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RULES OF NO-FAULT INSURANCE ARBITRATION PROCEDURE 

 

Rule 1. Purpose and Administration 

a.  The purpose of the Minnesota no-fault arbitration system is to promote the orderly 

and efficient administration of justice in this State.  To this end, the Court, pursuant to 

Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.525, and in the exercise of its rule making responsibilities, 

does hereby adopt these rules.  These rules are intended to implement the Minnesota No-

Fault Act. 

 

b. Arbitration under Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.525, shall be administered by a 

standing committee of twelve members to be appointed by the Minnesota Supreme Court.  

Initially, the twelve members shall be appointed for terms to commence January 1, 1975, 

and the supreme court shall designate three such members for a one-year term, three for a 

two-year term, three for a three-year term, and three for a four-year term.  Thereafter, three 

members shall be appointed for a four-year term commencing on January 1 of each 

succeeding year.  After July 1, 1988, no member shall serve more than two full terms and 

any partial term. 

 

c. The day-to-day administration of arbitration under Minnesota Statutes, section 

65B.525, shall be by an arbitration organization designated by the Standing Committee 

with the concurrence of the Supreme Court.  The administration shall be subject to the 

continuing supervision of the Standing Committee. 

 
 

Rule 2. Appointment of Arbitrator 
 

The Standing Committee may conditionally approve and submit to the arbitration 

organization nominees to the panel of arbitrators quarterly in March, June, September and 

December of each year, commencing March 1988.  These nominees then may be included 

in the panel of arbitrators that the Standing Committee shall nominate annually for approval 

by the Supreme Court.  The panel appointed by the Supreme Court shall be certified by the 

Standing Committee to the arbitration organization. 

 

Rule 3. Name of Tribunal 
 

Any tribunal constituted by the parties for the settlement of their dispute under these rules 

shall be called the Minnesota No-Fault Arbitration Tribunal. 

 

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.525
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.525
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.525
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Rule 4. Administrator 
 

When parties agree to arbitrate under these rules, or when they provide for arbitration by 

the arbitration organization and an arbitration is initiated thereunder, they thereby 

constitute the arbitration organization for the administrator of the arbitration. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Rule 5. Initiation of Arbitration 
 

a. Mandatory Arbitration (for claims of $10,000 or less at the commencement of 

arbitration).  At such time as the respondent denies a claim, the respondent shall advise the 

claimant of claimant’s right to demand arbitration.   

 

b. Nonmandatory Arbitration (for claims over $10,000).  At such time as the 

respondent denies a claim, the respondent shall advise the claimant whether or not it is 

willing to submit the claim to arbitration. 

 

c. All Cases.  In all cases the respondent shall also advise the claimant that information 

on arbitration procedures may be obtained from the arbitration organization, giving the 

arbitration organization’s current address and email address.  On request, the arbitration 

organization will provide a claimant with a petition form for initiating arbitration together 

with a copy of these rules.  Arbitration is commenced by the filing of the signed, form, 

together with the required filing fee, with the arbitration organization.  If the claimant 

asserts a claim against more than one insurer, claimant shall so designate upon the 

arbitration petition.  In the event that a respondent claims or asserts that another insurer 

bears some or all of the responsibility for the claim, respondent shall file a petition 

identifying the insurer and setting forth the amount of the claim that it claims is the 

responsibility of another insurer.  Regardless of the number of respondents identified on 

the claim petition, the claim is subject to the jurisdictional limits set forth in Rule 6. 

 

d. Denial of Claim.  If a respondent fails to respond in writing within 30 days after 

reasonable proof of the fact and the amount of loss is duly presented to the respondent, the 

claim shall be deemed denied for the purpose of activating these rules. 

 

e. The claimant shall simultaneously provide a copy of the petition and any supporting 

documents to the respondent and arbitration organization.  The arbitration organization 

shall provide notice to the parties of the commencement of the arbitration.  The filing date 

for purposes of the 30-day response period shall be the date of the arbitration organization’s 

commencement notice.  

 

f. Itemization of Claim.  At the time of filing the arbitration form, or within 30 days 

after, the claimant shall file an itemization of benefits claimed and supporting 
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documentation.  Medical and replacement services claims must detail the names of 

providers, dates of services claimed, and total amounts owing.  Income-loss claims must 

detail employers, rates of pay, dates of loss, method of calculation, and total amounts 

owing. 

