
                  
 

                   
                                                                        

THE WASHINGTON COUNTY 
VIOLATIONS BUREAU/HEARING 
OFFICER PROGRAM was established to 
address petty misdemeanor and payable misdemeanor 
citations occupying court calendars which could be 
more efficiently resolved outside of a court hearing.    
 

“I was issued a citation from a police 
officer.  Now what do I do?” 

  
To determine whether your citation is payable or 
requires a court appearance, follow the instructions 
at http://www.mncourts.gov/Pay-a-Fine/How-much-is-
my-fine.aspx or call the Minnesota Court Payment 
Center at 651-281-3219. 
 
If your offense requires a court appearance, a notice 
with your court date will be mailed to you at the 
address noted on your citation.  If your offense is 
payable, you have two choices: 
 

1. Pay the fine in full, which constitutes a plea 
of guilty to all offenses on the citation; or 
 

2. See a hearing officer to attempt a resolution 
of the case.  Note:  All Washington County 
payable offenses that are not paid outright 
must be addressed by a hearing officer. 

 

 
 

“What is a Hearing Officer?” 
 

A hearing officer is a court representative who 
listens to your case to determine options for 
resolution.  Your driver’s record, Minnesota court 
records and the circumstances surrounding the 
offense are all reviewed to determine whether a 
resolution can be offered. Resolution options may 
include reducing the fine, keeping the offense off the 
driver’s record or, in some cases, dismissing the 
charge.  
 

“What if the hearing officer can’t offer 
a resolution, or I don’t want to take the 
resolution offered to me?” 

 
The case would then be set on for an arraignment 
hearing, at which you would have the opportunity to 
speak to the prosecutor or appear in front of the 
judge.   
 

“If I appear in court and am not 
satisfied with the outcome, can I go 
back and accept the hearing officer’s 
original offer?” 

 
No.  Once you appear in court, a hearing officer’s 
offer is considered declined.    
 

 “How soon do I need to see the hearing 
officer?” 

 
Action must be taken on a citation within 30 days of 
the date it is filed with the court.   Failure to pay the 
fine, see a hearing officer or appear in court (if 
chosen) will result in additional penalties which may 
include issuance of a warrant, driver’s license 
suspension, late fees, entry of a guilty plea and waiver 
of trial, and/or referral to collections. 
 

 
 

“Where are hearing officers available to 
meet with defendants?” 

 
Stillwater and Cottage Grove currently provide 
hearing officer services.  See the front of this 
brochure for times/locations; see the back of this 
brochure for directions.  Bring citation and photo ID 
to your appointment. 
 

“What if I live out of state and can’t 
come to see a hearing officer.” 

 
You may attempt resolution by mail/fax only if your 
residence is more than 50 miles from the Courthouse.  
Mail/fax an explanation of the circumstances and 
internet map of home address to:   
 

Hearing Officer Mail 
14949 62nd Street North 

Stillwater, MN 55082 
 

Fax:  (651) 430-6300 
 

Include a copy of your citation and photo ID, plus 
documentation to aid in resolution of the case.  You 
will receive a response from the hearing officer with 
applicable instructions.   
 

“What if I have questions?” 
 
Call the Minnesota Court Payment Center at 651-281-
3219 (Twin Cities metro area) or 1-800-657-3611 
(outstate area) with questions regarding your citation 
or to schedule an appointment to see a hearing 
officer in Stillwater or Cottage Grove. 
 

http://www.mncourts.gov/Pay-a-Fine/How-much-is-my-fine.aspx
http://www.mncourts.gov/Pay-a-Fine/How-much-is-my-fine.aspx


 Locations and Directions 
 
WASHINGTON COUNTY COURTHOUSE 
 

 
 

Take State Highway #36 to Osgood Ave. N./4th St. 
N.  Turn north on Osgood Ave. N. to 62nd Street N.  
Turn right onto 62nd Street N. and proceed one block 
east to Oxboro Avenue N.  Turn right on Oxboro 
Avenue N. The Washington County Courthouse will be 
on the left. 
 
COTTAGE GROVE SERVICE CENTER  
 

             
 
From I-94:  Take I-94 to CR-19 (Woodbury Dr); turn 
south and travel 9 miles (becomes Keats Ave S).  
Service Center will be on the left. 
 
From US-61:  Take US-61 to CR-19 (Innovation Rd); 
turn north and travel one mile.  Service Center will be 
on the right.  

 
 
 

 

 
 

WASHINGTON COUNTY 
Violations Bureau/ 

Hearing Officer Program 
 

Washington County Courthouse 
14949 – 62nd Street North 

Stillwater, MN  55082 
Mon – Fri  8:00 am – 4:00 pm 

By appointment: 
(651) 281-3219 or (800) 657-3611 

*Walk-ins accepted as time permits* 
 

Washington County Service Center – 
Cottage Grove 

13000 Ravine Parkway South 
Cottage Grove, MN 55016 

By appointment only: 
(651) 281-3219 or (800) 657-3611 

*Select Wednesdays only* 
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