
sum as is set forth in the following sections.

1. Active Status - Income Less Than %$25,000.

A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross
income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year
must pay an annual registration fee of $193.

2. Active Status - Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty.

A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States shall

pay an annual registration fee of $107.



3. Active Status - Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty - Income Less Than
$25,000.

A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States who
certifies that the lawyer's or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the
income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year, shall pay an annual registration fee of
$82.

4, Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law in Minnesota or in any
other jurisdiction fewer than three years shall pay an annual registration fee of $97.

5. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years - Income
Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law in Minnesota or in any
other jurisdiction fewer than three years who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross
income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year
shall pay an annual registration fee of $84.50.

C. Inactive Statuses.

1. Inactive Status - Out-of-State.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the
lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that (i) the lawyer is a permanent
resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not
hold judicial office in this state and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state,
shall pay an annual registration fee of $179.

2, Inactive Status - Minnesota.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the
lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the

State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in



this state and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, shall pay an annual
registration fee of $179.

3. Inactive - Retired Status.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Retirement
Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status,

(ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in
this state, (iv) is at least 62 years of age and (v) is retired from any gainful employment,
is exempt from payment of any registration fee during the period of the lawyer’s or
judge’s retirement. A Retirement Affidavit, once filed, is effective for each succeeding
year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active status pursuant to section C5 of this
Rule.

4. Permanent Disability Status.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Disability
Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status,

(ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (jii} is not engaged in the practice of law in
this state and (iv) is totally disabled, is exempt from payment of any registration fee
during the period of the lawyer’s or judge’s disability. A Disability Affidavit, once
filed, is effective for each succeeding year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active
status pursuant to section C5 of this Rule.

5. Transfer from Inactive Status to Active Status.

A lawyer or judge who is on inactive status must, prior to practicing law or
assuming judicial responsibilities, (i) promptly notify the Lawyer Registration Office,
(i) complete a lawyer registration statement, (iii} pay the applicable registration fee,
(iv) complete all continuing legal education (CLE) requirements and be transferred to

CLE active status, and (v) comply with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC.



D. Allocation of Fees.
Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule:
(1)  Payments of $218 are allocated as follows:

. $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

. $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

. $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

. $12 to the Client Security Fund;

. $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
. $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance
program.

(2)  Payments of $193 are allocated as follows:
. %18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
] $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
. $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

. $12 to the Client Security Fund;

. $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
° $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance
program.

(3)  Payments of $179 are allocated as follows:

. $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
. $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
. $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

. $12 to the Client Security Fund;

. $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
. $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance
program.



(4)

©)

(6)

{7)

Payments of $107 are allocated as follows:

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $82 are allocated as follows:

[ ]

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $97 are allocated as follows:

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$12 to the Client Security Fund;

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $84.50 are allocated as follows:

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
$8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$12 to the Client Security Fund;



. $12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
. $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance
program.

L. Due Date.

Fees under this Rule are due and payable on or before the first day of January,
April, July or October of each year as requested by the Lawyer Registration Office.

F. Notification of Fee Due,

The Lawyer Registration Office must, annually one month prior to the date due,
mail a lawyer registration statement to each lawyer and judge then in good standing
except those who have elected inactive retired status pursuant to section C3, above, or
inactive disability status pursuant to section C4, above. A lawyer registration statement
must be mailed to the lawyer’s or judge’s address on file with the Lawyer Registration
Office. Failure to receive a Lawyer Registration notice shall not excuse payment of the
fee.

G. Obligation to Notify of Address Change.

Every lawyer or judge must immediately notify the Lawyer Registration Office of
any change of address.

H.  Penalty for Failure to Comply - Non-Compliant Status - Administrative
Suspension.

A lawyer or judge who fails to meet all of the criteria to be on either active or
inactive status is placed on non-compliant status and the right to practice law in this
state is automatically suspended. A lawyer or judge on non-compliant status is not in
good standing. A lawyer or judge on non-compliant status must not practice law in this
state, must not hold out himself or herself as authorized to practice or in any manner
represent that he or she is qualified or authorized to practice law while on
non-compliant status. Any lawyer or judge who violates this rule is subject to all the

penalties and remedies provided by law for the unauthorized practice of law in the
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State of Minnesota. It is the duty of each judge to enjoin persons who are not on active
status from appearing and practicing law in that judge’s court.

L Reinstatement.

