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IMPORTANT 
ATTENTION PETITIONER 

IMPORTANTE 
ATENCIÓN PETICIONARIO 

 
 

Under the Minnesota Domestic Violence Act, an Order for 
Protection must be personally served on the respondent within 
14 days from the date of the order. If there is no hearing 
scheduled in your case, it is your responsibility to know 
whether the sheriff’s department has been able to serve the 
order within 14 days. You or your advocate can contact the 
sheriff’s department in the county where the order is being served 
to check on the status. 
 
Según la Ley de Violencia Intrafamiliar de Minnesota, la Orden de 
Protección debe ser servida personalmente al demandado dentro de 
14 días a partir de la fecha de la orden. Si no hay una audiencia 
programada en su caso, es su responsabilidad averiguar si el 
departamento del sheriff ha podido servir (entregar) la orden 
dentro de los 14 días. Usted o su intercesor pueden comunicarse 
con el departamento del sheriff del condado donde se entregó la 
orden para verificar el estado de la orden. 
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If the respondent has not been served within 14 days, you must 
come back to the court administrator’s office by the end of that day 
and sign an affidavit for publication. This allows the court to 
publish a notice in a legal newspaper to inform the respondent of 
the Order for Protection and the right to request a hearing. 
 
Si el demandado no ha sido servidao dentro de 14 días, debe 
regresar a la oficina del administrador del tribunal al final de ese 
día y firmar una declaración jurada para su publicación. Esto 
permite al tribunal publicar un aviso en un periódico legal para 
informar al demandado sobre la Orden de protección y el derecho 
a solicitar una audiencia. 
 
 
If your order is not served and you do not sign the affidavit for 
publication, your order will no longer be in effect. You will receive 
a notice in the mail indicating that your order has expired. 
 
Si su orden no se sirve y usted no firma la declaración jurada para 
su publicación, su orden dejará de estar en vigencia. Recibirá un 
aviso por correo postal que le indicará que su orden ha expirada. 


