SUBPOENA in a Juvenile Case
                                                                                                                                    (COMMAND TO APPEAR)
                           
Minn. R. Juv. Del. P. 26
	State of Minnesota
	District Court

	County
	
	Judicial District                          Case No.

	
	
	

	
	

	In re the Matter of the Welfare of:
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	WITNESS
	· DEPOSITION

	
	
	
	

	
	Name
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	Address
	
	

	
	
	
	

	           City                           State                      Zip
	

	
	· DUCES TECUM

	You are hereby commanded to appear as a witness to 
	You are commanded to produce the following items, 

	give testimony on the date, time and place indicated 
	records, or documents:

	below, and from time to time thereafter as may be 
	

	required.
	

	Date
	
	

	Time
	
	

	Address
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	

	Witness For 
	· Plaintiff
	· Defendant
	

	Type Of Case
	· Juvenile
	

	Person requesting 
	Name
	

	Subpoena
	
	

	Optional
	Upon Receipt of this subpoena, 
	

	
	please call:
	· SCHEDULE ATTACHED

	WARNING:  FAILURE TO OBEY A SUBPOENA WITHOUT BEING EXCUSED IS A CONTEMPT OF COURT.

	

	WITNESS, 
	
	, Administrator of the above named

	

	Court, and the seal thereof this
	
	day of
	
	,
	
	.

	 
	Day
	
	Month
	
	Year
	

	
	
	

	 (SEAL)
	
	Court Administrator

	

	
	
	Deputy

	

	Court Use Only

	

	Returned and Filed
	
	
	By
	

	
	Date
	
	Court Administrator/Deputy


RETURN OF SERVICE

State of Minnesota


)





) SS
County of 



)
I hereby state that on ____________________________ I served a copy of this subpoena upon the person named thereon.  Service was made by:

· personally handing to and leaving with him or her a true and correct copy; or

· leaving a true and correct copy at his or her usual place of residence

_____________________________________________________________________________________
Address

with ______________________________________________________ a person of suitable age and 

                                                 Name of Person
discretion.
I declare under penalty of perjury that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct.  Minn. Stat. § 358.116

Date





Signature 
 






Printed Name: 












Title, if any: 






Address: 








City/State/Zip: 






Telephone: 







E-mail address: 






SUBPOENA INFORMATION                     PLEASE READ CAREFULLY
	SERVICE of a subpoena may be made by the sheriff, by a deputy, or any other person who is not a party and who is not less than 18 years of age.  Service of a subpoena upon a person named therein shall be made by delivering a copy thereof to such a person or by leaving a copy at the person’s usual place of abode with some person of suitable age and discretion then residing therein.  (See Minn. R. Crim. P. 22.03)

	FEES to be paid to witnesses shall be as follows:  (M.S. 357.22, 357.241, 357.242)

1) For attending in any action or proceeding in any court of record or before any officer, person or board authorized to take the examination of witnesses, $20 for each day.

2) For travel in going to and returning from the place of attendance, to be estimated from the witness’s residence, if within the state, or from the boundary line of the state where the witness crossed the same, if from out of state, 28 cents per mile.  (Additional fees may be available for out of state witnesses.)

Travel and attendance fees do not need to be tendered in advance.  A witness attending on behalf of the state or a public defender may obtain payment of fees by filing a certificate (set forth below) with the court administrator.  Other witnesses must obtain payment of fees from the party requesting their attendance, unless payment is approved by the court.
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	IF YOU WERE SUBPOENAED BY THE STATE, COMPLETE THIS SECTION:

	
	To receive payment as a witness for the state, you must complete the following certificate, have the prosecutor sign it, and then take the subpoena to the court administrator’s office, after you testify.  Payment will be mailed as soon as possible.

	
	I certify that I attended as a witness for the state on the following date(s)
	

	
	
	, and that I traveled
	
	miles round trip.

	
	Date
	
	Address
	

	
	
	
	City, State, Zip
	

	
	Signature
	
	Social Security Number
	

	
	I certify that the attendance of this witness was necessary.
	

	
	
	Prosecuting Attorney
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	IF YOU WERE SUBPOENAED BY THE DEFENDANT, COMPLETE THIS SECTION:

	
	To receive payment as a witness for the Defendant, you must complete the following certificate and give this subpoena to the defendant’s attorney.

	
	I certify that I attended as a witness for the defense on the following date(s)
	

	
	
	, and that I traveled
	
	miles round trip for attendance on the above date(s).

	
	Date
	
	Address
	

	
	
	
	City, State, Zip
	

	
	Signature
	
	Social Security Number
	

	
	I certify that the attendance of this witness was necessary.
	

	
	
	Public Defender

	
	Court approval for defense witness:
	

	
	Court approval for defense witness: ____________________________    

Court approval for parent/guardian accompanying juvenile:
	
	(See NOTES below)

	PLEASE NOTE:  A witness authorized to receive payment of attendance and travel fees through the court administrator may also obtain payment of reasonable expenses actually incurred for meals, loss of wages, and child care not to exceed $60 per day, by filing a separate application with the court administrator.  If approved, expenses will be included with the attendance and travel fees.  (M.S. 357.241)

	PLEASE NOTE:  In any proceeding where a parent or guardian attends the proceeding with a minor witness and the parent or guardian is not a witness, one parent or guardian shall be compensated in those cases where witness compensation is mandatory under sections M.S 357.22 or M.S. 357.241, and may be compensated when compensation is discretionary under those sections.  No more than a combined total of $60 may be awarded to the parent or guardian and the minor witness. (M.S. 357.242)

	
	
	
	
	Fees
	

	Office
	Certified for payment
	
	
	Mileage
	

	Use
	
	Date
	
	Expense
	

	Only
	
	
	Total
	

	
	Court Administrator/Deputy
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