STANDING ORDER

Re: Certifying Payable Misdemeanors as Petty
Misdemeanors

WHERAS, pursuant to the provisions of Rule 23.04 and 23.05, subd. 4 of the Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure and as directed in the attached letter from the Anoka County Municipal Prosecutors' Association, if a formal complaint is not filed and a defendant fails to schedule a court date or pay the fine amount within the time provided on the citation, or the defendant fails to appear for the arraignment hearing for an offense listed on the Statewide Payables List, the court approves the certification of any payable misdemeanor offense as a petty misdemeanor and Anoka County Court Administration shall amend the charges, and shall enter a guilty plea and conviction of the charge(s) 10 days after the failure to appear. Anoka County Court Administration shall assess the fine amount listed in the Statewide Payables List for each charge, not to exceed \$300.00, together with any applicable fees and surcharges, and shall refer the amount due for collection.

This Standing Order supersedes the Standing Order Certifying Payable Misdemeanors as Petty Misdemeanors signed on November 18, 2022.

SO ORDERED.

HON. KRISTIN C. LARSON Chair, Anoka District Court Bench A CPA

Anoka County Prosecutors' Association

Melissa Westervelt – President Sarah Kimball – Vice President Sami Corlew - Secretary

The Honorable Kristin Larson:

The municipal prosecutor group is requesting that the bench adopt the below procedure and handle these cases administratively.

Pursuant to the provisions of Rule 23.04 and Rule 23.05, subd. 4, of the Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure and as directed by request of the Anoka County Prosecutor's Association if a formal complaint is not filed and a defendant falls to schedule a court date or pay the fine amount within the time provided on the citation, the court approves the certification of any payable misdemeanor offense **as a** petty misdemeanor, and Anoka County Court Administration shall amend the charges, and shall enter a guilty plea and conviction of the charge(s) 10 days after the failure to appear. Anoka County Court Administration shall assess the fine amount listed in the Statewide payables List for each charge, not to exceed \$300.00, and any applicable fees and surcharges, and shall refer the amount due for collection.

Thank you,

Muissa d Wisterveit

Melissa A. Westervelt Anoka County Municipal Prosecutor Association President