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Foster Care - Definition 
"Foster care" means 24 hour substitute care for children placed 
away from their parents or guardian and for whom a responsible 
social services agency has placement and care responsibility. 

 

 "Foster care" includes, but is not limited to, placement in foster 
family homes, foster homes of relatives, group homes, emergency 
shelters, residential facilities not excluded in this subdivision, 
child care institutions, and preadoptive homes.  
  



Foster Care Definition continued… 
A child is in foster care under this definition regardless of whether the facility is licensed 
and payments are made for the cost of care. Nothing in this definition creates any 
authority to place a child in a home or facility that is required to be licensed which is not 
licensed.  

"Foster care" does not include placement in any of the following facilities: hospitals, 
inpatient chemical dependency treatment facilities, facilities that are primarily for 
delinquent children, any corrections facility or program within a particular correction's 
facility not meeting requirements for title IV-E facilities as determined by the 
commissioner, facilities to which a child is committed under the provision of chapter 
253B, forestry camps, or jails.  

Foster care is intended to provide for a child's safety or to access treatment. Foster care 
must not be used as a punishment or consequence for a child's behavior. 

  



Children living with a parent  
Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.201, subd. 1 

  

Noncustodial Parent                    Trial Home Visit  
• Court may place the child in 

need of protection or services 
under protective supervision of 
the responsible social service 
agency, and  

• Order the child into the home of 
the noncustodial parent,  

• Child is not in foster care 
placement.  

 

• Court transferred legal custody to 
the responsible social service 
agency, child is placed in foster 
care. 

• Court may order a trial home visit 
without modifying the transfer of 
legal custody, and  

• returned to the care of the parent 
from whom the child was removed. 

• Child is in foster care placement.  
 



Children in Foster Care 
Right from the Beginning: Child Safety, 

Permanency and Wellbeing 
consider 

Proper Planning Promotes Permanency*  
 

              P 
  



Reasonable Efforts  
to finalize permanency plan 
Minnesota Statutes, section 260.012 

• Reunify child with parent from whom the child was removed 

• Assess a noncustodial parent to provide day-to-day care of the child 

• Conduct a relative search and provide notice to adult relatives  

• Place siblings removed from their home in the same home for foster care, 
adoption or transfer of permanency legal and physical custody to a relative 
when a child cannot return to the parent from whom the child was removed, 
plan for and finalize a safe and legally permanent alternative home for the 
child.  

 *ICWA required identification of an Indian Child and Tribal Notice 

 Reference Indian Child Welfare Act Active Efforts Best Practice Guide (DHS 5572) 



Relative Search and Notice 
 

 

 The first step to relative foster care placement  
  



Relative Search – Due Diligence 
Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.221 

 
Responsible agencies shall exercise due diligence to Identify and notify 
adult relatives: 
• Prior to placement 
• Within 30 days after the child’s removal  
• Court order or voluntary placements  
• Maternal and paternal relatives of the child’s parents – Paternity does 

not need to be adjudicated 
 
Sample notice letters are in SSIS 
  
  



Relative Search – Due Diligence 
continued… 
 

Agency efforts (due diligence) to identify relatives: 

• Includes getting information from the child – with whom have 
they lived or had contact 

• Must meet active effort requirements and placement 
preferences for ICWA cases 

• May use internet and other reasonable means 

• Release from parents is not required 
  



Relative Search – Notices 
Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.221  

Notice must include: 

1. Child’s need for foster care placement, the option to be a placement 
resource and the possible need for a permanent placement  

2. Relative’s responsibility to keep the agency and court informed of their 
current address to receive notice of permanency progress review hearing 
and permanent placement 

3. Relative’s decision to not be identified as a potential permanent 
placement resource or participate in planning for the child at the beginning 
shall not affect whether they are considered for placement later 

  



Relative Search – Notices 
continued… 
 

Notice requirements: 

4. Relative may participate in the care and planning for the child. Care and planning 
includes but is not limited to: 

• Participation in case planning for the parent and child 

• Identifying the strengths and needs of the parent and child 

• Supervising visits 

• Providing respite and vacation visits for child 

• Providing transportation for appointments   

• Suggesting other relatives who might be able to help support the case plan 

• Helping maintain, to the extend possible,  the child’s regular activities,  and contact 
with friends and family 

  



Relative Search – Notices 
continued… 
 

Notice requirements concluded: 

5. Family foster care licensing requirements, including how to complete an 
application, request a variance from licensing standards and supports 
available 

 

6. Relative’s right to ask to be notified of any court proceeding regarding 
the child, to attend hearings and of the relatives right or opportunity to be 
heard by the court.  

