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STATE OF MINNESOTA 
 

IN SUPREME COURT 
 

ADM10-8002 

ORDER PROMULGATING AMENDMENTS 
TO THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT 
ON LAWYER REGISTRATION 

The Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration impose annual fees on 

licensed Minnesota attorneys to fund the operations and expenses of the supreme court’s 

regulatory boards.  Rule 1, Rules on Lawyer Registration (explaining the purpose of 

registration fees, “to help defray the cost” of regulating the profession).  Thus, collected 

registration fees are allocated among the court’s regulatory boards and offices.  See 

Rule 10(A), Rules on Lawyer Registration.  This includes allocation to the Lawyers 

Professional Responsibility Board and the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility 

(collectively, OLPR).  That allocation amount, however, has been insufficient to meet the 

OLPR’s needs, and the OLPR has been in deficit spending for many years.  Based on 

recommendations by the State Court Administrator’s Finance Division and a review of the 

budget needs for the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility, this deficit spending 

is unsustainable and requires increasing annual registration fees to meet the OLPR’s 

budgetary needs.  Accordingly, active status lawyer registration fees will be increased by 

$25 for registration statements due on or after January 1, 2025. 

We are also increasing the paper filing fee and amending Rule 10 so that fee 

allocations will be published to the website of the Lawyer Registration Office. 

October 16, 2024
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Based on all the files, records, and proceedings herein, and pursuant to the inherent 

authority of this court to regulate the practice of law, 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer 

Registration are amended as shown in the attachment to this order.  The Rules as amended 

are prescribed and promulgated to be effective for Lawyer Registration Statements that are 

due to be filed or are filed on or after January 1, 2025. 

Dated:  October 1 , 2024     BY THE COURT: 

Natalie E. Hudson 
Chief Justice
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Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration 
Adopted August 4, 1970 

With amendments effective January 1, 2025 
 

* * *  
 
Rule 5. Active Status Fees 
 
A. Admitted to Practice Law Three Years or More.  A lawyer or judge on active status 
who has been admitted to practice law for three years or more in any state, the District of 
Columbia, or any territory must pay an annual registration fee of $274299. 
 
B. Income Less Than $50,000.  A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the 
lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is 
less than $50,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $245270. 
 
C. Admitted to Practice Law Less Than Three Years.  A lawyer or judge who has been 
admitted to practice law less than three years in each and every state, the District of 
Columbia, or territory in which the lawyer or judge has been admitted, including 
Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of $128153. 
 

* * *  
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Rule 10. Allocation of Lawyer Registration Fees 
 
A. Registration Fees.  Lawyer registration fees paid pursuant to these Rules will be 
allocated as follows: determined by the Court.  The allocations will be published to the 
website of the Lawyer Registration Office at least two months before the payment due date. 

 
 $274 

payments 
$245 

payments 
$227 

payments 
$196 

payments 
$128 

payments 
$40 

payments 
State Board of Law 
Examiners 

$29 $29 $29 $29 $29 $25 

State Board of 
Continuing Legal 
Education 

$1 $1 $1 $1 $1 $0 

Lawyers 
Professional 
Responsibility 
Board 

$146 $146 $105 $103 $42 $15 

Client Security 
Fund 

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

Legal Services 
Advisory 
Committee  
(for civil legal 
services and grant 
program purposes) 

$75 $47 $71 $43 $37 $0 

Legal Services 
Advisory 
Committee  
(for a lawyers’ 
assistance 
program) 

$1321 $1320 $1319 $1318 $1317 $0 

Lawyer 
Registration Office 

$2 $2 $2 $2 $2 $0 

TOTAL $274 $245 $227 $196 $128 $40 
 

* * *  
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Rule 11. Registration Deadline 
 

* * *  
 
C. Paper Filing Fee.  The Lawyer Registration Office will add a fee of $1020 to the annual 
registration fee of each lawyer or judge who elects not to use the Online Registration 
System, which must be paid at the time of registration. 

 
* * *  


