Mn Judicial Branch Logo
Find Court

Home > Court Administration >

Lawyer Registration

Sign up to receive updates

The Lawyer Registration office maintains a database of Minnesota licensed attorneys and processes license payments.  

April 1, 2015, Lawyer Registration Fee Statements

The statements for the April 1, 2015, registration fees were mailed on February 20, 2015.  Attorneys who have paid online in the past will receive notification via email.

NON-PAYMENT SUSPENSION: As of April 6, 2015, all unpaid registration fees due April 1, 2015, are considered late and the attorneys' licenses have been transferred to a non-payment suspension.  To remove a non-payment suspension, the registration fee and a $75 late penalty must be paid.  Click here to pay using the Online Lawyer Registration System.

News Release Regarding Change of Address (Word Doc)
Driving Directions to New Location  (Word Doc)
Supreme Court Order Creating an Emeritus Lawyer Program Effective July 1, 2013
Supreme Court Order Promulgating Amendments to the Rules of the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education and the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration effective August 1, 2014

Reduction of Lawyer Registration Fee Effective July 1, 2013  

Effective with the July 1, 2013, registration fee, the portion of the fee allocated to the State Public Defender has been discontinued resulting in a reduction of the Lawyer Registration fee.  Click here to view the current fees.

For Current and Prospective Lawyers:
For Public:

Search the Lawyer Registration Database

This database is updated Monday through Friday at 12 p.m. and 5 p.m.

Search for lawyer license numbers, names, addresses, status, admission dates, Professional Liability Insurance information, last payment date, and Continuing Legal Education category.

To search for lawyers licensed to practice in Minnesota to determine whether they have been publicly disciplined, see the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board's website at: 

Certificate of Good Standing

The Lawyer Registration office will not accept requests for Certificates of Good Standing via phone, email or fax.

Certificates of Good Standing can be requested and paid through the Online Lawyer Registration System or by mailing your written request to the address noted below along with cash or check in the amount of $25.00 for each certificate. If mailing a written request, please include your name, license number and a mailing address for the certificate.

To expedite your request, please enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope. 

Lawyer Registration
180 E 5th St., Ste 950
St. Paul, MN 55101

Checks can be made payable to the Minnesota Supreme Court.

Certificates will be processed in 3-5 days after receiving the request.

Disciplinary History Letters

Disciplinary History letters can be obtained through the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board by sending a written request to:

Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board
345 St. Peter Street, Ste. 1500
St. Paul, MN 55102 

Mailing and Email Address Changes

Phone numbers and fax numbers are not maintained on the lawyer registration system.

The Lawyer Registration office currently maintains just one mailing address for each lawyer. This address is used to send lawyer registration materials.  Please note the address you provide will be made available to the public.

Lawyers can change their mailing and email address information through the Online Lawyer Registration System. No further notification to our office is necessary if the change is updated through the online system.

Address changes can also be requested by phone, email or written request to the contact information noted below. Must include your full name, license number and new address.

If you would like an updated license card, please see below for instructions on requesting an updated card.

Address changes made to the lawyer registration system are not sent to the appellate courts or the district courts . Lawyers must submit change of address information to every court in which they practice and/or have an open case.

Name Changes

The Lawyer Registration office will not accept name change requests via phone, email or fax. 

Name changes must be requested in writing to the contact information noted below along with a photocopy of the marriage license, divorce decree, or name change order changing your name.  Please include your former name, license number and new name in your request.

If  you would like an updated license card, also include cash or check in the amount of $10.00 with your written request.

Checks can be made payable to the Minnesota Supreme Court.

How to Obtain a Duplicate or Updated License Card

The Lawyer Registration office will not accept requests for duplicate or updated licenses via phone, email or fax.

A duplicate or updated license card can be requested and paid through the Online Lawyer Registration System or by mailing a written request to the contact information noted below. If mailing a written request, please include your name, license number and address along with cash or check in the amount of  $10.00.

Checks can be made payable to the Minnesota Supreme Court.

Information on Taking Oath of Admission

A schedule of monthly admission ceremonies is available on the Board of Law Examiners website.