  



Placement decision  
Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.212, subd. 2 

 

When removal from the parental home is 
necessary, relatives are the first considered for 
placement  
  



Placement decision 
continued… 

 County agency must make an individualized determination to select a home that meets 
the needs of the child, including:  
 • Child’s current functioning and behavior  

• Child’s medical needs  
• Child’s educational needs  
• Child’s developmental needs  
• Child’s history and past experiences 
• Child’s religious and cultural 
• Child’s connections with community, 

school, faith 
• Child’s interest and talents 
• Child’s relationships to current caretakers, 

parents, siblings and relatives 

• Reasonable preference of the child  
For Indian Children, defined in Minnesota 
Statutes section 260.755, subd. 2a.          
Best interest of an Indian Child supports the 
child’s sense of belonging to family, 
extended family and tribe.  
Best Interest of an Indian child are 
interwoven with the best interest of the 
Indian child’s tribe.  
 

 



ICWA and Tribal Placement Preferences  
Any local social service agency or private child placing agency 
considering placement on a Indian child shall make active 
efforts to identify and locate extended family members.  
Minnesota Statutes, section 260.761, subd.7 

 

Indian Child Welfare Act, Active Efforts Best Practices, (DHS 5572)  
  



Agency considers relative placement… 
Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.221 

 

•Without delay, right from the beginning  

•Whenever a child must move 

•Whenever a child is returned to foster care 



Relative Search*- Review Hearing 
At a regularly scheduled hearing, no later than  3 months after placement - 
report to court: 

• Efforts to identify maternal and paternal relatives, engage relatives, and 
document that they have been properly notified  

• Document agency’s individual determination using the 10 best interest 
factor to selects a home  that meets the needs of the child  

• Disclose data about particular relatives identified, searched for and 
contacted.  (Consult with County Attorney about  specific data practices 
questions)  

 
 *Minnesota Statutes, sections, 260C.193, 260C.201, 260C.202, 260C.212 and 260C.221 

 

 

  



Relative Search*- Review Hearing 
At a regularly scheduled hearing, no later than  3 months after placement :  

• If the court is satisfied that the agency has exercised due diligence, the 
court may find that the agency has made reasonable efforts to conduct a 
relatives search to identify and  properly notify relatives 

• If the court is not satisfied that the agency has exercised due diligence, 
the court may order the agency to continue its search and notice efforts 
and to report back to the court 

 

  

 *Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.193, 260.202 and 260C.22 



Relative Search*- Review Hearing 
After the finding that the agency has made reasonable efforts to conduct a 
relative search, the agency:  

 Has the continued responsibility to appropriately involve relatives who 
have responded to the notice  

 Consider placement with a relative anytime the child must move or be 
returned to foster care 

 

  

 *Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.202 and 260C.2 



Child Foster Care Licensing 



Why is child foster care  
licensing required? 

All children in foster care must be provided with the 
protections established in Title IV-B and IV-E of the 
Social Security Act. 

Section 471 of the Social Security Act requires states to 
be responsible for establishing and maintaining 
standards for foster family homes 



24 

What governs Child Foster Care 
licensing?? 
 Human Services Licensing Act  (Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A) 

 

 Rule 2960  (Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000–2960.3340) 
         

 Rule 13  (Minnesota Rules, parts 9543.0010-9543.0150) 
 

 Rule 4   (Minnesota Rules, parts 9545.0755-9545.0845) 
                  

 Human Services Background Studies Act   (Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245C) 
 

  and in some cases…      Home and Community-Based Services Standards 
                                         (Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245D) 
  

      

 

 

             

 

  

    

     

 



Types of Child Foster Care 

“Foster family setting” – means a foster home in which the license holder 
resides 
 
“Foster residence setting” – means a foster home in which the license holder 
does not reside 
 
“Treatment foster care” – means a culturally relevant, community-based 
and family-   based method by which planned, integrated treatment services 
are provided to foster children and their parents by foster parents who are 
qualified to deliver treatment services. 

