MINNESOTA GUIDE & FILE
NEXT STEPS: Order for Protection (Paper Filing)

=

? Consider getting help from an advocate. A domestic abuse advocate knows the court process and can support
you through all the steps. There is a statewide directory of advocacy agencies at http://www.mcbw.org, that is a
resource available for all domestic abuse victims, and also by 24 hour phone line at 866-223-1111.

Below are the next steps for filing an Order for Protection when you have chosen to print your forms at the end of the
Minnesota Guide & File interview.

STEP 1: Review the completed forms {%\

e Are your forms complete? Is the information accurate and true? If you find any errors, go back into the interview
(https://minnesota.tylerhost.net/SRL) and make changes.

e Print all of the forms that you see listed on the Summary Page in the interview.

STEP 2: Sign the completed forms

e Sign Petitioner’s Affidavit and Petition for an Order for Protection form under penalty of perjury. This means you
are saying that everything in the form is true; if you know something in the form is not true when you sign it, you
could be found guilty of the crime of perjury (see Minn. Stat. § 609.48,_
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.48).

e Sign the Law Enforcement Information Sheet stating that everything is true and correct to the best of your
knowledge.

STEP 3: File the completed forms

AT THE COURTHOUSE ELECTRONIC FILING (NOT USING GUIDE & FILE)

» File the original Petitioner’s Affidavit and Petition for * |If you have an account with the eFS System

an Order for Protection (OFP102), along with any (Minnesota Judicial Branch’s web-based system that
attachments, and the Law Enforcement Information is used to electronically file documents in Minnesota
Sheet (OFP105) with court administration. district and conciliation courts), you can file

electronically. See http://mncourts.gov/efile.

If you asked to keep your address and/or phone number . . .
. . . . S » Once you choose to eFile, you will need to continue to
confidential, you will also need to file the Confidential
Address/Phone Request (OFP107) use the eFS System for the rest of the case. See
g ' Minn. Gen. R. Prac. 14.01(b)(5)(i)
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/court_rules/rule.php?typ

e=gp&id=14).
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STEP 4: Court will review the filed forms

e Once all of your forms are filed, a judicial officer will make a decision about your requests and issue an order.
When the order is ready, you will get a copy of the order.

o Read your order carefully. Did the judicial officer:

Grant your request for the temporary Order for Protection (Ex Parte Order)?

Deny your request for an Ex Parte Order?
Dismiss the case (not grant your request)?
Schedule a hearing (with or without an Ex Parte Order)?

©O 0o o

e [f the judicial officer GRANTS the Ex Parte Order, it will be effective immediately. The judicial officer may
have also ordered a hearing. If the judicial officer did not order a hearing, the Respondent has the right to
request a hearing within 5 days of service of the petition and Ex Parte Order.

If a hearing is ordered, the Order for Protection (OFP) will be in effect until the date of the hearing. Depending on
what happens at the hearing, the OFP may or may not continue.

o If the judicial officer DENIES the request for the Ex Parte Order and you have asked for a hearing, then court
administration will schedule a hearing. The court will send a notice of the date and time of the hearing to you and
to Respondent. There will be no OFP in effect before the hearing. You must attend the hearing. If you do not
attend the hearing, the OFP may be dismissed.

o If the judicial officer DISMISSES the case, this means that the judicial officer does not believe that what you
described in your petition fits the definition of domestic abuse, or may not have enough information to make a
decision. You can talk to a domestic abuse advocate or get legal advice to see what your options might be.

STEP 5: Service on Respondent

o A copy of any order (except dismissed OFPs) must be served on the Respondent. If your petition gave an
address in Minnesota where the Respondent can be served, court administration will send the documents to the
Sheriff who will try to personally serve the Respondent. There is no fee for thisservice.

Service is complete when the Sheriff’s Department personally delivers a copy of the papers to Respondent.
This can take a week or more.

¢ If Respondent is under 18 years old and you gave the court the name and address of the parent or legal
guardian, the court will mail a copy of the order to Respondent’s parent or legal guardian.

o If the Sheriff tried to personally serve Respondent but could not, you may ask the court for permission to serve
by another method, including publication. The Affidavit and Order for Alternative Service or Publication is
available on the Minnesota Judicial Branch website at http://www.mncourts.gov/GetForms.aspx?c=17&f=324 .
File the original, completed and signed form with the court.

o If the Respondent cannot be served within 14 days from the date the Ex Parte Order is signed, and an Affidavit
and Order for Alternate Service or Publication is not filed, the Ex Parte Order will expire. An OFP issued
after a hearing will not expire if the Respondent cannot be served.
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STEP 6: Prepare for the hearing and go to court (if hearing scheduled)

o If a hearing is scheduled, you must attend the hearing. If you do not attend the hearing, the OFP may be
dismissed.

o If you are granted an Ex Parte Order and Respondent asks for a hearing, the Ex Parte Order could be
dismissed if you do not attend the hearing and offer evidence about the domestic abuse.

Need Help?

Call the Statewide Self-Help Center at 651-435-6535, or go to http://mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Self-Help-Centers/Self-
Help-Centers-Contact.aspx.

For help with the eFS System (see Step 3 above), contact the eFile Support Center at 612-902-9585 or 1-844-918-1724
(if calling long distance from landline phone), or email eCourtMN@courts.state.mn.us.
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