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MINNESOTA GUIDE & FILE
NEXT STEPS: Eviction Action Complaint (Paper Filing)

Below are the next steps for filing an Eviction when you are printing your forms at the end of the Minnesota Guide &

Filei

nterview.

STEP 1: Review the completed forms

SN

Are your forms complete? Is the information accurate and true? If you find any errors, go back into the
interview (https://minnesota.tylerhost.net/SRL) and make changes.

Print all of the forms that you see listed on the Summary Page in the interview.

STEP 2: Sign the Eviction Action Complaint

Sign the Eviction Action Complaint form under penalty of perjury. This means you are saying that everything in
the form is true; if you know something in the form is not true when you sign it, you could be found guilty of the
crime of perjury (see Minn. Stat. 8§ 609.48, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.48).

STEP 3: File the Eviction Action Complaint

Businesses filing in District Court must be represented by an attorney. The exception would be if filing in
Hennepin County. The attorney filing on behalf of the business must complete the contact information on the
signature page. If you are not sure if this applies to you, then you should talk with an attorney for legaladvice.

Is there more than one plaintiff? Each plaintiff must sign the Eviction Action Complaint.

AT THE COURTHOUSE

ELECTRONIC FILING (NOT USING GUIDE & FILE)

You will need to file the original Eviction Action
Complaint (HOU102) with Court Administration. You
may also need to file the Additional Litigants Form
(HOU120) and any attachments, as needed. Forexample,
a copy of the lease, Notice to Vacate, police reports, etc.

When you file the forms with Court Administration,
there will be a civil filing fee of at least $310 plus other
fees. You can find the filing fees for your county online
starting at http://mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Court-

Fees.aspx.

If you cannot afford to pay the filing fee, and you are not
a business, please fill out the Affidavit for Proceeding In
Forma Pauperis (IFP102) and the Proposed Order for
Proceeding In Forma Pauperis (IFP104) and file it when
you file the other Eviction forms. The forms are
available online at_
http://www.mncourts.gov/GetForms.aspx?c=19&p=69 .

If you have an account with the eFS System (Minnesota
Judicial Branch’s web-based system that is used to
electronically file documents in Minnesota district and
housing courts), you can file electronically. See_
http://www.mncourts.gov/eFile.

Once you choose to eFile, you will need to continue to
use the eFS System for the rest of the case. See Minn.
Gen. R. Prac. 14.01(b)(5)()
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/court_rules/rule.php?type=

gp&id=14).

Along with the civil filing fee and costs, there is also a
fee of $5 for using the eFS System.

A person, not filing as a business, who cannot afford to
pay the filing fee, can file the Affidavit for Proceeding In
Forma Pauperis (IFP102) and the Proposed Order for
Proceeding In Forma Pauperis (IFP104) and file it when
you file the other Eviction forms.
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* If you are filing on behalf of a business in Hennepin County, be sure to include a completed Power of Authority when
you file your forms.

STEP 4: Serve the Summons and Eviction Action Complaint on the Tenant

e The Court will create a Summons. A Summons is a written notice telling the Tenant that a legal action has been filed
and will be heard in court on a certain day. It also states that if the Tenant disagrees with the action or wants to tell a
different side of the story, they must appear in court at the time of the hearing.

You will need a copy of the Summons for each Tenant.

e You (the Plaintiff) cannot be the person who serves the Summons and Complaint. If you gave Power of Authority
to an agent, do not ask the agent to serve the papers. It is best not to ask the building manager to serve papers. Use a
neutral person who is over the age of 18, or pay a service of process agency or the Sheriff to serve the papers.

e Service of the Summons and Complaint must be completed at least 7 days before the hearing date. Example: If court
is on Friday, the last day to serve is Friday of the week before.

¢ A Summons and Complaint cannot be served on a legal holiday.

e Each named Tenant must be served. Example: if there are 3 tenants, each tenant must be served with a separate copy
of the Summons and Complaint. If there is a husband and wife and 2 children, the husband and wife must each be
served with a separate copy of the Summons and Complaint. Minor children should not be named as defendants or
served.

e A separate Affidavit of Service for each Tenant must be filed with the Court at least 3 working days before the court
hearing. Which Affidavit of Service form you use will depend on the type of service. There is more information
about the Affidavit of Service below.

e |f Section 8 is involved, the contract between the landlord and the Housing Authority may require the landlord to
serve a copy of the Summons and Complaint on the Housing Authority at the same time the papers are served on each
tenant.

An adult who is not involved with the case may act as the

Personal server and may hand the Summons and Complaint
Service: directly to the Tenant at least seven days before thecourt
date.
PERSONAL
SERVICE OF An adult who is not involved with the case may “serve”
the Summons and Complaint by leaving a copy of the
THE SUMMONS documents with a responsible person who lives with the

& COMPLAINT | Substitute Tenant. This person is then responsible for delivering the
Service: Summons and Complaint to the Tenant. Example: Joe
(HOU106) and John are adult roommates. If only Joe is home, the
server can leave 2 copies of the Summons and Complaint

with Joe, one for Joe and one for John.