A lawyer or judge who is on non-compliant status, who seeks to be reinstated to
active status or inactive status, must (i) notify the Lawyer Registration Office,
(ii) complete a lawyer registration statement, (iii) pay all delinquent registration fees,
(iv) pay the applicable registration fee for the current year, (v) pay a late penalty of $75,
(vi) complete all CLE requirements and be transferred to CLE active status, and
(vii) comply with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC. The Lawyer Registration Office may, in hardship
cases, waive payment of delinquent lawyer registration fees and late penalties. All late
penalty payments are allocated to the Lawyer Registration Office to defray registration

costs.

RULE 3. LICENSE
A.  Upon payment of the lawyer registration fee, the Lawyer Registration
Office must issue and mail to the lawyer or judge a license card showing the license
status of the lawyer or judge.
B. Upon request and the payment of a fee of 525, the Lawyer Registration
Office must provide to any lawyer or judge a certificate of active status and good

standing, provided the lawyer or judge is entitled to the same.

RULE 4. SPECIAL FUND
All money collected from applicants for admission to the bar or as an annual
registration fee or as payment for a certificate of active status and good standing as
provided herein shall be deposited in a special fund, as desired by this court, and shall

be disbursed therefrom only upon vouchers signed by a member of this court.



RULE 5. NONRESIDENT COUNSEL
Nothing herein shall prevent any court in this state from granting special
permission to nonresident counsel to appear and participate in a particular action or

proceeding in association with an authorized lawyer of this state.
RULE 6. [RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE]

RULE 7. ACCESS TO LAWYER REGISTRATION RECORDS

Lawyer registration records are accessible only as provided in this rule.

A.  Public Inquiry Concerning Specific Lawyer. Upon inquiry, the Lawyer
Registration Office may disclose to the public the name, address, admission date,
continuing legal education category, current status, and license number of a registered
lawyer or judge, provided that each inquiry and disclosure is limited to a single
registered lawyer or judge.

B. Publicly Available List. The Lawyer Registration Office may also
disclose to the public a complete list of the name, city, and zip code of all registered
lawyers and judges.

C. Lists Available to Continuing Legal Education Providers and the Courts.
Upon written request and payment of the required fee, the Lawyer Registration Office
may disclose to a bona fide continuing legal education business a complete list of the
name, address, admission date, continuing legal education category, current status, and
license number of all registered lawyers and judges. The Lawyer Registration Office
may also disclose the same information to a court or judicial district solely for use in
updating mailing addresses of lawyers and judges to be included in a judicial
evaluation program.

D. Trust Account Information. Trust account information submitted by
lawyers and judges as part of the lawyer registration process is not accessible to the

public except as provided in the Rules of Lawyer Trust Account Board.



The Minnesota Rules on Lawyer Registration

RUEELPROMULGAFION-OFRULESPREAMBLE
Admission to the bar of the State of Minnesota, disciplinary proceedings, and
continuing legal education for members of the legal profession shall be conducted in

accordance o with rules promulgated by this court.
RULE 1. DEFINITIONS
A, “Active Status” means a lawyer or judge who (i) has paid the applicable

required lawyer registration fee for the current vear, (ii) is in compliance with the

requirements of the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education or of
continuing judicial education, (iii) is not disbarred, suspended or on permanent

disability status pursuant to Rule 28 of the Rules on Lawyers Professional

Responsibility, and (iv) is in compliance with Rule 1.15(i), Minnesota Rules of

Professional Conduct (MRPC). A lawyer or judge on active status is in good standing

and is authorized to practice law in this state.

B. “Inactive Status” means a lawyer or judge who has elected to be on

inactive status pursuant to Rule 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 or 24 of these Rules and who meets the

criteria set forth in subparts (i) through (iv) in the definition of Active Status, above. A

lawver or judge on inactive status is in good standing but is not authorized to practice

law in this state.

C. “Tudge” means any judicial officer, referee or other hearing officer

employed in the judicial branch of the State of Minnesota.

D. “Lawyer” means a person admitted o practice law in this state pursuant

to the Rules for Admission fo the Bar.

E. “Lawyer Registration Statement” means a document prepared by the

Lawver Registration Office that informs a lawyer or judge of the lawyer registration fee

Appendix B.



due and on which the lawyer or judge can certify the lawyer or judge’s status and

compliance with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC,
F. “Non-Compliant Status” means a lawyer or judge who has not met all the

criteria to be on Active Status or Inactive Status. A lawyer or judge who is on

non-compliant status is not in good standing and is not authorized to practice law in
this state.
RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A, Required Fee.