 

g. Insurer’s Response.  Within 30 days after receipt of the itemization of benefits 

claimed and supporting documentation from claimant, respondent shall serve a response to 

the petition setting forth all grounds upon which the claim is denied and accompanied by 

all documents supporting denial of the benefits claimed.  There is no additional 

administrative fee where parties to a pending arbitration attempt to mediate their dispute 

under the arbitration organization’s auspices. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The addition of an e-mail address, in Rule 5(c), is consistent with the trend of 

facilitating electronic communication.  The term “executed” is removed from Rule 

5(c) to avoid redundancy.   

 

The purpose of the change in Rule 5(e) is to streamline the filing process and 

provide a clear “filing date” for purposes of Rule 5(g), the Insurer’s Response.  

 

The rules consistently use “arbitration organization” when referring to the 

administrator. 

 

 

Rule 6. Jurisdiction in Mandatory Cases  
 

By statute, mandatory arbitration applies to all claims for no-fault benefits or 

comprehensive or collision damage coverage where the total amount of the claim, at the 

commencement of arbitration, is in an amount of $10,000 or less.  In cases where the 

amount of the claim continues to accrue after the petition is filed, the arbitrator shall have 

jurisdiction to determine all amounts claimed including those in excess of $10,000.   

 

If the claimant waives a portion of the claim in order to come within the $10,000 

jurisdictional limit, the claimant must specify within 30 days of filing the claims in excess 

of the $10,000 being waived. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
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Rule 7. Notice 
 

Upon the filing of the petition form, the arbitration organization shall send notice to the 

other party together with a request for payment of the filing fee.   

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The claimant is the only party who may file a petition for No-Fault arbitration.  In 

order to avoid confusion, the language “by either party” was removed. 

 

Under Rule 5(e), the claimant will not be responsible to furnish a copy of the 

petition to the respondent.  

 

The 20-day notification requirement was removed as it does not serve a necessary 

purpose.   

 

Rule 8. Selection of Arbitrator and Challenge Procedure  
 

The arbitration organization shall send simultaneously to each party to the dispute an 

identical list of four names of persons chosen from the panel.  Each party to the dispute 

shall have seven business days from the date of transmission in which to cross out a 

maximum of one name objected to, number the remaining names in order of preference, 

and return the list to the arbitration organization.  In the event of multiparty arbitration, the 

arbitration organization may increase the number of potential arbitrators and divide the 

strikes so as to afford an equal number of strikes to each adverse interest.  If a party does 

not return the list within the time specified, all persons named therein shall be deemed 

acceptable. 

 

One of the persons who have been approved on both lists shall be invited by the arbitration 

organization to serve in accordance with the designated order of the mutual preference.  

Any objection to an arbitrator based on the arbitrator’s post-appointment disclosure must 

be made within seven business days from the date of transmission of the arbitrator 

disclosure form.  Failure to object to the appointed arbitrator based upon the post-

appointment disclosure within seven business days constitutes waiver of any objections 

based on the post-appointment disclosure, subject to the provisions in Rule 10.  An 

objection to a potential arbitrator shall be determined initially by the arbitration 

organization, subject to appeal to the Standing Committee.  

 

If an acceptable arbitrator is unable to act, or for any other reason the appointment cannot 

be made from the submitted list, the arbitration organization shall have the power to make 

the appointment from among other members of the panel without the submission of 
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additional lists.  If any arbitrator should resign, be disqualified, or unable to perform the 

duties of the office, the arbitration organization shall appoint another arbitrator from the 

no-fault panel to the case. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The change in language is consistent with the trend of facilitating electronic 

communications. 

 

Rule 9. Notice to Arbitrator of Appointment 
 

Notice of the appointment of the neutral arbitrator, whether appointed mutually by the 

parties or by the arbitration organization, shall be transmitted to the arbitrator by the 

arbitration organization and the signed acceptance of the arbitrator shall be filed with the 

arbitration organization prior to the opening of the first hearing. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Rule 10. Qualification of Arbitrator and Disclosure Procedure 
 

a. Every member of the panel shall be a licensed attorney at law of this state or a retired 

attorney or judge in good standing.  Effective January 1, 2004, requirements for 

qualification as an arbitrator shall be: (1) at least 5 years in practice in this state; (2) at least 

one-third of the attorney’s practice is with auto insurance claims or, for an attorney not 

actively representing clients, at least one-third of an ADR practice is with motor vehicle 

claims or not-fault matters; (3) completion of an arbitrator training program approved by 

the No-Fault Standing Committee prior to appointment to the panel; (4) at least three CLE 

hours on no-fault issues in the last year; and (5) arbitrators will be required to re-certify 

each year, confirming at the time of recertification that they continue to meet the above 

requirements.   