 

  



Emergency Relative Placement 
                                               (Minnesota Statutes 245A.035) 



Regulation 7- Sending State  
Important Items to Note 

 The local agency needs to submit the complete request, including Regulation 7 court order 
within 3 business of court order signature. MN ICPC must submit the request to receiving state 
within  2 business days. (5 business days from signature of court order) 

 The specific expedited court order needs to be in compliance with Regulation 7.  

 Only a relative home study can be requested for a Regulation 7 ICPC request.  

 The child can not be currently residing (or visiting) at the placement resource’s home.  

 



Expedited Placement Decision Criteria 
 Child is under jurisdiction of child welfare agency and placement of the child is 
being considered in another state with a parent, stepparent, grandparent, adult 
uncle or aunt, adult brother or sister, or the child’s guardian and the case must 
meet one of the following: 

unexpected dependency due to a sudden or recent incarceration, 
incapacitation or death of a parent or guardian 

the child sought to be placed is four years of age or younger, 
including older siblings sought to be placed with the same proposed 
resource 

the court finds that any child in the sibling group sought to be placed 
has a substantial relationship with the proposed resource  

the child is currently in an emergency placement 



 Relative Placement Requests 

 In Minnesota placement resources, who receive a child for 
care, are required to pursue and complete foster care 
licensing.  Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.035, provides a 
process for suitable relatives to immediately receive a child 
for placement until they are licensed. 

 Other states may have not have similar requirements.  
Relative studies will be completed and a recommendation 
provided – it is not ok to assume the resource will be 
automatically licensed for foster care 



ICPC Request Process 
Completes 100A and requests home study.  
Submits this along with supporting documents 

Reviews packet for completeness and for  
Compliance with sending state laws 

Reviews packet for completeness and compliance 
with receiving state laws and rules. Requests 
the local agency review the proposed placement. 

If placement is approved by receiving state, the 
home study is reviewed and a placement 
determination is made.  

Reviews packet for completeness and for  
compliance with sending state laws. 

Reviews packet for completeness and for  
compliance with receiving state laws and rules. 
Reviews recommendation and approves or  
denies placement.  

Conducts home study assessment and makes recommendation on the 
suitability of the proposed placement.  

Sending Agency: 

Public or private 

agency, or court 

Sending State 

ICPC  administrator 

Receiving State 

ICPC administrator 

Local Agency in  

receiving state 



Unlicensed Emergency Relative 
Placement  

 A county agency may place a child with a relative who is not licensed to 
provide foster care. 

 Relative means a person related to the child by blood, marriage, 
adoption, or is an important friend with whom the child has lived or had 
significant contact. 

 For an Indian child, the child’s tribe determines who is defined as a 
relative. 



Regulation No. 7 – Priority Placement 
 The court in the sending state must determine that a priority placement is required – a court order must be 
prepared. 

 The court order is only valid if it contains one or more of the following circumstances: 
◦ The proposed placement is a relative, and, the child is under two; or, the child is in an emergency shelter; or the court finds that 

the child has spent a substantial amount of time in the home of the proposed placement recipient.   

◦ The receiving state has a completed ICPC request and the sending agency has not received a placement recommendation. 

 A placement determination must be made as soon as possible, but no later than 20 business days from the 
date the request was received by the receiving state. As a receiving state it is important this deadline is 
upheld.  



Agencies may place children with relatives prior to 
licensure when they have the responsibility for 
placement… 

 Law enforcement hold (72 hour hold)  

 Voluntary placement agreement:  

    *Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.227  

     *Minnesota Statutes, section 260D.03 

 Juvenile Court ordered foster care:  

*Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.178 – Emergency Removal  

*Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.201 – Disposition  

*Minnesota Statutes, section260B.198 -  Disposition, Delinquency 

  



Preliminary background study 
Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.209 

 The county agency that is making the placement 
should conduct a background study as part of an 
emergency placement process.  This does not take 
the place of the Adam Walsh background study 
that must be completed by DHS prior to licensure. 

