
SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT 
FINANCIAL EARLY NEUTRAL EVALUATION PROGRAM 

ANNOUNCEMENT 

 

The Second Judicial District Financial Early Neutral Evaluation (“FENE”) Program seeks 
applications to expand the list of qualified FENE providers.  FENE is a voluntary, 
confidential and evaluative process designed to facilitate prompt dispute resolution of 
financial issues in dissolution proceedings. 

As set forth in Rule 114.13(e) of the Minnesota General Rules of Practice, all candidates 
must meet the following criteria: 

1. Be a qualified evaluative neutral pursuant to Rule 114.13(e) of the Minnesota 
General Rules of Practice; 
 

2. At least 5 years of experience as a family law attorney or as an accountant in marital 
dissolution related matters; 
 

3. Have completed or taught the financial early neutral evaluation FENE specialized 
training; 
 

4. Have completed two approved FENE ride-a-longs and submit who these were 
conducted with; or submit in writing an explanation of why this requirement should 
be waived. 
 

5. Be able to structure your practice to accommodate expedient scheduling 
requirements; 
 

6. Accept and abide by the Second Judicial District Family Court Division FENE sliding 
fee scale; 
 

7. Have an attorney or other applicable professional license in good standing with the 
State of Minnesota, either in active or retired status. 

Interested applicants may submit applications via the PASS system once the required 
WebEx training has been completed.  Applicants applying via PASS agree to pair with any of 
the providers on the Ramsey FENE roster. Applicants should send an email to 
PASS@courts.state.mn.us, listing Ramsey County in the subject line, detailing when, and 
with whom, the two required Ride-alongs were completed or explaining why a waiver of 
the Ride-along requirement should be granted. 

Applicants may also apply outside of the PASS system. This preserves the option to select 
specific pairings.   To apply, please send a cover letter addressing the criteria listed in this 
announcement, and including a copy of your resume, by June 30, 2018 to:  

mailto:PASS@courts.state.mn.us


 

Second Judicial District Family Court Division 
ATTN: Terri Barett 
15 West Kellogg Boulevard, room 160 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55102 
 

RAMSEY COUNTY FEE SCHEDULE 
FINANCIAL EARLY NEUTRAL EVALUATION 

Effective June 1, 2011 
 

NOTE: Each party’s FENE hourly rate is to be determined individually. 
 
For Parties Who Are Represented By Counsel: 

The FENE fee for a party represented by counsel is one-half the hourly rate charged 
by that party's counsel. Counsel shall provide Court and the FENE evaluator with his 
or her hourly rate. In the event that more than one attorney at a firm represents the 
party, the highest hourly rate charged to the party shall be used to determine that 
party's FENE hourly rate. 
 

For Parties Not Represented By Counsel: 
The FENE fee for a party who is not represented by counsel is to be determined 
based upon their gross annual income using the following sliding fee scale: 
 

0-$25,000 gross per year: $25 per hour 
 
$25,000 - $50,000 gross per year: $50 per hour 
 
$50,000 - $75,000 gross per year: $75 per hour 
 
$75,000 - $100,000 gross per year: $100 per hour 
 
$100,000 - $125,000 gross per year: $125 per hour 
 
$125,000 - $150,000 gross per year: $150 per hour 
 
Over $150,000 gross per year: $175 per hour 
 

For Parties With A Current IFP: 
1. The FENE fee for a party who has a current IFP and who is not represented by 
counsel, or has a pro bono attorney, shall be a one-time flat fee of $50. 
 
2. The FENE fee for a party who has a current IFP and who is represented by 
counsel, shall be one-half the hourly rate charged by that party's counsel. Counsel 
shall provide Court and the FENE evaluator with his or her hourly rate. In the event 
that more than one attorney at a firm represents the party, the highest hourly rate 
charged to the party shall be used to determine that party's FENE hourly rate. 

 