 

b. No person shall serve as an arbitrator in any arbitration in which he or she has a 

financial or personal conflict of interest.  Under procedures established by the Standing 

Committee and immediately following appointment to a case, every arbitrator shall be 

required to disclose any circumstances likely to create a presumption or possibility of bias 

or conflict that may disqualify the person as a potential arbitrator.  Every arbitrator shall 

supplement the disclosures as circumstances require.  The fact that an arbitrator or the 

arbitrator’s firm represents automobile accident claimants against insurance companies or 

self-insureds, including the respondent, does not create a presumption of bias.  It is a 

financial conflict of interest if, within the last year, the appointed arbitrator or the 

arbitrator’s firm has been hired by the respondent to represent the respondent or 
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respondent’s insureds in a dispute for which the respondent provides insurance coverage.  

It is a financial conflict of interest if the appointed arbitrator received referrals within the 

last year from officers, employees or agents of any entity whose bills are in dispute in the 

arbitration or the arbitrator’s firm has received such referrals. 

 

c. If an arbitrator has been certified and has met the requirements of subdivision (a) 

for the past five years but becomes ineligible for certification under Rule 10(a) due to 

retirement or change in practice, the arbitrator may continue to seek annual certification 

for up to five years from the date of retirement licensure or practice change if the following 

requirements are satisfied: 

 

The arbitrator completes and files an annual No-Fault Arbitrator 

Recertification form which certifies that: 

 

1. He or she is an attorney licensed to practice law in Minnesota and is in good 

standing or a retired attorney or judge in good standing;  

 

2. He or she has retained current knowledge of the Minnesota No-Fault Act 

(Minn. Stat. §§ 65B.41-65B.71), Minnesota appellate court decisions interpreting 

the Act, the Minnesota No-Fault Arbitration Rules, and the Arbitrators’ Standards 

of Conduct; and 

 

3. He or she has attended CLE course(s) in the last year containing at least three 

credits relating to no-fault matters. 

 

The rules regarding bias and conflict of interest as set forth in subdivision (b) remain 

applicable to arbitrators who are recertified under this subdivision (c). 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

The conflict-of-interest disclosure requirements in Rule 10 have been broadened to 

promote accountability and fairness.  To ensure prompt and inexpensive 

arbitration with the limited number of available no-fault arbitrators, the disclosure 

requirements are not as broad as the requirements of the Uniform Arbitration Act.  

See Minn. Stat. § 572B.12(a).   

 

Mandatory no-fault arbitration is different from voluntary arbitration governed by 

the Uniform Arbitration Act.  No-fault arbitration is intended to promptly resolve 

relatively small claims for insurance coverage.  See Rule 1 and Minn. Stat. 

§ 65B.42.  Unlike arbitrators appointed under the Uniform Arbitration Act, no-fault 

arbitrators are approved by the standing committee and the Supreme Court, based 
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on their willingness and experience with no-fault matters.  This necessarily limits 

the number of no-fault arbitrators.   

 

A change is made in Rule 10(a) to promote consistency between 10(a) and 10(c) in 

the CLE requirement.   

 

The removal of the phrase, “is aware,” in Rule 10(b), adds a greater responsibility 

to ensure that a complete disclosure is made, as well as is now prohibited as a 

financial conflict. 

 

The inclusion of “licensure” in Rule 10(c) provides a clear definition of what 

constitutes a retired arbitrator and when the five-year limit in Rule 10(c) begins to 

run.   

 

Rule 11. Vacancies 
 

If for any reason an arbitrator should be unable to perform the duties of the office, the 

arbitration organization may, on proof satisfactory to it, declare the office vacant. 

Vacancies shall be filled in accordance with the applicable provisions of these rules. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Rule 12. Discovery 
 

The voluntary exchange of information is encouraged.  Formal discovery is discouraged 

except that a party is entitled to: 

 

1. exchange of medical reports;  

2. medical authorizations directed to all medical providers consulted by the 

claimant in; the seven years prior to the accident; 

3. employment records and authorizations for two years prior to the accident, 

when wage loss is in dispute; 

4. supporting documentation required under No-Fault Arbitration Rule 5; and  

5. other exhibits to be offered at the hearing.  

