Judge DeAnne M. Hilgers


Appointed Jan. 3, 2017, by Governor Mark Dayton. Elected in 2018. Current term expires Jan. 2025.


J.D., William Mitchell College of Law
B.A., University of Minnesota

Employment History:

  • Partner, Lindquist & Vennum, LLP, now Ballard Spahr LLP
  • Faculty mentor, St. Thomas School of Law Mentee Program
  • Adjunct professor, William Mitchell College of Law, now Mitchell Hamline School of Law
  • Judicial law clerk: 
    • Honorable Russell Anderson, Minnesota Supreme Court.
    • Honorable Michael Kirk, Seventh Judicial District
  • Reporter, The Forum, Fargo, ND

Professional and Community Activities:

  • Member, Minnesota Committee on Criminal Jury Instruction Guides
  • Member, Second Judicial District Family Violence Coordinating Council
  • Member, Second Judicial District Equal Justice Committee
  • Past Chair, Second Judicial District Children's Justice Initiative
  • Member, Minnesota District Judges Association
  • Member, Minnesota Bar Association
  • Member, Ramsey County Bar Association
  • Founder and Adult Leader, Scout Troop 7045, St. Paul
  • Board member, Allison H.O.P.E. Foundation
  • Past chair, American Immigration Lawyers Association - MN/Dakotas Chapter
  • Past board member, Immigrant Law Center of Minnesota
  • Past volunteer lawyer, The Advocates for Human Rights
  • Volunteer, From Houses to Homes