If you plan on attending one of the monthly admission ceremonies:

  • it is not necessary to call the Lawyer Registration Office to put your name on a schedule.  A schedule is not kept of the people who plan on attending.
  • plan on arriving at the Appellate Court Clerk's office, Room 305 of the Minnesota Judicial Center, about 30 minutes prior to the ceremony to complete and sign your oath and pay the fee.  The fee varies depending on your last name and will be given to you at the Clerk's office.  Checks can be made payable to the Minnesota Supreme Court.         
  • Guests are welcome to attend the ceremony. 
  • You or your guests may bring a camera to the ceremony

Instructions for In Absentia Admission to the Bar

Upon recommendation by the Board of Law Examiners, an attorney may choose to be admitted In Absentia.

 If you are required to attend either the Spring or Fall admission ceremony, In Absentia admission will not be granted until after the date of the ceremony.

To request the admission in absentia documents, please send an email to our office requesting the materials and include your name and the address you would like the documents sent to.  The documents, which include your oath and a cover letter explaining the procedure, will be mailed within 1-3 business days.

Below are the requirements and instructions for completing your admission to the bar once you receive the appropriate documents from our office. The Supreme Court retains the authority to order your admission upon receipt of the subscribed oath.            

  • In Absentia Admission within the State of Minnesota - The oath must be administered by a judge, court administrator, or deputy court administrator of any Minnesota court. 
  • In Absentia Admission outside the State of Minnesota - The oath must be administered outside the state of Minnesota by a state, federal or military judge, a state or federal court administrator or deputy court administrator, a commissioned officer on active duty in the military service of the United States, or an officer of the Foreign Service or consular officer of the United States.
  • You must sign the oath and complete the county and address information in the presence of the person administering the oath.
  • The person administering the oath must print his or her name and office title, sign, and date the form. Do not have the person sign the justice signature block.
  • Return the oath to this office, along with a check in the amount of the appropriate fee made payable to the Minnesota Supreme Court. A wall certificate of admission will be mailed to you by the Board of Law Examiners.

Definition of Registration Terms

Not Authorized – any lawyer that has a fee status of non-resident, resident not practicing, retired or disabled. This means you are in good standing and are maintaining your license, but you cannot actually practice in MN without changing your status. Contact Lawyer Registration via email or call (651) 296-2254 if you need to change your status.

CLE R (Voluntarily Restricted) – You can be on CLE Restricted status and pay the active fees; however, your license will then be “Not Authorized” * or “not active”. The State of MN requires you to maintain your CLE credits to have an active status. To change this status you will need to contact CLE at (651) 297-7100.

CLE  Status: Involuntarily Restricted by Court Order – A lawyer in this CLE status is not in compliance with the educational and reporting requirements contained in the Rules of Continuing Education. The lawyer has been involuntarily placed in that status by order of the Supreme Court. A lawyer who wishes to transfer from involuntarily restricted status to active status should consult CLE Rule 12 here .

IOLTA (Interest on Lawyers Trust Accounts) - you are required complete this part of the statement every year, whether it has changed or not and whether or not you are active or inactive (not authorized). If you work for a firm, your firm’s account(s) apply to you and you must list it/them. If there are multiple accounts you will need to list ALL of them.

Gainful Employment – ANY type of employment you receive compensation for whether it is teaching, mediating, etc. If you receive any income from a job in or out of the State of Minnesota you CANNOT file for retired or disabled status. 

Private Clients – if you are practicing law and are NOT a government lawyer or house counsel then you DO have “private clients.” If you are house counsel or a government lawyer that does pro bono or volunteer work, for the purposes of the registration statement we would like you to answer the questions as they pertain to your full-time employment only.

Professional Liability Insurance – You are not required to maintain insurance in the State of Minnesota but you are required to disclose whether or not you maintain it and if so, the name of the carrier. This category was added after the MSBA petitioned the Supreme Court to make this information public. The order was signed by the Chief Justice on July 12th and made effective with the October 1, 2006 billing period.  

Contact Information

Note: If you are contacting our office regarding whether a registration payment has been processed, please use our Search Lawyer Registration Database to search for the lawyer's record and look for the Last Payment field.

Please include your full name and license number in all correspondence to our office.

Email the Lawyer Registration Office

Voice Mail: 651-296-2254 (Please speak slowly and clearly)
Due to the volume of calls we receive, your call will be returned within 1-2 business days.

Fax: (651) 296-5866

Lawyer Registration
180 E 5th St., Ste 950
St. Paul, MN 55101