 

However, upon application and good cause shown by any party, the arbitrator may permit 

any discovery allowable under the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure for the District 

Courts.  Any medical examination for which the respondent can establish good cause shall 

be completed within 90 days following the commencement of the case unless extended by 

the arbitrator for good cause. 

 

The Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure shall apply to claims for comprehensive or 

collision damage coverage. 
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 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Rule 13. Withdrawal 
 

A claimant may withdraw a petition up until 10 days prior to the hearing, thereafter the 

consent of the respondent shall be required.  The claimant will be responsible for the 

arbitrator’s fee, if any, upon withdrawal.  If the petition is withdrawn after a panel of 

arbitrators is submitted and if the claimant shall file another petition arising from the same 

accident against the same insurer, the same panel of arbitrators shall be resubmitted to the 

claimant and the respondent.  If the petition is withdrawn after the arbitrator is selected and 

if the claimant shall file another petition arising from the same accident against the same 

insurer, the same arbitrator who was earlier assigned shall be reassigned.  The claimant 

who withdraws a petition shall be responsible for all parties’ filing fees incurred upon the 

refiling of the petition. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The addition codifies the current practice.  

 

 

Rule 14. Date, Time and Place of Arbitration  
 

An informal arbitration hearing will be held in the arbitrator’s office or some other 

appropriate place in the general locale within a 50-mile radius of the claimant’s residence, 

or other place agreed upon by the parties.  The arbitrator may fix the date, time, and place 

for the hearing.  If the claimant resides outside the state of Minnesota, the arbitration 

organization shall designate the appropriate place for the hearing.  At least 14 days prior to 

the hearing, the arbitration organization shall transmit notice thereof to each party or to a 

party’s designated representative.  Notice of hearing may be waived by any party.  When 

an arbitration hearing has been scheduled for a day certain, the courts of the state shall 

recognize the date as the equivalent of a day certain court trial date in the scheduling of 

their calendars. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
Switching the order of the second and third sentences promotes consistency.  
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Rule 15. Postponements 
 

The arbitrator, for good cause shown, may postpone any hearing upon the request of a party 

or upon the arbitrator’s own initiative, and shall also grant such postponement when all of 

the parties agree thereto.  The party requesting a postponement will be billed for the cost 

of the rescheduling; if, however, the arbitrator determines that a postponement was 

necessitated by a party’s failure to cooperate in providing information required under Rule 

5 or Rule 12, the arbitrator may assess the rescheduling fee to that party. 

 

Rule 16. Representation 
 

Any party may be represented by counsel or other representative named by that party.  A 

party intending to be so represented shall notify the other party and the arbitration 

organization of the name, mailing address, and email address of the representative at least 

three days prior to the date set for the hearing at which that person is first to appear.  When 

such a representative initiates an arbitration or responds for a party, notice is deemed to 

have been given. 

 

If counsel or other representative named by the claimant withdraws from representation of 

any pending matter, the claim shall be dismissed, unless the claimant advises the arbitration 

organization of the intention to proceed pro se or a replacement counsel or representative 

is named within 30 days of the sending of the notice of withdrawal. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The amendment in the first paragraph is consistent with the trend of facilitating 

electronic communications.  A similar change has been recommended to the Rules 

of Civil Procedure.  

 

There have been an increasing number of representatives withdrawing from 

representation of claimants.  This has resulted in a number of unresponsive or 

unreachable pro se claimants.  The language added as the second paragraph of 

this rule will provide a clear process to follow, for arbitrators, the arbitration 

organization, and pro se claimants in the event of a withdrawal.   

 

Rule 17. Stenographic Record 
 

Any party desiring an audio or stenographic record shall make arrangements directly with 

a stenographer and shall notify the other party of these arrangements at least 24 hours in 

advance of the hearing.  The requesting party or parties shall pay the cost of the record.  If 

the transcript is agreed by the parties to be, or determined by the arbitrator to be, the official 
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record of the proceeding, it must be made available to the arbitrator and to the other parties 

for inspection, at a date, time, and place determined by the arbitrator. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Rule 18. Interpreters 
 

Any party desiring an interpreter shall make all arrangements directly with the interpreter 

and shall assume the costs of the service.  The arbitrator may assess the cost of an 

interpreter pursuant to Rule 42. 