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission

to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, ever-andabove-the-amount-paid-by-applicants
for such-admission-with-excepton-hereafter-enumerated; o defray expenses of

administering continuing legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund,
to help fund legal services programs and to help fund a lawyers assistance program,

each atterrey lawyer admitted to practice law in this state and these-members-of-the

each judge shall-hereinafter annuall=must pay to the elerlk-of theappelatecourtsa
swras-thecourtmay-annually-hereafter-determine Lawver Registration Office an
annual registration fee.




B. Active Status.

Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of $218 or such lesser

sum as is set forth in the following sections.




1. Active Status - Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross

income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year

must pay an annual registration fee of $193.



2. Active Status - Lawvers on Fulltime Militarvy Duty.

A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States shall

pay an annual registration fee of $107.

3. Active Status - Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty - Income Less Than

$25,000.

A lawver or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States who

certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the

income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year, shall pay an annual registration fee of
$82.

4. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law in Minnesota or in any

other jurisdiction fewer than three vears shall pav an annual registration fee of $97,

5. Active Status - Lawvyers Admitied Fewer Than Three Years - Income

Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law in Minnesota or in any

other jurisdiction fewer than three years who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross

income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year

shall pay an annual registration fee of $84.50,




C. Inactive Statuses,

1. Inactive Status - Qut-of-State.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the

lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that (i) the lawyer is a permanent

resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (ii) does not

hold judicial office in this state and (iv}) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state,

shall pay an annual registration fee of $179,

2. Inactive Status - Minnesota.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the

lawver’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyver (i} is a resident of the

State of Minnesota, {ii) is currently in good standine, (iii) does not hold judicial office in

this state and (iv} is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, shall pay an annual

registration fee of $179.

3. Inactive - Retired Status,

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Retirement

Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i} is currently on active or inactive status,

(ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in

this state, (iv) is at least 62 vears of age and (v) is retired from anv gainful employment

is exempt from payment of any registration fee during the period of the lawyer’s or

judge’s retirement. A Retirement Affidavit, once filed, is effective for each succeeding

year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active status pursuant to section C5 of this

Rule,

4, Permanent Disability Status.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Disability

Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status,

(ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in

this state and (iv) is totally disabled, is exempt from payment of any registration fee




during the period of the lawyer’s or judge’s disability. A Disability Affidavit, once
filed, is effective for each succeeding vear unless the lawver or judge transfers to active

status pursuant to section C5 of this Rule,

5, Transfer from Inactive Status to Active Status.

A lawyer or judge who is on inactive status must, prior to practicing law or

judicial responsibilities romptly notifv the Lawver Registration Office,

i1} complete a lawver registration statement

(iv) complete all continuing legal education (CLE) requirements and be transferred to
CLE active status, and (v) comply with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC.

D. Allgcation of Fees.

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule:

(1) Pavments of $218 are allocated as follows:

. $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
. $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education:

. $122 to the Lawvers Professional Responsibility Board;

. $12 to the Client Security Fund;

. $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance
program.

(2) Pavments of $193 are allocated as follows:

» $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners:

. $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
) $122 to the Lawvers Professional Responsibility Board:

. $12 to the Client Security Fund;

. $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

. $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance
program.



(3)  Payments of $179 are allocated as follows:

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
$8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
$12 to the Client Security Fund;

$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawver Trust Account Board for a lawvers assistance

Drogram,

(4) Payments of $107 are allocated as follows:

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board:
$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

(5) Pavments of $82 are allocated as follows:

*

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board:

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance
program.

{6) Payments of $97 are allocated as follows:

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
$12 to the Client Security Fund;




. $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

. $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

prograimn.

(7) Payments of $84.50 are allocated as follows:

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners:

$8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
. $12 to the Client Security Fund;

. $12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

° $8 to the Lawver Trust Account Board for a lawvers assistance

program.
E. Pue Date.

Fees under this Rule are due and payable on or before the first day of January,

April, JTuly or October of each vear as requested by the Lawver Registration Office.




RULE4--NOTICE

F. Notification of Fee Due,

Annually-one-menth-priorto-due-date+The Clerk-ef-the-Appellate Courts

Lawver Registration Office shall-mait must, annually one month prior to the date due,

mail a lawver registration statement to each individual lawyer and judge then
authorized-to-practiee-taws in good standing except those who have elected inactive

status pursuant fo

retired status pursuant to section C3, above, or inactive disabili

section C4, above-whe-hasnotpatd-suchregistrationfeeat-hislastknown-addressa

A lawyer registration statement must be mailed to the lawyer’s or judge’s address on

file with the Lawver Registration Office. Failure to receive sueh a Lawyer Registration

notice shall not excuse payment of sueh the fee.

