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STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

C6-74-45550 

ORDER ESTABLISHING DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING COMMENTS ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF PROCEDURE FOR NO- 
FAULT ARBITRATION 

The Standing Committee for Administration on No-Fault Arbitration has filed a 

petition recommending three amendments to the Rules of Procedure for No-Fault 

Arbitration. This court will consider the proposed amendments without a hearing after 

soliciting and reviewing comments on the petition. A copy of the petition is annexed to 

this order. 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that any individual wishing to provide statements in 

support or opposition to the proposed amendment shall submit fourteen copies in writing 

addressed to Frederick K. Grittner, Clerk of the Appellate Courts, 25 Constitution 

Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55 155, no later than Friday, November 8,2002. 

Dated: September /22 002 
BY THE COURT: 

Kathle/en A. Blatz 
Chief Justice 
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______________________________________________________________________________________
______                                                                                 
 

In the Matter of the Proposed Amendments to the 
Minnesota No-fault Arbitration Rules 

______________________________________________________________________________________
_______________                                                 

 

 
 

PETITION 

 

TO:  THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA 
 

 The Standing Committee on No-Fault Arbitration does hereby Petition the Court 

to amend the No-Fault Rules as follows: 

 

 
The first sentence of Rule 10 is amended to read: 
 
Every member of the panel shall be a licensed attorney at law of this state or a retired attorney or 
judge in good standing, and each member shall meet the requirements set forth in the Standing 
Committee’s Policy Statement. 

 
 

Proposed amendment to Rule 40 (b) 
 
If the AAA is notified of a settlement or a withdrawal of a claim at any time up to 24 hours prior 
to the scheduled hearing, but after the appointment of the arbitrator, the arbitrator’s fee shall be 
the sum of $50.00.  If the AAA is notified of settlement or a withdrawal of a claim 24 hours or 
less prior to the scheduled hearing, the arbitrator’s fee  
shall be $300.00.  Unless the parties agree otherwise, the fee in a settlement shall be assessed 
equally to the parties and the fee in a withdrawal shall be borne by claimant. 
 
 
Proposed amendment to Rule 42 
 
The expenses of witnesses for either side shall be paid by the party producing such witnesses.  All 
expenses of the arbitration, including required travel and other expenses of the arbitrator, AAA 
representatives, any witness and the cost of any proof produced at the direct request of the 
arbitrator, shall be borne equally by the parties, unless they agree otherwise or unless the 
arbitrator in the award assess such expenses or any part thereof against any specified party or 
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parties.  Generally each side should pay their own expenses.  An arbitrator does, however, have 
the discretion to direct a party or parties to pay expenses as part of an award. 
 
 

 

WHEREFORE, Petitioner respectfully requests that the Court grant the relief requested.  

Attached hereto is Appendix A, a commentary on the proposed amendments. 

 

 

      The Standing Committee on No-Fault Arbitration 

 

  DATED: August 8, 2002         BY: John Simonett, Committee Chair 
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APPENDIX A 
 
 
 

 
Comment to Rule 10 Amendment 
 
The Policy Statement, effective January 1, 2003, requires for qualification as an 
arbitrator:  (1) at least 5 years in practice in this state; (2) at least one-third of the 
attorney’s practice is with auto insurance claims or, for an attorney not actively 
representing clients, at least one-third of an ADR practice is with motor vehicle claims or 
no-fault matters; (3) completion of the AAA training program prior to appointment to the 
panel; (4) at least three CLE hours on no-fault issues within their reporting period; and 
(5) arbitrators will be required to be re-certified each year, confirming at the time of re-
certification that they continue to meet the above requirements. 
 
The Committee has instituted a training program for no-fault arbitrators to provide for 
compliance in subparagraph (3) above. 
 
 
Comment to Rule 40(b) Amendment 
 
This amendment calls for payment of an arbitrator’s fee when a claim is 
withdrawn before a hearing, as well as when the claim is settled prior to the 
hearing.  Unless the parties agree otherwise, the fee is assessed equally to the 
parties; if the claim is withdrawn, the claimant pays. 
 
 
Comment to Rule 42 Amendment 
 
The current rule on payment of expenses is stricken.  The proposed amendment is 

essentially the same, but is shorter and more clear. 

 
 

  