 

Interpreters must be independent of the parties, counsel, and named representatives.  All 

interpreters must abide by the Code of Professional Responsibility for Interpreters in the 

Minnesota State Court System. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Rule 19. Attendance at Hearing 
 

The arbitrator shall maintain the privacy of the hearings.  Any person having a direct 

interest in the arbitration is entitled to attend hearings.  The arbitrator shall otherwise have 

the power to require the exclusion of any witness, other than a party or other essential 

person, during the testimony of any other witness. 

 

Rule 20. Oaths 
 

Arbitrators, upon accepting appointment to the panel, shall take an oath or affirmation of 

office.  The arbitrator may require witnesses to testify under oath or affirmation. 

 

Rule 21. Order of Proceedings and Communication with Arbitrator 
 

The hearing shall be opened by the recording of the date, time, and place of the hearing, 

and the presence of the arbitrator, the parties, and their representatives, if any.  Either party 

may make an opening statement regarding the claim.  The claimant shall then present 

evidence to support the claim.  The respondent shall then present evidence supporting the 

defense.  Witnesses for each party shall submit to questions or other examination.  The 

arbitrator has the discretion to vary this procedure, but shall afford a full and equal 

opportunity to all parties for the presentation of any material and relevant evidence.  

Exhibits, when offered by either party, may be received in evidence by the arbitrator. 

 

The names and addresses of all witnesses and description of the exhibits in the order 

received shall be made part of the record.  There shall be no direct communication between 

the arbitrator and the parties other than at the hearing, unless otherwise advised by the 
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arbitration organization or by agreement of the parties and arbitrator.  However, an 

arbitrator may directly contact the parties, but such communication is limited to 

administrative matters.  Any direct communication between the arbitrator and parties must 

be conveyed to the arbitration organization, except communications at the hearing.  Pre-

hearing exhibits can be sent directly to the arbitrator, delivered in the same manner and at 

the same time to the opposing party.  Parties are encouraged to submit any pre-hearing 

exhibits at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled hearing.  If the exhibits are not 

provided to opposing counsel and the arbitrator at least 24 hours before the hearing or if 

the exhibits contain new information and opposing counsel has not had a reasonable 

amount of time to review and respond to the information, the arbitrator may hold the record 

open until the parties have had time to review and respond to the material or reconvene the 

arbitration at a later date.  Any other oral or written communication from the parties to the 

arbitrator shall be directed to the arbitration organization for transmittal to the arbitrator. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The inclusion of the additional language will expedite administration.  

 

 

Rule 22. Arbitration in the Absence of a Party or Representative 
 

Unless the law provides to the contrary, the arbitration may proceed in the absence of any 

party or representative who, after due notice, fails to be present or fails to obtain a 

postponement.  An award shall not be made solely on the default of a party.  The arbitrator 

shall require the party who is present to submit such evidence as the arbitrator may require 

for the making of an award. 

 

Rule 23. Witnesses, Subpoenas and Depositions 
 

a. Through the arbitration organization, the arbitrator may, on the arbitrator’s initiative 

or at the request of any party, issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses at the 

arbitration hearing or at such deposition as ordered under Rule 12, and the production of 

books, records, documents and other evidence.  The subpoenas so issued shall be served, 

and upon application to the district court by either party or the arbitrator, enforced in the 

manner provided by law for the service and enforcement of subpoenas for a civil action. 

 

b. All provisions of law compelling a person under subpoena to testify are applicable.  

 

c. Fees for attendance as a witness shall be the same as for a witness in the district 

courts.  
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Rule 24. Evidence 
 

The parties may offer such evidence as they desire and shall produce such additional 

evidence as the arbitrator may deem necessary to an understanding and determination of 

the issues.  The arbitrator shall be the judge of the relevancy and materiality of any evidence 

offered, and conformity to legal rules of evidence shall not be necessary.  The parties shall 

be encouraged to offer, and the arbitrator shall be encouraged to receive and consider, 

evidence by affidavit or other document, including medical reports, statements of 

witnesses, officers, accident reports, medical texts and other similar written documents that 

would not ordinarily be admissible as evidence in the courts of this state.  In receiving this 

evidence, the arbitrator shall consider any objections to its admission in determining the 

weight to which he or she deems it is entitled. 