 

  



Under what circumstances should a 
child NOT be placed with a relative? 
 If anyone requiring a background study has a 

disqualification that cannot be set aside, an 
emergency placement must not be made. 

 If there are physical plant concerns that may 
immediately affect the health and safety of a child 
being placed in the home, placement should not be 
made  

  



The county that places a child with an 
unlicensed relative must… 

 Conduct an initial inspection of the home, whenever possible, prior to 
placing the child in the relative’s home, but no later than 72 hours after 
placing the child in the home.   

 

 The county agency shall conduct the inspection using the home safety 
checklist and the child foster care addendum. 

 

 At the time of the inspection or placement, whichever is earlier, the county 
agency must provide the relative with a child foster care application form. 

  



The Home Safety Checklist and the CFC 
Addendum… 

 Used by the placing worker for the preliminary inspection of the 
home 

 Items that need completion should be indicated on the 
checklist 

 Very important to address sleeping space for the relative foster 
children on the addendum 

 Provide to the licensing worker along with the application 
materials 



In addition… 

The placing county must provide the application 
materials to the relative…this includes the following: 

 The Minnesota Adoption and Foster Care 
Application 

 Initial background study information 

 Fingerprints 
  



For relatives with a child already in 
placement 

They must complete the child foster care 
license application within ten days of the 
placement. 

 

The county agency must assist them in 
completing the application. 

  



When two county agencies are 
involved… 
A county agency making an emergency relative placement in a 
different county must complete the Emergency Relative 
Placement Foster Care Referral Form and provide the form to the 
child foster care licensing unit in the receiving county.   

 

It is essential that the information regarding the placement be 
provided as soon as the placement is made in order to begin the 
licensing process. 



The Bulletin…Procedures for Emergency 
Relative Foster Care Placements 

Bulletin #11-68-05 has complete 
information regarding emergency relative 
placements 

The bulletin is in the process of being 
updated 

  



The licensing process is the same for all 
applicants… relatives and non-relatives 

 According to Minnesota Statutes, 245A.035, 
subd. 5 

 “The granting of a child foster care license to a 
relative applicant shall be under the procedures 
in this chapter and according to the standards in 
Minnesota rules, chapter 2960.” 



Things to note… 
To be licensed by a county – the application 

must be made in the county of residence 

While not common, relative applicants may 
choose to be licensed by a private child-
placing agency rather than the county in 
which they live 



Application… 
The primary application to become licensed for child 

foster care and approved for adoption is the 
Minnesota Adoption and Foster Care Application 

 In addition, applicants are required to complete the 
Family Systems Child Foster Care supplemental 
application that includes specific licensing 
requirements that are not on the primary application 

  



Once an application has been 
received… 
A background study must be completed for all 

required individuals 
Minnesota Statutes, section 245C.03, subdivision 1, 

defines who requires a background study 

Adam Walsh BGS - completed by DHS  

Age 18 and above – fingerprint-based 

Under age 18 – NetStudy only 
 
 

  



Background study notices 

Clearance notice 

Clearance notice with data forward 

Disqualification letter  
  



If an applicant has a disqualification… 
 They may request reconsideration of the disqualification (DQ) 

 Information in the letter provides timelines and 
information related to requesting reconsideration of the 
DQ 

 If the DQ is a permanent bar – only the correctness of the 
disqualifying information can be reviewed if the applicant 
requests reconsideration 

  



For relative applicants… 

The commissioner shall consider the importance 
of maintaining the child’s relationship with 
relatives as an additional significant factor in 
determining whether a disqualification should be 
set aside or a variance granted. 

 
(Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.035, subd. 5) 



When is a fire safety inspection 
required? 

