District Court Fees

Court users are required to pay fees for filing and for services as set out in Minnesota law.  If you cannot afford to pay a court fee, you can ask to have the fee reduced or waived.  
 
The Minnesota Base Fees amounts do not include county law library fees. Select your county to see the total fee amounts including any applicable law library fee amount.  Make checks payable to: District Court Administrator
 
NoticeCookies are currently disabled in your browser, but they are required for the filter and search functionality available on this page. Please understand that if you do not enable cookies, or create an exception to allow cookies for this website, you will not be able to use all of the functionality otherwise available on this page.

Goodhue County District Court Fees
Adoption
Filing a motion or response to a motion
Total Fee: $77.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $75 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(13),  357.021 , subd. 2b
Petition for Adoption - Child born in foreign country
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10
Petition for Adoption - Child born in U.S.
Total Fee: $375.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Other Fee $75 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1), 357.021 , subd. 2(15), 357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10, 259.52

Child Protection
Filing a motion or response to a motion
Total Fee: $77.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $75 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(13),  357.021 , subd. 2b
Termination of Parental Rights - First Paper Filed
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10

Child Support
Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support
Total Fee: $52.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $50 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(13),  357.021 , subd. 2b
Petitioner and Respondent - First Paper Filed
Total Fee: $350.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Other Fee $50 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13

Civil Action or Proceeding
Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family (excluding child support), and guardianship cases
Total Fee: $77.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $75 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(4),  357.021 , subd. 2b,  Court Operations Policy 506(h)
Issuing all Writs/Filing return
Total Fee: $57.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $55 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(5),  357.021 , subd. 2b 
Name Change
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10
Party Requesting Trial by Jury at Same Time First Paper Filed
Total Fee: $402.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Jury Trial Fee $100 + Technology Fees $4 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10
Plaintiff / Petitioner and Defendant / Respondent - First Paper Filed
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10
Request for Trial by Jury
Total Fee: $102.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $100 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b 
Subpoena - For Each Name
Total Fee: $18.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $16 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(3),  357.021 , subd. 2b
Trust Accounts (Annual or Partial)
Total Fee: $57.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $55 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(10),  357.021 , subd. 2b 

Conciliation
Aggrieved Party Appeal
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10, Conciliation Court Rule 521.b
Aggrieved Party Appeal by Jury
Total Fee: $402.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Jury Trial Fee $100 + Technology Fees $4 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10, Conciliation Court Rule 521.b
Plaintiff / Petitioner and Defendant / Respondent - First Paper Filed
Total Fee: $78.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $65 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.022, 134A.09, 134A.10.

Copies
Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding
Total Fee: $16.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $14 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(2), 357.021 , subd. 2b 
Certified print outs of imaged or electronically filed documents accessible from the Courthouse view of MNCIS
Total Fee: $16.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $14 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(2), 357.021 , subd. 2b, Court Operations Policy 506(b) 
Certified scan or picture of documents in a court file where court staff has to dismantle the file
Total Fee: $16.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $14 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(2), 357.021 , subd. 2b, Court Operations Policy 506(b)  
Certified screen prints generated from case management system
Total Fee: $14.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § § 357.021, subd. 2(14) Court Operations Policy 506(b)
Copies of reports generated from case management system (provided to requester via email or paper form) - 1 to 50 pages (per report)
Total Fee: $5.00
Authorization: Court Operations Policy 506(b)
Copies of reports generated from case management system (provided to requester via email or paper form) - 50+ pages (per 50 pages or part thereof
Total Fee: $25.00
Authorization: Court Operations Policy 506(b)
Exemplified and Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding
Total Fee: $32.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $30 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(2), 357.021 , subd. 2b,    Court Operations Policy 506(b) 
Exemplified and Uncertified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding
Total Fee: $16.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(2), 357.021 , subd. 2b, Court Operations Policy 506(b)    
Scanning Fee - $25 fee for each 50 pages, or part thereof of the filing (Effective July 1, 2016)
Total Fee: $25.00
Authorization: Minn. Gen. R. Prac. 14.01(b)(3)
Uncertified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding
Total Fee: $10.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $8 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(2), 357.021 , subd. 2b 
Uncertified print outs of imaged or electronically filed documents accessible from the Courthouse view of MNCIS
Total Fee: $10.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $8 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(2), 357.021 , subd. 2b, Court Operations Policy 506(b) 
Uncertified scan or picture of documents in a court file where court staff has to dismantle the file
Total Fee: $10.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $8 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(2), 357.021 , subd. 2b, Court Operations Policy 506(b)   
Uncertified screen prints generated from case management system
Total Fee: $8.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § § 357.021, subd. 2(14) Court Operations Policy 506(b)