 

Rule 25. Close of Hearing 
 

The arbitrator shall specifically inquire of all parties as to whether they have any further 

evidence.  If they do not, the arbitrator shall declare the hearing closed.  If briefs or 

documents are to be filed, the hearing shall be declared closed as of the final date set by 

the arbitrator for the receipt of said documents.  The time limit within which the arbitrator 

is required to make his or her award shall commence to run upon the close of the hearing. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Rule 26. Re-opening the Hearing 
 

At any time before the award is made, a hearing may be reopened by the arbitrator on the 

arbitrator’s own motion, or upon application of a party for good cause shown. 

 

Rule 27. Waiver of Oral Hearing 
 

The parties may provide, by written agreement, for the waiver of oral hearings in any case.  

If the parties are unable to agree as to the procedure, the arbitration organization shall 

specify a fair and equitable procedure. 

 

Rule 28. Extensions of Time 
 

The parties may modify any period of time by mutual agreement.  The arbitration 

organization or the arbitrator may for good cause extend any period of time established by 

these rules, except the time for making the award.  The arbitration organization shall notify 

the parties of any extension. 
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Rule 29. Serving of Notice 
 

Each party waives the requirements of Minn. Stat. § 572B.20 and shall be deemed to have 

agreed that any notices or process necessary or proper for the initiation or continuation of 

an arbitration under these rules; for any court action in connection herewith including 

application for the confirmation, vacation, modification, or correction of an award issued 

hereunder as provided in Rule 38; or for the entry of judgment on any award made under 

these rules may be served on a party by mail or electronic means addressed to the party or 

its representative at the last known address or by personal service, in or outside the state 

where the arbitration is to be held, provided that reasonable opportunity to be heard with 

regard thereto has been granted to the party. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The term “electronic means” was added to the first paragraph, therefore the entire 

second paragraph is redundant.    

 

Rule 30. Time of Award 
 

The award shall be made promptly by the arbitrator, unless otherwise agreed by the parties 

or specified by law, no later than 30 days from the date of closing the hearing, or if oral 

hearings have been waived, from the date of the arbitration organization’s transmittal of 

the final statements and proofs to the arbitrator.  In the event the 30th day falls on a 

weekend or federal holiday, the award shall be made no later than the next business day.   

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Rule 31. Form of Award 
 

The award shall be in writing and shall be signed by the arbitrator.  It shall be executed in 

the manner required by law. 

 

Rule 32. Scope of Award 
 

The arbitrator may grant any remedy or relief that the arbitrator deems just and equitable 

consistent with the Minnesota No-Fault Act.  The arbitrator may, in the award, include 

arbitration fees, expenses, rescheduling fees and compensation as provided in Rules 39, 

40, 41 and 42 in favor of any party and, in the event that any administrative fees or expenses 

are due the arbitration organization, in favor of the arbitration organization, except that the 

arbitrator must award interest when required by Minn. Stat. § 65B.54.  The arbitrator may 

not, in the award, include attorneys fees for either party.  
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Given the informal nature of no-fault arbitration proceedings, the no-fault award shall not 

be the basis for a claim of estoppel or waiver in any other proceeding. 

 

Rule 33. Delivery of Award to Parties 
 

The award may be delivered to the parties or their representatives by the arbitration 

organization by mail, electronic means, personal service, or any other manner permitted by 

law. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
References to copies are removed because in an electronic environment, the 

concepts “original” and “copy” are often without meaning.    

 

Rule 34. Waiver of Rules 
 

Any party who proceeds with the arbitration after knowledge that any provision or 

requirement of these rules has not been complied with and who fails to state an objection 

thereto in writing shall be deemed to have waived the right to object. 

 

Rule 35. Interpretation and Application of Rules 
 

The arbitrator shall interpret and apply these rules insofar as they relate to the arbitrator’s 

powers and duties.  All other rules shall be interpreted by the arbitration organization. 

 

Rule 36. Release of Documents for Judicial Proceedings 
 

The arbitration organization shall, upon the written request of a party, furnish to the party, 

at its expense, certified copies of any documents in the arbitration organization’s 

possession that may be required in judicial proceedings relating to the arbitration. 

 

The arbitration organization shall not release documents that are privileged or otherwise 

protected by law from disclosure.  This includes, but is not limited to, any notes, 

memoranda, or drafts thereof prepared by the arbitrator or employee of the arbitrator that 

were used in the process of preparing the award, and any internal communications between 

members of the standing committee made as part of the committee’s deliberative process.   

