
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Adult DWI Court 

Cost 

Participants are required to pay a Correctional 

Service Fee and a $300 DWI Court Participant 

Fee.  Additional cost may include: treatment,    

alcohol monitoring & testing, ignition interlock 

device, fines, and restitution. 

Mission Statement 

The mission of the Fourth Judicial District Adult 

DWI Court program is to increase public safety 

and reduce the number of alcohol related traffic 

deaths and injuries by effectively partnering the 

justice system and community resources to focus 

on the specific issues of repeat DWI offenders.  

 

Funding 

The program is funded through grants from the 

Minnesota Department of Public Safety, the     

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 

and other local and state support. 

 

A Partnership of: 

 Fourth Judicial District Court 

 Hennepin County Department of Community    

Corrections & Rehabilitation (DOCCR) 

 Hennepin County Health & Human Services  

 Hennepin County Public Defender’s Office 

 Hennepin County Sheriff’s Office 

 Hennepin County Attorney’s Office 

 Minneapolis City Attorney’s Office 

 Minneapolis Police Department & other            

suburban police departments 

 Minnesota Department of Public Safety 

 Minnesotans for Safe Driving 

 National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 

 Park Avenue Center 
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Hennepin County Government Center 

300 South Sixth Street 

Minneapolis, MN  55487 

 

For additional information contact: 

 

Judge Gina Brandt, Fourth Judicial District Court 

300 South 6th Street, C-8  Government Center 

Minneapolis, MN  55487 

Phone: 612-348-9644  

4thJudgeBrandtStaffs@courts.state.mn.us   

 

Angela Domme, Treatment Court Coordinator 

300 South Sixth Street, C-8 Government Center 

Minneapolis, MN  55487 

Phone: 612-543-4764 ~  Fax: 612-596-8730 

angela.domme@courts.state.mn.us   

Onsite DWI Court Community Support Groups 
and Programming Schedule 

 
Thursday: Women’s AA Group:  8:00 AM-9:00AM 
     DWI Intro to Recovery:  8:00AM-9:00 AM 
               
Friday:      DWI Cour t Or ientation:  7:30AM-11:00 AM 
     Parachute Open AA Group: 10:00AM-11:00AM 

DWI Court Schedule 
 

Thursday: Judicial Court Reviews:  9:00AM or 10:30AM 
     Pleas & Sentencing:  11:30AM 
 
Friday:      Judicial Cour t Reviews:  9:00AM 
     Pleas & Sentencing:  10:00AM 



What is Adult DWI Court?  The Fourth  

Judicial District Adult DWI Court is designed for 

repeat DWI offenders who are striving to live a 

sober, crime-free lifestyle. An eligible defendant 

who enters a guilty plea or is convicted of DWI 

has the option of participating in this 18 month 

program as an alternative to traditional criminal 

probation. DWI Court participants are offered 

every opportunity to complete and graduate 

from the program which results in an early   

discharge from probation.  DWI Court is a zero 

tolerance program regarding alcohol/drug use 

and impaired driving.  The program couples 

frequent judicial court reviews and intensive 

probation supervision, along with input from a               

multi-disciplinary team of professionals led by 

the DWI Court judge.  Participants who fail to 

comply with treatment and program              

requirements are subject to sanctions, such as:      

increased alcohol monitoring and drug testing, 

increased judicial court reviews, increased   

probation supervision, Sentence to Service 

(community service), and periods of              

incarceration.   

Who is eligible?  Eligibility is evaluated by 

the DWI Court Team on a case-by-case basis.  

Program entry is voluntary.  General              

requirements include:  

 Participant must be a repeat DWI offender 

 The current alcohol-related DWI charge 

must have occurred in Hennepin County 

and is a presumptive probation case 

 Participant must be a Hennepin County 

resident and 18 years of age or older 

 Participant must have a moderate or     

severe substance use disorder and an  

eligible score on the Impaired Driving            

Assessment (IDA)  

 Violent offenders are ineligible 

Referral Process:     

 Counsel reviews the DWI Court eligibility criteria 

before making a referral.   

 Counsel negotiates a default sentence with the 

prosecutor in the event the client is ineligible or 

declines to participate. The offer is entered in 

MNCIS.    

 Counsel calls 612-348-9743 or emails         

Rachel.Nelson@courts.state.mn.us to schedule 

a Friday 7:30 A.M. DWI Court orientation & 

court appearance date with presiding Judge.   

Counsel’s appearance is not necessary.    

 Client is encouraged to complete a chemical 

health assessment prior to orientation & brings 

a copy.  May also obtain at orientation.   

 Client arrives on time to orientation for an  

overview of the program, meets with probation 

staff & volunteers, observes a court review 

hearing, and reviews chemical health           

assessment options with an assessor. Client 

also completes an IDA. Orientation ends around 

noon. 

 The DWI Court Team determines eligibility   

within 2 weeks of orientation & communicates 

next steps to counsel; schedule a plea hearing 

or refer back to original court if ineligible.  

 If a plea is entered in DWI Court, client is 

placed on conditional release pending           

sentencing in about 8 weeks and begins Phase 

1 of the program.   

 

Program Phases & Advancement  

Criteria: Each phase of the program is designed 

with specific expectations toward graduation. The 

minimum length of intensive program participation 

is 18 months.  The following criteria occurs during 

Phases I, II, and III, along with the additional criteria 

noted in each phase. 

 Attend three recovery support groups a week 

 Meet with probation as directed 

 Submit to random drug/alcohol testing as   

directed 

 Adhere to curfew 

 Submit to random, unannounced home checks 

by law enforcement 

 

Phase I: Pre-Trial Engagement & Orientation 

Most intensive phase  ( 8 weeks) 

 Complete four Introduction to Recovery  

classes  (Thursdays 8:00am-9:00am) 

 Attend weekly judicial court reviews 

 Develop and adhere to treatment plan 

  

Phase II: Treatment & Continuing Care-  

( 8  months  minimum) 

 Attend judicial court reviews every other 

week 

 Adhere to treatment or continuing care plan 

 Complete any Sentence-to-Service days per         

sentencing order 

 Complete victim impact panel 

 Prepare a relapse prevention plan 

 Seek or secure employment/education/

training 

 Develop plan for driver’s license              

reinstatement and ignition interlock 

 

Phase III: Sustained Recovery—                               

( 8 months minimum)  

 Attend judicial court reviews every four 

weeks 

 Adhere to treatment or continuing care plan 

 Complete cognitive-behavioral group if    

ordered 

 Maintain employment/education/training 

 Satisfy DWI court participant fee and any 

other court related fines/fees 

 Seek driver’s license reinstatement and 

ignition interlock  

 

Phase IV: Administrative Probation  

Least intensive phase ( 2 years minimum) 

 Abide by the Administrative Probation     

Contract; signed upon graduation. 

 Upon completion of phase 4, the participant 

is discharged from probation.   

 

 

 

 

 


