State of Minnesota 	District Court
County of:						Court File Number:				
Judicial District:						Case Type:					
State of Minnesota	
Plaintiff
VS
	
Defendant
First Appearance Statement of Rights
I understand that:
1.	I am charged with committing the offense(s) described in the complaint or citation (ticket).
2.	The maximum sentence for each felony offense is as specified in the complaint or citation (ticket). If I am charged with a gross misdemeanor, the maximum possible sentence is a $3,000 fine and applicable surcharges, 364 days in jail, or both.  If I am charged with a misdemeanor, the maximum possible sentence is a $1,000 fine and applicable surcharges, 90 days in jail, or both. If I am charged with a petty misdemeanor, the maximum possible sentence is a $300 fine and applicable surcharges.
3.	I have the right to be represented by an attorney at all times, including during police line-up or police questioning, and to ask for an attorney at any stage of the court proceedings.
4.	For all misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, and felony offenses, an attorney will be appointed to represent me if I cannot afford to pay for an attorney.  The public defender application is available at pdapplication.courts.state.mn.us, or scan the QR code:
	[image: QR code that leads to the public defender application.]
	I understand a public defender cannot be appointed if I am charged only with a petty misdemeanor and I must hire my own attorney or represent myself. 
5.	I do not have to say anything about the facts or circumstances of the case.  I do not have to answer questions from the police or anyone else about the case.
6.	Anything I say may be used against me in this or other court proceedings.
7.	I can speak to an attorney before my next court appearance, and I will be given enough time before my next court date to hire and speak with an attorney.
8.	I have a right:
a.	 For misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony offenses: to a trial before a jury, or a judge without a jury, in which I am presumed innocent until the State proves my guilt beyond a reasonable doubt; OR
		For petty misdemeanor offenses: to a trial before a judge in which I am presumed innocent until the State proves my guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.
b.	To remain silent at all times, including at trial. To testify, if I wish, but anything I say can be used against me in court.
c.	 	To confront and cross-examine all witnesses.
d.	To subpoena witnesses on my own behalf.
e.	To a written complaint if I am charged by citation (ticket).
9.	I can tell the judge at my court hearing what I think should be done about bail or my release from custody.
10.	I can be charged with a crime if I fail to appear for court when I am told or notified of a court date, and the punishment for failure to appear can include a fine, jail, or both.
If I fail to appear for court and I am charged with a petty misdemeanor, or a misdemeanor that is certified as a petty misdemeanor, a guilty plea and conviction may be entered and any fine and surcharges imposed may be referred to collections.
In any case, a warrant may be issued for my arrest if I fail to appear for court.
11.	I understand that if I am not a citizen of the United States, a guilty plea or finding may result in deportation, exclusion from admission to the United States, or denial of naturalization as a United States citizen. 
Notify the court if your address, email, or phone number changes.
You can opt in to receive an e-mail or text to remind you of upcoming hearing dates! 
[image: QR Code that allows a person to enroll in eReminders.]To receive an eReminder for future court dates via e-mail or text, visit www.mncourts.gov/Hearing-eReminders.aspx or scan the QR code to enroll. 
Statement of Rights – First Appearance
CRM202	State	ENG	Rev 5/23		www.mncourts.gov/forms	Page 2 of 2
image2.png




image1.png