The server fills out one Affidavit of Personal or Substitute Service (HOU106) for each Tenant. The server must sign the
Affidavit under penalty of perjury. Perjury is the crime of intentionally lying or misrepresenting the truth. The Affidavit of
Personal or Substitute Service is your proof that you had the Tenant served. File the completed Affidavits with the court
at least 3 working days before the hearing.

v
& It is always best if the Tenant is personally served with the Summons and Complaint. However, if you cannot find
the Tenant, you may be able to have Tenant served in another way called Mailing and Posting.
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1. Tenants cannot be found in the county AND

MAILING AND Use this

POSTING Of the method of 2. Personal or substitute service has been tried at least
twice on different days with at least one of the attempts

SUMMONS & service at service made between 6 and 10 p.m.

when:
COMPLAINT If the property is commercial instead of residential, the
attempts to serve are not required. Instead, there must be
proof that the commercial property is not occupied.

See the form Instructions — Service by Mail and Post (HOU107) for instructions on using this form of service online, as well
as the other forms you will need to fill out at http://www.mncourts.gov/GetForms.aspx?c=23&p=81.

STEP 5: Prepare for the hearing, then go to court

e The Landlord or Landlord’s attorney must attend the hearing or your case may be dismissed. If the Landlord is a
business, you must have an attorney in court. There is one exception to this rule. In Hennepin County, an officer or
agent with Power of Authority (signed and filed with the court) may appear and represent the business without a
lawyer, in Housing Court. If a decision is appealed to a judge or appellate court, an attorney will berequired.

e You may find it helpful to read the “How to Prepare for Trial in Housing Court” booklet which is available on the
Landlord/Housing Help Topics, along with a lot of other helpful resources online at http://www.mncourts.gov/Help-
Topics/Landlord-and-Tenant-Issues.aspx#tab07ToolsAndResources .

e Many eviction cases settle at court. The landlord and tenant should try to work out an agreement. In some counties, if
a trial with witnesses and evidence is needed, the trial will be scheduled for a separate date. In other counties, you
may be expected to have your witnesses ready at the first hearing date. For more information about what to expect at
an eviction hearing, contact court administration for the county where you are filing, and/or look at the court’s website
at http://www.mncourts.gov/Find-Courts.aspx and then pick your District/County.

Other Information

If you need interpreter services for the hearing, call court administration right away. The
court generally needs 48 hours notice (2 full days), excluding weekends and holidays, to
provide an interpreter.

Requesting an
Interpreter

If tenant’s behavior is seriously endangering the property or safety of other residents or the
owner, landlord can request that the eviction court date be scheduled within 5 to 7 days,
Expedited Hearing rather than 7 to 14 days. An additional affidavit is required, and a judicial officer must pre-
approve the request before court administration sets the date. A landlord can be fined up to
$500 for abuse of the expedited hearing process. See Minn. Stat. §504B.321 Subd.2.

An eviction action decides if the tenant must move. It does not include a judgment for rent
or other money owed.

Claims for rent and other money issues cannot be brought in housing court with the eviction
complaint and must be brought separately in either conciliation court or district court. Claims
that are less than $15,000 should be brought in Conciliation Court.

Claims over $15,000 must be filed in District Court.

Collecting the Rent
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Eviction Notice (Writ of
Recovery of Premises
and Order to Vacate)

A “Writ of Recovery of Premises and Order to Vacate” is a legal notice ordering the
Tenant to move and authorizing the sheriff to take certain actions if tenant does not move
voluntarily. It is issued by the court if the landlord wins an eviction action in court, the
landlord asks for the Writ, and pays a Writ fee.

Landlord takes the Writ to the sheriff. If the sheriff cannot find the tenants to serve the
Writ, the sheriff may post it in a noticeable place at the property.

The Tenant has 24 hours to remove all property and turn in keys. If the Tenant ignores the
notice, Landlord may contact the sheriff to schedule a “move out” time.

For more information, read Minn. Stat. § 504B.365 (Unlawful exclusion or removal; action
for recovery of possession).

Tenant’s Personal
Property

Minn. Stat. § 504B.271 covers what the landlord can do with property a tenant leaves
behind after moving out. For more information, see links to booklets published by the
Attorney General and other agencies, at www.mncourts.gov/selfhelp/?page=415

Need Help?

Call the Statewide Self-Help Center at 651-435-6535, or go to http://mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Self-Help-
Centers/Self- Help-Centers-Contact.aspx.

For help with the eFS System (see Step 3 above), call the eFile Support Center at 612-902-9585 or 1-844-918-1724
(if calling long distance from landline phone), or email eCourtMN@courts.state.mn.us.
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