Dissolution/Custody
Custody, Paternity, Parenting Time, Registrations
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10
Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce) with or without Children
Total Fee: $380.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $315 + Other Fee $50 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10, 518.005 , subd. 6
Forms Packets - Dissolution with Children and Dissolution without Children packets
Total Fee: $10.00
Authorization: Court Operations Policy 506(b)
Legal Separation, Annulment
Total Fee: $350.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Other Fee $50 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10, 518.005 , subd. 6 

Domestic Abuse / Harassment
Filing a motion or response to a motion
Total Fee: $77.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $75 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(13),  357.021 , subd. 2b
Harassment Restraining Order (HRO) - First Paper Filed
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10
Respondent’s Order for Protection - First Paper Filed
Total Fee: $0.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 518B.01 (Effective 8/1/2016: fee waived - no fee charged for Petitioner or Respondent).

Expungement
Expungement
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10

Housing
File a Rent Escrow
Total Fee: $78.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $65 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 504B.385 , subd. 4, 357.022, 134A.09, 134A.10
File an Eviction Action
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10

Judgments
Application for Discharge of Judgment
Total Fee: $5.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 548.181 , subd. 1
Assignment of Judgment
Total Fee: $7.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $5 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(7),  357.021 , subd. 2b 
Certificate of Discharge of Judgment
Total Fee: $5.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 548.181 , subd. 3a
Confession of Judgment
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10
Foreign Judgment Filing greater than $15,000
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 548.30, 357.021 , subd. 2(1), 134A.09, 134A.10
Foreign Judgment Filing less than or equal to $15,000
Total Fee: $78.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $65 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 548.30, 357.022, 134A.09, 134A.10        
Judgment Search (fee for each name certified)
Total Fee: $7.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $5 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(8), 357.021 , subd. 2b
Notice of Objection Notice of Hearing
Total Fee: $1.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §§ 550.143 , subd. 5 (b), 551.05, 571.914
Order to Show Cause After Disclosure (per debtor)
Total Fee: $5.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(14)
Plea of Confession Filing greater than $15,000
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(1), 357.021 , subd. 2b, 548.23, 134A.09, 134A.10 
Plea of Confession Filing less than or equal to $15,000
Total Fee: $78.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $65 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 548.23, 357.022, 134A.09, 134A.10
Request for Disclosure (per debtor)
Total Fee: $5.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(14)
Satisfaction of Judgment or partial satisfaction
Total Fee: $7.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $5 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(7), 357.021 , subd. 2b
Transcript of Judgment docketed in District Court
Total Fee: $42.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $40 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(6), 357.021 , subd. 2b 
Transcript of Judgment issued from District Court
Total Fee: $42.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $40 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(6), 357.021 , subd. 2b 

Miscellaneous Fees
Faxes - $25 transmission fee for each 50 pages, or part thereof
Total Fee: $25.00
Authorization: Civil Court Rule 5.05, Juvenile Court Rules 31.01 , subd. 2, Juvenile Court Rules - Adoption 25.01 , subd. 3
Forms Packets - 1 to 10 pages
Total Fee: $0.00
Authorization: Court Operations Policy 506(b)
Forms Packets - 11 or more pages
Total Fee: $5.00
Authorization: Court Operations Policy 506(b)
Forms Packets - Harassment
Total Fee: $0.00
Authorization: Court Operations Policy 506(b)
NSF Checks (non-sufficient funds)
Total Fee: $30.00
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 604.113, subd. 2
Request for Driver's License Suspension
Total Fee: $16.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $14 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(2), 357.021 , subd. 2b 
Subpoena - For Each Name
Total Fee: $18.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $16 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(3),  357.021 , subd. 2b

Probate
Deposit of Wills (Safekeeping)
Total Fee: $29.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $27 + Technology Fee $2
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(11), 357.021 , subd. 2b
Estates, Trusts, Guardianships, Conservatorships - First Paper Filed
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. §   357.021 , subd. 2(1),  357.021 , subd. 2b, 134A.09, 134A.10

Taxes
Tax Court Regular Division
Total Fee: $300.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $285 + Technology Fee $2 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 357.021 , subd. 2(1), 357.021 , subd. 2b, 271.06 , subd. 4, 134A.09, 134A.10 
Tax Court Small Claims Division
Total Fee: $163.00
Fee Calculation: Base Fee $150 + Law Library Fee $13
Authorization: Minn. Stat. § 271.06 , subd. 4, 134A.09, 134A.10