
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN ST.JPWME COURT 

C9-81-1206 

ORDER AMENDING THE RULES OF 
THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER 
REGISTRATION 

On July 12, 2006 this Court promulgated amendments to the Rules of the 

Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration. The Court has been advised by the Clerk 

of Appellate Courts and the Director of the Board of Law Examiners in a letter 

filed on August 3,2006 that they inadvertently omitted from the rules a discounted 

registration fee for lawyers with a gross income of less than $25,000 per year who 

fall into the Inactive Status-Out-of-State and Inactive Status-Minnesota categories 

They proposed amendments to remedy this omission, including a fee allocation for 

the new categories and miscellaneous minor changes which flow from the addition 

of the new categories and allocation The Court is fully advised in the premises. 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached 

amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration are 

adopted effective with the registration cycle deadline of October 1,2006. 

"5 
Dated: August 2006 

OFFICE OF 
APPELLATE COURTS 

AUG 1 6 2006 

BY THE COURT: 

/@hr- 
Russell A Anderson 
Chief Justice 
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RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER REGISTRATION 

RULE 1. DEFINITIONS 

*** 

B. "Inactive Status" means a lawyer or judge who has elected to be on 

inactive status pursuant to Rule 2C1,2C2,2C3, er2C4,2C5 or 2C6 of these rules and 

who meets the criteria set forth in subparts (i) through (v) in the definition of Active 

Status, above. A lawyer or judge on inactive status is in good standing but is not 

authorized to practice law in this state 

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE 

*** 

C. Inactive Statuses. 

1. Inactive Status - Out-of-State. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the 

date the lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is 

a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, 

(iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of 

law in Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of $179. 

2. Inactive Status - Out-of-State - Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Renistration Office on or before the 

date the lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is 

a permanent resident of a state other than W e s o t a ,  (ii) is currently in good - s t a n d i n ~  

[iii) does not hold iudicial office in Minnesota (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law 

in Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the lawyer's or iudge's gross income from all 

sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an 

annual registration fee of $154. 

Z3. Inactive Status - Minnesota. 



A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 

lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the 

State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in 

this state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state must pay an annual 

registration fee of $179. 

4. Inactive Status - Minnesota - Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 

lawyer's resistration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer fi) is a resident of the 

State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in ~ o o d  standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in 

this state, fiv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state. and (v) certifies that the 

lawyer's or iudge's ?ass income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is 

less than $25,000 per vear must pav an annual redstration fee of $154. 

35. Inactive Status - Retired-Sbtw. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Retirement 

Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status, 

(ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in 

this state, (iv) is at least 62 years of age, and (v) is retired from any gainful employment 

is exempt from payment of any registration fee during the period of the lawyer's or 

judge's retirement. A Retirement Affidavit, once filed, is effective for each succeeding 

year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active status pursuant to section C g  of this 

rule 

$6, Inactive Status - Permanent Disability %&s. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Disability 

Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status, 

(ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in 

this state, and (iv) is totally disabled is exempt from payment of any registration fee 

during the period of the lawyer's or judge's disability A Disability Affidavit, once 



filed, is effective for each succeeding year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active 

status pursuant to section C57 of this rule 
. Transfer from Inactive Status to Active Status. 

A lawyer or judge who is on inactive status must, prior to practicing law or assuming 

judicial responsibilities, (i) promptly n o t i  the Lawyer Registration Office, (ii) complete 

a lawyer registration statement, (iii) pay the applicable registration fee, (iv) complete all 

continuing legal education (CLE) requirements and be transferred to CLE active status, 

(v) comply with Rule 1.15(i), MXPC, and (vi) comply with Rule 6 of these rules. 

D. Allocation of Fees. 

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule: 

(1) Payments of $218 ale allocated as follows: 

e $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

e $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

e $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

* $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

$50 to the Legal Sexvices Advisory Committee; and 

* $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(2) Payments of $193 are allocated as follows: . $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

$8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

* $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

$12 to the Client Security Fund; 

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 



$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(3) Payments of $179 are allocated as follows: 

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

$8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

$12 to the Client Senrrity Fund; 

o $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program., 

@) Paments of $154 are allocated as follows: 

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

$8 to the State Board of Continuing Lead Education; 

o $83 to the Lawvers Professional Responsibilitv Board; 

$12 to the Client Securitv Fundi 

o $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

$8 to the Lawver Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. - 
Payments of $107 are allocated as follows: 

o $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

$7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

o $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

e $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

@&,) Payments of $82 are allocated as follows: 

o $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 



$7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

o $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

Payments of $97 are allocated as follows: 

$18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

o $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

$12 to the Client Security Fund; 

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

o $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

Payments of $84.50 are allocated as follows: 

o $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

o $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

w $26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

o $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

$12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

o $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

F. Notification of Fee Due. 

The Lawyer Registration Office must annually one month prior to the date due, 

mail a lawyer registration statement to each lawyer and judge then in good standing 



except those who have elected inactive retired status pursuant to section (335 above, or 

permanent disability status pursuant to section C456above A lawyer registration 

statement must be mailed to the lawyer's or judge's address on file with the Lawyer 

Registration Office. Failure to receive a lawyer registration statement shall not excuse 

payment of the fee. 