G. ___Obligation to Notify of Address Change.
Every atterney-at-law lawyer or judge shall must immediately notify the elerk-of

this-eourt Lawyver Registration Office of any change of address.

H. _ Penalty for Failure to Comply - Non-Compliant Status - Administrative

Suspension.
A lawyer or judge who fails to meet all of the ¢riteria to be on either active or

inactive status is placed on non-compliant status and the right to practice law in this

state is automatically suspended, A lawyer or judge on non-compliant status is not in

good standing. A lawyer or judge on non-compliant status must not practice law in this

state, must not hold out himself or herself as authorized to practice or in any manner

represent that he or she is qualified or authorized to practice law while on non-

compliant status. Any lawyer or judge who violates this rule is subject to all the

penalties and remedies provided by law for the unauthorized practice of law in the

State of Minnesota. It is the duty of each iudee to enjoin persons who are not on acive

status from appearing and practicing law in that judge’s court.
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RUEE S REINSTATEMENT
L Reinstatement.
Fhesightto-pracHeelavw-may A lawyer or judge who is on non-compliant status,
who seeks to be reinstated by-the-courtafter suspensionuponapplicationandupenthe

to active status or inactive status, must (i) notify the Lawyer Regisgtration Office,

(ii) complete a lawyer registration statement, (iii) paymertef all delinquent registration

fees-and, (iv) pay the applicable registration fee for the current year, (v) pay a additional
late penalty sum of Eifey {$50-00753, (vi) complete all CLE requirements and be

transferred to CLE active status, and (vii) comply with Rule 1.15(1) MRPC. This-eourt

The Lawyer Registration Office may, in hardship cases, waive payment of delinquent

lawyer registration fees and late penalties. All late penalty payments shall-be are
allocated to an-atterney-registrationaeccourt the Lawyer Registration Office to defray

the registration costs.

RULE 63. CERTIFICATE LICENSE
A.  Upon payment of the lawyer registration fee, the Cerk-of the-Appellate

Courts Lawyer Registration Office shall must issue and deliver mail to the persen
paying-thesame lawyer or judge a eertificate license card in-such-form-as-may-be
provided-by-this-eourt; showing thatsueh-individualisanattorneyatlawingood
standing-and-authorized-to-practeeinthe Stateof Minneseta the license status of the

lawyer or judge.

B. Upon request and the payment of a fee of $25, the Lawyer Registration

Office must provide to any lawyer or judge a certificate of active status and good

standing, provided the lawyer or judge is entitled to the same.
RULE #4. SPECIAL FUND
All money collected from applicants for admission to the bar or as an annual

registration fee or as pavment for a certificate of active status and good standing as
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provided herein shall be deposited by-the elerk in a special fund, as desired by this
court, and shall be disbursed therefrom only upon vouchers signed by a member of this

court.

RULE 85. NONRESIDENT COUNSEL
Nothing herein shall prevent any court in this state from granting special
permission to nonresident counsel to appear and participate in a particular action or

proceeding in association with an authorized atterrey lawyer of this state.
RULE 6. [RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE]

RULE 97. ACCESS TO AFFORNEY LAWYER REGISTRATION RECORDS
Atterney Lawyer registration records shalbbe are accessible only as provided in
this rule.
A. Public Inquiry Concerning Specific Atterney Lawyer. Upon inquiry, the
Cletk-of-the-Appellate Courts Lawyer Registration Office may disclose to the public the

name, address, admission date, continuing legal education category, current status, and

license number of a registered atterrey lawyer or judge, provided that each inquiry and

disclosure is limited to a single registered attorney lawver or judge.

B. Publicly Available List. The Clerk Lawyer Registration Office may also

disclose to the public a complete list of the name, city, and zip code of all registered
attorpeys lawyers and judges.
C. Lists Available to Continuing Legal Education Providers and the Courts.

Upon written request and payment of the required fee, the Glerk Lawyer Registration

Office may disclose to a bona fide continuing legal education business a complete list of
the name, address, admission date, continuing legal education category, current status,

and license number of all registered attorneys lawvers and judges. The Glexk Lawyer

Registration Office may also disclose the same information to a court or judicial district




solely for use in updating mailing addresses of atterneys lawyers and judges to be
included in a judicial evaluation program.

D.  Trust Account Information. Trust account information submitted by

atterneys lawyers and judges as part of the atterney lawyer registration process is not

accessible to the public except as provided in the Rules of Lawyer Trust Account Board.
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