Here are the “triggers”… 
 Free standing solid fuel heating appliance 

 

 Manufactured home built before 6/15/76 

 

 Licensing agency identifies hazard in single-family home or mixed or multiple occupancy 
building 

 

 Home is licensed for 4 or more foster children 

 

 Room used for foster child to sleep is 50% or more below ground level 



The Home Safety Checklist 
All items on the home safety checklist and CFC 

addendum must be completed prior to 
licensure 

  



Beyond the physical plant…other 
requirements 
 Statement of Intended Use 

 Review of the Foster Parent Agreement Form 

 Individual fact sheets for applicants and adult household 
members 

 Family Disaster Plan 

 Drug & Alcohol Use Policy; Grievance Procedure; 
Discipline Policy 

 

  



Training 
 Children’s mental health training – 2 hours initial 

 Sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head 
trauma training if providing care to children through 
five years of age 

 Child passenger Restraint Systems Training if 
providing care for children under nine years of age 

 Orientation – 6 hours – there are specific 
requirements in the rule, but the training listed 
above may be counted in the 6 hours 

 

 
 



Home Study Assessment 
 This document is the agency assessment of the applicants 

ability to provide a safe and healthy environment for 
children 

 It must be on the Commissioner’s Designated Format, 
and is completed by the licensing agency 

  



Variances 
 

County and child placing agencies may grant 
variances to CFC rules that do not affect the health 
or safety of persons in a licensed program 

Family Systems has identified some parts of the 
CFC rule that may be varied  

 

 

 

  



The Fostering Connections to 
Success and Increasing Adoptions Act 
 

Clarified that states may grant variances to licensing 
standards that do not effect health and safety on a 
case-by-case basis in order to eliminate barriers to 
placing children safely with relatives in licensed 
homes. 

  



Once all licensing requirements are 
completed… 

 The county or private child-placing agency 
sends the recommendation for licensure to 
DHS or… 

 The county recommends a denial of the 
license application 

  



Financial/Medical Responsibility When a child is 
placed out of the Minnesota 

 

A financial/medical form –must be submitted with each ICPC request 
and must indicate: 

◦ That the sending state is financially responsible for the child/ren  
◦ What type of financial assistance the placement resource will receive 
◦ If the child/ren is IV-E eligible 
◦ What type of medical coverage the child will be eligible to receive 

Coverage may be different depending on the state where the family 
resides. 

Not ALL children receiving Northstar Kinship Assistance will be           
eligible for Medical Assistance in the families state of residence 



A quick snapshot… 
 From July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015 – 
1,352 new licensed CFC homes 

 In the same time period, DHS issued 115 
denials of CFC licensing applications 



Breaking it down… 
 68 – due to a disqualification of an applicant 

 16 – due to a disqualification of another individual 
requiring a background study 

 1 –  due to substantiated maltreatment 

 30 – due to failure to complete licensing 
requirements or serious/chronic licensing violations 
(e.g. false and misleading info, failure to submit BGS) 



Northstar Care for Children 
  

 *See Ann Ahlstrom handout 



Impact of placing a foster child in a home 
that cannot be licensed: Safety  

Foster child is not provided safety protocols set in the licensing 
standards as required by federal and state law.  

 

Child is not eligible for the foster care lability insurance, leaving the 
child and relative without liability coverage. [Minnesota Statutes, 
section 245.814] 

  

  



Impact of placing a foster child in a home that cannot be licensed:  
Transfer of Permanent and Legal and Physical Custody   

  

 Northstar Kinship Assistance eligibility requires: 
  

1. The foster child must be placed with the prospective relative custodian who has 
been a licensed foster parent for at least six months, or  

2. Commissioner has granted an exemption from the six month requirement, and  
3. The prospective relative custodian and household members complete a background 

study that meets the requirements 
  
Eligibility not required if the prospective relative custodians decline Northstar Kinship 
Assistance, written notice required.   
Northstar Kinship financial support is not available when eligibility is not met.   

 [Section 473 (d) of the Social Security Act and Minnesota Statutes, section 256N. 22]  

  



Impact of placing a foster child in a home 
that cannot be licensed: Adoption  

 Child Foster care licensing is not required for adoption, but if the prospective 
adoptive parent(s) have not completed the following, the adoption cannot proceed:  

•Completed Adam Walsh background study, and  

•Approved written home study.  

 

Prospective adoptive parents may decline Northstar Adoption Assistance, written 
notice suggested.   

  

 [Section 473 of the Social Security Act and Minnesota Statutes, sections 256N. 23 and 
259.41]  

  



Federal and Minnesota 
Legal Requirements for 
Child Foster Care 
HELPFUL INFORMATION FOR JUDGES AND COUNTY ATTORNEYS  



Thank you   
THE END  


