Public Notice Detail
$8 fee for uncertified copies of court documents eliminated, effective July 1
Posted: Tuesday, June 27, 2023
As part of the omnibus Judiciary and Public Safety bill passed at the end of the 2023 Session, the Minnesota Legislature eliminated the statutory requirement for courts to charge an $8 fee for copies of uncertified (plain) court documents, found in Minn. Stat. 357.021, subd. 2(2). See 2023 Minn. Laws ch. 52, art 3, § 2
. The elimination of the statutory fee goes into effect July 1, 2023.
Beginning July 1, courts will no longer charge the $8 fee when court users request a copy of an uncertified document at a court location, the State Law Library, or through eFiling and eService (eFS). In addition, barring any future legislative changes, the Judicial Branch will not charge a fee to access or download documents through Minnesota Court Records Online (MCRO).
The Legislature did not eliminate or modify the $14 fee for certified copies. The courts will continue to charge the $14 fee when providing certified copies and exemplified copies.