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 MINNESOTA GUIDE & FILE  
 NEXT STEPS: Conciliation Court (Paper Filing) 

  

Below are the next steps for starting a Conciliation Court case when you have chosen to print your forms at 
the end of the Minnesota Guide & File interview.  

STEP 1: Review the completed forms  
• Are your forms complete? Is the information accurate and true? If you find any errors, go back into the 

interview (https://minnesota.tylerhost.net/SRL) and make changes.  

• Print all of the forms that you see listed on the Summary Page in the interview.  

STEP 2: Sign and date the completed forms 
• Sign and date the Statement of Claim form under penalty of perjury.  This means you are saying that 

everything in the form is true; if you know something in the form is not true when you sign it, you 
could be found guilty of the crime of perjury (see Minn. Stat. § 609.48, 
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.48).  

• If there is more than 1, each plaintiff must sign the Statement of Claim and the Additional Signatures 
page if more than two.   

• Sign and date the Affidavit of Inability to Pay (CCT104), if completed. Again, if there is more than 1 
Plaintiff, each Plaintiff must complete and sign the Affidavit of Inability to Pay.  

STEP 3: File the completed forms 
 

AT THE COURTHOUSE ELECTRONIC FILING (NOT USING GUIDE & FILE) 

• File the original Statement of Claim (CCT102) 
with Court Administration. You may also need 
to file the Additional Litigants Form (CCT702) 
and the Power of Attorney for Conciliation 
Court (CCT701), depending on your situation.  
 

• When you file the forms with Court 
Administration, there will be a civil filing fee 
due. If you cannot afford the filing fee, and you 
are not filing on behalf of a business, file the 
Affidavit of Inability (CCT104) with your 
Statement of Claim.  

• If you have an account with the eFS System  
(Minnesota Judicial Branch’s web-based system 
that is used to electronically file documents in 
Minnesota district and conciliation courts), you 
can file electronically.  Find more information 
online at https://www.mncourts.gov/efile .   

• Once you choose to eFile, you will need to 
continue to use the eFS System for the rest of 
the case. See Minn. R. Prac. 14.01(b)(5)(i) 
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/court_rules/gp/id
/14/ 
 

https://minnesota.tylerhost.net/SRL
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.48
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.48
https://www.mncourts.gov/efile
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/court_rules/gp/id/14/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/court_rules/gp/id/14/
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• Contact Court Administration in the county 
where you are filing for information on how to 
file your forms. You can find contact 
information online at 
https://www.mncourts.gov/Find-Courts.aspx 

  

• Along with the civil filing fee and costs, there is 
also a fee of $5 for using the eFS System.  
 

• Note: if you type your signature for electronic 
filing, a “/s/” is required before your name to 
create a typographical signature.  

 

STEP 4: Serve all of the parties  
• Rule 508(d) of the Minnesota General Rules of Practice describes how each defendant should be 

served with the Statement of Claim and the Summons.  If you are responsible for serving the defendant, 
Court Administration will include Instructions for Service, along with the Summons. 

• If your claim is less than $2500, and if a defendant’s address is within the county you’re filing in, then 
the Court Administrator will try to serve that defendant.   

• If your claim is for more than $2500, then you must serve each defendant by certified mail, and you 
must file proof of service with Court Administration within 60 days of when the Summons was issued.  
There will not be a hearing unless the proof of service is filed on time.  

o Fill out Conciliation Court Affidavit of Service (CCT103) after serving Defendant to prove service. 
Use the forms created in Guide & File, or you can download the form online at 
http://mncourts.gov/GetForms.aspx?c=10&f=172.    

• If a defendant does not live in Minnesota, you may be required to have that defendant personally 
served.  See Minn. Stat. § 491A.01, subd. 7, at 
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=491A.01#stat.491A.01.7.  Court Administration will 
send Instructions for Service along with the Summons. 

STEP 5: File Proof of Service  
Unless Court Administration served each defendant, you will need to file proof of service (Conciliation 
Court Affidavit of Service, CCT103) within 60 days of Court Administration issuing the Summons. Proof of 
service for each defendant must be filed before there can be a hearing. 

File the completed Affidavit of Service in the same method you filed your Statement of Claim. Note: If you 
decided to eFile your Statement of Claim, you must also eFile the completed Affidavit of Service for each 
defendant. Follow the same steps as above.  
 

STEP 6: Prepare for the hearing, then go to court  
• Conciliation Court hearings are informal, but you must be prepared to present your case. If a witness 

does not want to appear, you can ask Court Administration for a subpoena to compel them to appear. 
There is a fee for each subpoena. Written statements and affidavits of people who do not appear in 
court have very little value, and the judge may not accept them as evidence.  

https://www.mncourts.gov/Find-Courts.aspx
http://mncourts.gov/GetForms.aspx?c=10&f=172
http://mncourts.gov/GetForms.aspx?c=10&f=172
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=491A.01#stat.491A.01.7
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=491A.01#stat.491A.01.7
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• You should also bring all other relevant evidence to court such as receipts, repair bills, estimates, and 
other items to help prove your claim. If a defendant or some other person has documents relating to 
your claim that they will not give to you, you can get a subpoena to require the person to give you the 
documents. Before you go to court, prepare a list of facts you want to present. Organize your 
presentation as clearly and completely as possible so you will not forget important facts and details.  

• There is a 10-minute video on the Conciliation Court Help Topic on the MN Judicial Branch website 
called “How to Handle a Conciliation Court Hearing” that may help you prepare for your hearing. See 
https://www.mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Conciliation-Court.aspx#tab06Videos.  

• What happens if you do not appear for the hearing? All parties must appear at the hearing. If you do 
not appear at the hearing, the judge may dismiss your claim or award a "default" judgment against you 
on any counterclaims.   

• For more information about Conciliation Court, please look at the Conciliation Court Help Topic online 
at http://mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Conciliation-Court.aspx .  
 

Need Help? 

Call the Statewide Self-Help Center at 651-435-6535, or go to http://mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Self-Help-
Centers/Self-Help-Centers-Contact.aspx.  

For help with the eFS System (see Step 3 above), call the eFS Support Center at 612-902-9585 or 1-844-918-
1724 (if calling long distance from landline phone), or go to https://www.mncourts.gov/eFS-Support .   

https://www.mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Conciliation-Court.aspx#tab06Videos
http://mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Self-Help-Centers/Self-Help-Centers-Contact.aspx
http://mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Self-Help-Centers/Self-Help-Centers-Contact.aspx
https://www.mncourts.gov/eFS-Support
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