
 

 
CHIPS TO PERMANENCY TIMELINE  

Required Timing for Permanency Proceedings under Minnesota Statutes Chapter 260C  
except CHIPS By-pass Cases and Voluntary Placements 
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Month Day Event Other 

1 

1 Child enters foster care by: 

1. Law enforcement hold; or 

2. Order for immediate custody; or 

3. Voluntary placement agreement 

Voluntary placement may occur by agreement under: 
1. Minn. Stat. Chapter 260D (for children who are emotionally disturbed or 

developmentally disabled to access treatment); 

2. Minn. Stat. 260C.227; 
3. Minn. Stat. 260C.229 (youth age 18 and older) 

Each type of voluntary has unique court review and permanency requirements. 

3 Emergency Protective Care Hearing If child is removed involuntarily, CHIPS petition is filed within 72 hours.
  

Minn. Stat. § 
260C.176;  MRJPP 33.05 requires petition to be filed at or prior to EPC hearing 

3-13 

 

Admit/Deny Hearing 

 

Scheduling Order 

If ICWA case, service must take place 10 days prior to hearing; tribe may request up to 20 
more days. 25 U.S.C. § 1912; MRJPP 34.02, subd 1 (d).  

Scheduling order must issue at or within 15 days of this hearing.  MRJPP 6.02 

30 

 

 

Out of Home Placement Plan filed Court may approve plan based on contents of CHIPS petition, and implementation of 
approved plan may be basis for reasonable efforts determination.  Minn. Stat. § 

260C.178, subd. 7; MRJPP 37.02, subd. 4 

Minnesota Assessment of Parenting for Children and Youth is completed by agency.  
Minn. Stat. § 256N.24 
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14-53 Pretrial Hearing Must be held at least 10 days prior to trial. MRJPP 36.01 

63, but not 

later than 

day 93 

 

CHIPS Trial CHIPS matters come to trial by day 63; county attorney determines whether criminal or 

juvenile case proceeds first in cases of egregious harm. Minn. Stat. § 260C.503, subd. 
2(d); MRJPP 39.02 subd. 1(d) 

78 or within 

15 days of 

conclusion of 

testimony at 

trial 

 

Findings and Adjudication 

 

 

Disposition 

 

 

Court may extend total time for findings to 30 days under MRJPP 39.05, if extension is 

in the interests of justice and best interests of child. MRJPP 39.05; 
To extent practicable, disposition is entered same day as adjudication; MRJPP. 41.02. 

If disposition cannot be entered the same day, R. 41.02 requires disposition to be ordered 

within 10 days of date petition is found proved.  See also last paragraph of Minn. Stat. § 
260C.201, subd. 1(b) 

At least every 

90 days as 

long as child is 

in foster care 

until there is 

permanency 

order 

 

 

Review Hearings At any review hearing: 

1. Child may be returned home if parent has made progress on case plan and mitigated 
unsafe conditions to the point home is safe for the child; or 

2. If parent is not making significant progress on case plan, agency can move to 

permanency. 
Hearings review parent(s) progress on case plan, afford an opportunity to correct 

problems with services, and address barriers to reunification; also afford opportunity to 

ensure parent knows consequences to both parent and child of failure to comply with 
case plan.  MRJPP 41.06, subd. 2 

6 
180 

 

 

 

Permanency Progress Review 

Hearing 

See table on next page. 

11 
335 Permanency Pleadings filed Permanency petition filed by month 11.  MRJPP 42.01, subd. 1(b), and 42.04, subd 2; 

see also Minn. Stat. § 260C.505 

12 

365 

 

Admit/Deny Hearing Finding required regarding whether the permanency petition statues a prima facie case 
that the agency has made reasonable efforts to reunify the child with the parent. MRJPP 

34.03, subd. 3 and 4; Minn. Stat. § 260C.507(c) 

    14 
Not later than 

425 

Permanency Trial Trial, if any, must commence within 60 days of admit/deny hearing. 