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
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Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The No-Fault Standing Committee concluded that some documents and 

communications are privileged and are therefore protected from disclosure.  The 

language is based on Rule 45.03(c) of the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure, 

which limits the use of subpoenas to compel disclosure of privileged material, and 

upon Rule 4(c) of the Rules of Public Access to Records of the Judicial Branch, 

which provides that judicial work product is not accessible to the public.  

 

 

Rule 37. Applications to Court and Exclusion of Liability 
 

a. No judicial proceedings by a party relating to the subject matter of the arbitration 

shall be deemed a waiver of the party’s right to arbitrate. 

 

b. Neither the arbitration organization nor any arbitrator in a proceeding under these 

rules can be made a witness or is a necessary party in judicial proceedings relating to the 

arbitration. 

 

c. Parties to proceedings governed by these rules shall be deemed to have consented 

that judgment upon the arbitration award may be entered in any federal or state court having 

jurisdiction thereof. 

 

d. Neither the arbitration organization nor any arbitrator shall be liable to any party for 

any act or omission in connection with any arbitration conducted under these rules. 

 

(Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Rule 38. Confirmation, Vacation, Modification, or Correction of Award 
 

The provisions of Minn. Stat. § 572B.01 through § 572B.31 shall apply to the confirmation, 

vacation, modification, or correction of award issued hereunder, except that service of 

process pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 572B.05 shall be made as provided in Rule 29 of these 

rules. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
 Minnesota Statutes § 572 was repealed.   
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Rule 39. Administrative Fees 
 

The initial fee is due and payable at the time of filing and shall be paid as follows: by the 

claimant, $40.00; by the respondent, $150.00.  In the event that there is more than one 

respondent in an action, each respondent shall pay the $150.00 fee.   

 

Upon review of a petition, if the arbitration organization determines that a claim was filed 

in error, the organization may require that payment of respondent’s filing fee be assessed 

against the claimant.   

 

The arbitration organization may, in the event of extreme hardship on the part of any party, 

defer or reduce the administrative fee.  

 

 (Amended effective September 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The arbitration organization receives filings in error from time to time.  In order to 

relieve the respondent from the cost of these errors, the amendment allows the 

arbitration organization to shift the administrative fee to the party responsible for 

the error. 

 

Rule 40. Arbitrator’s Fees 

 

a. An arbitrator shall be compensated for services and for any use of office facilities 

in the amount of $300 per case. 

 

b. If the arbitration organization is notified of a settlement or a withdrawal of a claim 

at any time up to 24 hours prior to the scheduled hearing, but after the appointment of the 

arbitrator, the arbitrator’s fee shall be $50.  If the arbitration organization is notified of a 

postponement, settlement or a withdrawal of a claim 24 hours or less prior to the scheduled 

hearing, the arbitrator’s fee shall be $300.  Unless the parties agree otherwise, the fee in a 

settlement shall be assessed equally to the parties, the fee in a withdrawal shall be borne 

by claimant, and the fee in a postponement shall be borne by the requesting party.  

Regardless of the resolution of the case, the arbitrator’s fee shall not exceed $300 and is 

subject to the provisions of Rule 15. 

 

c. An arbitrator serving on a court-ordered consolidated glass case shall be 

compensated at a rate of $200.00 per hour. 

 

d. Once a hearing is commenced, the arbitrator shall direct assessment of the fee.  
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(Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
In response to Illinois Farmers Insurance Company v. Glass Service Co., 683 

N.W.2d 792 (Minn. 2004), the No-Fault Standing Committee issued a resolution in 

which a rate of $200.00 per hour may be charged on court-ordered consolidated 

glass cases.   

 

 

Rule 41. Rescheduling or Cancellation Fees 
 

A party requesting to reschedule or cancel a hearing shall be charged a fee of $100.00, 

provided that the request does not fall within the provisions of Rule 40.b that specifically 

address settlement or withdrawal. 

 

 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
 Fees are at a flat rate of $100.00. 

 

Rule 42. Expenses 
 

Generally each side should pay its own expenses.  An arbitrator does, however, have the 

discretion to direct a party or parties to pay expenses as part of an award. 

 

Rule 43. Amendment or Modification 

 

The Standing Committee may propose amendments to these rules as circumstances may 

require.  All changes in these rules and all other determinations of the Standing Committee 

shall be subject to review and approval by the Minnesota Supreme Court. 

 