MRJPP 39.02; Minn. Stat. § 260C.509 
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Within 15 

days 

Permanency Order issued by court 15 days runs from the conclusion of testimony.  Court permitted to extend the time 15 

days to a total of 30 days if the court finds an extension of time is required in the 

interests of justice and the best interests of the child.  MRJPP 39.05, subd. 1 

Within 10 

days 

Post-trial motions, if any 10 days runs from service of notice of filing by court administrator;   response is due 
within 5 days of service of post-trial motion; hearing on post-trial motion is within 10 

days of date the post-trial motion is filed; decision on post-trial motion is required within 

10 days of conclusion of hearing, if any.   MRCPP 45.01 

 

Within 20 

days 

 

Notice of Appeal 

 

20 days runs from service of notice of filing of the order: 

 finding petition proved and ordering permanency 

 finding petition not proved; or 

 disposing of the last post-trial motion.   MRJPP 47.02, subd. 2 
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Permanency Progress Review Hearing at Six Months 

 

When 

 
Required at 6 months for all children removed from home who continue in foster care or in the care of a noncustodial parent.  See Minn. Stat. § 

260C.204 (a) 

Agency is required to submit a report to the court at least 5 days prior to the hearing which addresses elements of the court’s required findings in 
Minn. Stat. § 260C.204;  see MRJPP 38.05 

 

Purpose Check-in about progress on permanency planning for the child;  make decisions about direction of case for next 6 months 
 

Notice All parties and participants plus any relative who responded to the agency’s notice to relatives provided during initial relative search under Minn. 

Stat. § 260C.221 or asked to be notified of court proceedings regarding the child under Minn. Stat. § 260C.152, subd. 5 

 

Court review Agency 

1. Reasonable or active efforts for 

reunification (what has the agency done 
to support the implementation of the 

case plan or out-of-home placement 

plan?  Have the efforts been relevant to 
the safety and protection of the child, 

adequate, culturally appropriate, 

available and accessible, consistent and 
timely, and realistic?)  See Minn. Stat. § 

260.012, subd. (h) 

2. Reasonable efforts to finalize the 
permanency plan for the child (has the 

agency provided services and support 

for both parents, completed the relative 
search and placement considerations, 

identified a Plan B, and concurrent 

permanency planning) See Minn. Stat. § 
260.012(e) 

3. If ICWA, active efforts to prevent the 

breakup of the Indian family 
 

Parent 

Progress on the case plan or out-of-home 

placement plan 
1. Was parent involved in development of 

case plan? 

2. Does parent understand and agree with 
goals and what services are being 

provided? 

3. Are there barriers to receiving services? 
4. Is the parent seeing the child regularly and 

is visitation meaningful (does it help learn 

appropriate parenting?) 

Child 

Well-being 

1. Is child in Plan B home? 
2. Has child received necessary 

developmental, health, mental health, 

trauma, and educational assessments? 
3. Is the child receiving appropriate follow-

up services? 

4. How is the child doing in placement and 
in school? 

5. If ICWA, is child placed according to the 

ICWA placement preferences? 
6. Is the child placed with a relative? 

7. Is the child visiting parents, siblings, and 

other relatives? 

Possible 

Outcomes 

If parent is complying with case plan and 

visiting child, the court may: 
1. return the child home, if the conditions 

which led to the out-of-home placement 

have been sufficiently mitigated that it is 
safe and in the child's best interests to 

return home; or 

2. continue the matter up to a total of six 
additional months. 

 

If parent is not complying with case plan or 

is not visiting the child, the court may order 
the agency to: 

1. develop a plan for legally permanent 

placement of the child away from the 
parent; 

2. develop and implement Plan B, 

including placement with relatives 
3. file a permanency petition within 30 

days 

 

Timing  
If the court orders a  permanency petition to 
be filed: 

Petition is required to be filed within 30 days; 

Trial is required within 60 days of the filing 
of the petition 

See Minn. Stat. § 260C.204(d) 
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